We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious Units”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Summit Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Summit Resort
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Laconia
Pittsfield, MA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Spacious Units”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2009

We exchanged our timeshare at another resort for a 2 bedroom/2 bath unit on the second floor. The units are quite spacious and comfortably furnished. It was a quiet time of year to go to New Hampshire, but found it enjoyable, nontheless. There are a number of pretty good restaurants and some good hiking in the area. The resort had a nice workout area, large pool and raquetball court. It overlooks Paugus Bay and is just up the road from Weirs Beach. We were a bit disappointed that the master bathroom, which has a jacuzzi tub did not have a shower. The only shower was in the 2nd bathroom and was small. The kitchen is nicely equipped and we enjoyed several nice dinners at home. If you go, request a room on the top floor. We had a family staying over us and they were extremely noisy. The children seemed to use their unit for a raceway. This was most disturbing at 6:30 a.m. when they decided it was time to use their jacuzzi tub, while jumping around. Despite the noise factor, the units are comfortable and cozy and located in the midst of New Hampshire's lake region.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berkshiregal56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    66
    20
    13
    5
See reviews for
83
25
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
windsor berkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2009

the apartments are great and have everything you could wish for including washing machine and dryer. the location is great and you can easily drive to the shopping outlets which are great and very cheap comparing to uk prices. also worth mentioning is a place called meredith, lovely little town! we also went to see a "xmas" open house called xmas at the fells, a bit far but really worth it if you like that sort of thing.
i really couldn't fault the summit it's like a home from home













'

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seran_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2009

We visited off season and got a good rate for a Friday and Saturday night stay. The two bedroom apartment was very spacious with a full kitchen and two bathrooms, one with a jacuzzi. We found the apartment to be very clean, and everything worked very well. Our kids loved playing in the pool in the clubhouse, which has slides and also a large hot tub. We used the racketball court, which was a very nice amenity for us. The setup is very child-friendly. Summit resort is close to Wiers beach, but not so walking distance, but only a short drive. Overall a wonderful short stay and a great value at $99/night.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TarquinNewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2008

We just returned from our vacation in New Hampshire; first a trip to Storyland and a stay at a B&B in North Conway and then on to the Summit Resort for a week. We were made aware of the resort by our neighbors who recently returned from there -they had nothing but good things to say about it, and they were right. The rooms are very clean and spacious; 2 bedrooms and 2 full bathrooms. The living/dining area is comfortable with a complete re-do three months ago. The kitchen space is great and everything worked as it should. Our six year old son loved the indoor pool with the water slides and we all thought the spa was the largest we had ever seen. It's the size of a small pool, rather than a traditional hot tub. The outer pool and the deck outside of the indoor pool offer lovely views of the surrounding hills and the lake.

There are complimentary snacks and coffee in the main building, which also features a few games upstairs (pool, some arcade style games). The grounds are well-kept with a pretty walking path along the road and also to the main building. This was the first time I had stayed anywhere without daily maid service and I thought it would be missed, but it wasn't. If we needed clean linens or towels, we simply exchanged them at the front desk. Before checking out, they requested we put dishes into the dishwasher and that was about it. If it helps them keep their prices down by having a complete cleaning done in between guests, fine by me. The Summit was a lot of fun and felt more like living in a cute apartment than just a suite. We would definately go back.

  • Liked — The location -convenience to the lake and mountains. The price -very reasonable.
  • Disliked — A little dark on the stairs at night, but no big deal.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WinnieJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, England
Level Contributor
77 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2007

Our 2 bedroom condo was excellent. Good sized bedrooms, large lounge and well equipped kitchen with washer/drier. Lovely indoor pool area and also a small outdoor pool. It's all very clean. Some childrens activities, though we did not try these.

Weirs beach is very close by with lots of amusements. Very good holiday atmosphere.

It's not cheap, but we had a very relaxing 3 day break and would choose to go here again

  • Liked — Pool
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Phil2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laconia
4.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Laconia Gilford
0.3 mi away
The Naswa Resort
The Naswa Resort
#1 of 13 in Laconia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Church Landing at Mill Falls
2.2 mi away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#3 of 13 in Laconia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
6.6 mi away
Steele Hill Resorts
Steele Hill Resorts
#1 of 1 in Sanbornton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summit Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit Resort

Property: The Summit Resort
Address: 177 Mentor Ave, Laconia, NH 03246-2137
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Laconia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Laconia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Summit Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summit Resort is a four season getaway overlooking New Hampshire’s magnificent Lake Winnipesaukee. Ideal for families, the comfortable, spacious suites provide privacy for six with the convenience of a full kitchen and dining area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Summit Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Summit Hotel Laconia
Summit Laconia
Laconia Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing