We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice campground for normal, considerate people.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lancaster
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain Lake Campground and RV Park
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice campground for normal, considerate people.”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We've been coming to this campground for a couple of years now. The sites are extremely well kept, the cabins are nice and comfortable. The pool is clean and there are various for the kids. There is a Landry room (we've never used it), peddle boats, canoes and kayaks for rent (around 10 bucks hr). Because of the noise rules, you don't have to worry about the derelicts who feel the need to blast ACDC Back in Black on their radio all night while burning anything they can find in the campfire to satisfy their pyromaniac tendencies. (just for the record, i like ACDC, just not while I'm trying to relax on vacation). This campground is for good people who take pride in their surroundings and are considerate toward others. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scottg1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    12
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
62
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This site is best for RV Most sites not tent friendly Old dryers Don't dry your clothes No wood from outside Campground So you pay five dollars for two dollars worth a wood Staff was friendly Place was superclean Free showers We like the location And it was a beautiful view Excellent wildlife We just found there were too many rules for everything So was like camping With your mother

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Dandydad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sherbrooke, quebec
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We are still very new to camping and this was our 2nd experience. We arrived late(close to 9pm) and the staff were very helpful. We did get a tad lost on our way there because Google maps took us to the same address, but a couple towns over, but staff were very helpful over the phone and upon arrival, esp since office closed at 8pm the Friday. we were at site 76 which was nice, large and flat right next to the lake (reeds and pond) and we were lulled to sleep by the crickets and the peepers. the only thing is that it was right next to the beach (patch of sand with swimming area) and not many tress or shrubs to separate the area. Water in pond does look questionable and I wouldn't let my kids play in it. Bathrooms were really clean and pool was nice. Some sites I saw were much smaller with not a lot of room between the road and water and neighbours.
one reviewed mentioned signs everywhere, funny, but true. They are not as annoying, but reminders. (no diving into the pool/showers 5 minutes/pick up after your dog....etc) sometimes guests do need to be reminded of some of these things. we came back from our day outing to see a women with her leashed small dog at the beach, leash extending to out grassy tent area, dog crapping. I just politely reminded her of the sign, and she said ''oh?'', then took a chip bag to pick up the crap.
Another drawback would be the mosquitoes. Oh my, there are LOTS of them.
Overall, this campground experience was enjoyable and if I were to go in the area again, will return with more protection from the bugs.
Value was good too because it was our first time thre, so we got a 2 for 1 night

Room Tip: bring good bug spray and mosquito netting to enjoy being outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busymommyof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

A nice place to stay with a family. We camped in our RV with a W/E and a view of the pond. The site was flat and large. The pool and playground were great for the kids. The bathrooms were clean and showers were free. The friendly staff welcomed us. Pets are welcome but the $3/night fee is annoying. Wi-Fi is free for one device. Additionals are $3/day. We stayed during the week so there were no activities but there's plenty of stuff at the campground and the area to keep you busy. Overall, no real complaints.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We usually don't stay at private campgrounds. Instead we go to state or national park campgrounds because we prefer be in the wilderness. However, this campground was nice. Most of the sites were wooded and semi private. Some sites were fairly close together but I suppose some people like that. I liked that the owners have strict rules and enforce them. During the day the campground was a fun place with swimming, boating, and kids playing on the playground. At night, it was quiet and peaceful. I found the facilities to be very clean. We will certainly stay there again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jessicerrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Picked this campground after some online searching and seemed the best option for our two families meeting somewhat in the middle. We were travelling from New Brunswick, Canada and the other party from Albany, NY. The 8 of us tented the entire July 4th week and man... did we enjoy our stay. Service, grounds, people, environment were all A+. The quality of the campground and cleanliness had me thinking we were in a Canadian National Park. Kids, mom and dads all agreed that we are coming back to Mountain Lake Campground. Thanks to the staff and friendly fellow campers for contributing to a fun family vacation week.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamperCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We were very pleasantly surprised by this wonderful campground. The customer service was great- we were greeted nicely and our request to move to a site closer to the playground was accepted without any difficult. We loved our trip here. It is definitely family oriented- very quiet at night and plenty to do for the kids (playground, heated pool, game room, paddle boats, etc...) It is also just a few miles from Santa's Village. The grounds were spotless and the bathroom immaculate. We went midweek which was great because it wasn't crowded. Although we stayed in a tent, the cabins looked so cute! I'd love to try those the next time we come. This campground is definitely on our list of places to return to!

Room Tip: There is only on bathroom so you may want to ask to get closer to them to avoid a walk uphill. Site...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank klondrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
3.6 mi away
Cabot Inn & Suites
Cabot Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
4.7 mi away
Coos Motor inn
Coos Motor inn
#1 of 3 in Lancaster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
13.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
2.2 mi away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Barron Brook Inn
Barron Brook Inn
#2 of 3 in Whitefield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Lake Campground and RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Lake Campground and RV Park

Property: Mountain Lake Campground and RV Park
Address: 485 Prospect St, Route 3, Lancaster, NH 03584-3231
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Lancaster
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Lancaster
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a camping resort in the White Mountains of New Hampshire accommodating tents and rv's. We also have cabins, a yurt and tipi. Our facility has a 30 acre lake, fishing, peddle boats, kayaking and swimming. A heated swimming pool and water slides. We have a playground, shuffleboard and planned activities. We are only 10 minutes from Santa's Village. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing