We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Condo Environment”
Review of The Summit Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Summit Resort
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Laconia
Longueuil, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic Condo Environment”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We are members of RCI. This is the best property we have stayed in on the East coast. It is the sister resort of Steel Hills in Sanbornton. The resort is newer than Steele Hills and the condos very modern. The condo was a very roomy two bedroom with two baths. The kitchen was amazing. The patio doors in both the living room and the master bedroom faced Lake Winnipesauke. Fabulous view. The amenities center was well equipped with a wonderful Roman spa, and a beautiful pool with slides for the children. There was also a sauna, squash courts, pool tables and table tennis. The X-box connect was an added bonus. The amenities center is not connected to any of the condo buildings. Outside there was a wonderful playground, outside pools, tennis, basketball and volleyball courts. We stayed our full week and enjoyed every minute. The only thing we were surprised at was that they had installed the heat pump in a closet beside the master bedroom. We shut it off at night to avoid being disturbed by the noise. This was the only inconvenience and a very personal thing as many people would not be bothered by it. But, all the windows opened and the air in early May was country fresh and wonderful. The condo was clean and fresh. The beds very comfortable. The pillows were the first that we have had in a hotel that were so comfortable, the one I carry around in case of bad pillows, stayed in the closet. While the hotel does not sell the pillows to customers, we did find them at Bed, Bath and Beyond. We brought some home.

The kitchen was extremely well equipped, not only with good appliances but plenty of dishes and cutlery, etc. Dishwasher did not have to run every meal. The condo also had a washer and dryer.

The Summit is a mere 20 minutes from Tilton's Tanger Outlet Shopping and about 45 from Concord. There are many good restaurants in the area, including the Hilltop at Steele Hills. There is no restaurant on site. There is however a wonderful walking path down to the park along the lake.

Room Tip: All buildings are equipped with 2-bedroom condos. We were in building 1. It looked like building 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peggy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    66
    20
    13
    5
See reviews for
83
25
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hemel Hempstead, UK
Level Contributor
95 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed here as a last minute Groupon deal and stayed for a couple of nights - out of season I might add.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite which had a large living / dining / full kitchen, and off this room were 2 bedrooms - one en-suite with a jacuzzi bath. There was also a washer and dryer!

I couldn't complain about the location or quality for the price paid.

The leisure facilities are excellent - the kids loved the pools and the slides and the ping pong and the x-box.

The staff were incredibly friendly and helped with queries.

It kind of feels like a friendly little village / holiday home location.

I could imagine the price changes dramatically in the high season and I might well have a different view on the price and the quality and the overall rating. But based on time, price and other factors; I enjoyed it.

Only about 1/2 mile from Weirs Beach - which is walkable, although it would be done on the road with no lights, I would take care....

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SubaruDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Rented a 2 bedroom suite with some friends and had a blast. It was quite, clean and staff was great! They had an indoor pool, gym, playground, and my favorite luandry right in our suite. They also had loaner movies, board games and cards. Staff did a great job of helping us through quick and easy check in/check out. I can not wait to go back again!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CeCe101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Maine
Level Contributor
202 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

My niece rented a room at the Summit Resort so that we could have a get together.....Thr oom were were in was very nice, clean and comfortable.....The pool and spa were amazing even though the pool was a tad chilly.....we enjoyed our stay!!

Room Tip: we had a two bedroom Suite.....very nice!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dianaonacki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laconia, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We were only there for one night. It was the best night, our family loves it there. We didn't want to leave. A lot more then we excepted on everything there. The rooms were very toasty warm. It felt like home in the unit. The housekeeping did an awesome job cleaning it was spotless very happy. The pool was so clean, nice and warm. Our kids had the best time. The service was great. The price is perfect for what you get. We will be planning another trip back love it.

Room Tip: They have more in unit then we thought they would have. It is all awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mindy1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

After reading some of the other review, we were a bit nervous coming to this resort. There is no need to be scared! the condo we had was very clean, and a bit outdated, but not terribly so. Some good points- discount ski tickets, timely snow removal, pool area and roman spa and sauna, well equipped kitchen (very clean), washer and dryer in your unit, close to food and activities, and my teenagers loved the whirlpool tub in the master bathroom. We did not have any problems with this condo at all.

could be better- the whirlpool tub could have had a shower, and my 16 year old did not sleep well on the pull out. The kids all said the mattress was uncomfortable. We had no other suggestions.
We went skiing at both Ragged and Gunstock, both were close enough to get to and from easily, and we had great conditions. Great week overall.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCarrington1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Freetown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

I just want to say that I thought this place was a nice family oriented resort. Pool and jacuzzi were nice and much needed after long days of snowboarding. Downfall was that we had to drive there but no big deal..Recreational room was fun with the kids; pool table was a little old but fun and ping pong was a big hit.
We had a two bedroom suite and it was perfect for 5 of us. Only thing that wasn't good about this room was the pull out sofa. If you like laying on springs them that's fine but my 8 yr old thought it was very uncomfortable. Jacuzzi tub was awesome except for the fact that the hot water runs out fast so take a shower instead if you want hot water. The toilet in the master bedroom didn't work well either but overall those are minor things and I would recommend this place to anyone. Nice ride to gunstock too, a decent ten minute ride.We definitely enjoyed it.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kristie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laconia
4.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Laconia Gilford
0.3 mi away
The Naswa Resort
The Naswa Resort
#1 of 13 in Laconia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Church Landing at Mill Falls
2.2 mi away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#3 of 13 in Laconia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
6.6 mi away
Steele Hill Resorts
Steele Hill Resorts
#1 of 1 in Sanbornton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summit Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit Resort

Property: The Summit Resort
Address: 177 Mentor Ave, Laconia, NH 03246-2137
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Laconia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Laconia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Summit Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summit Resort is a four season getaway overlooking New Hampshire’s magnificent Lake Winnipesaukee. Ideal for families, the comfortable, spacious suites provide privacy for six with the convenience of a full kitchen and dining area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Summit Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Summit Hotel Laconia
Summit Laconia
Laconia Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing