We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That 70's Show(er)”
Review of The Summit Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Summit Resort
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Laconia
Spearfish, South Dakota, United States
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“That 70's Show(er)”
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Just returned yesterday from this resort. This was our first stay there and here's a few observations:

We stayed in building 2, room 210. We referred to it as That 70's Building. The bathrooms still had tan porcelain toilets, and the master bedroom did not have a shower, just a tan whirlpool tub set in red brick tiles. Hideous!

The kitchen was a bit better, but not by much. The fridge was newer, as was the microwave/range hood combo. The counters were dated, but at least in good condition. There were very few kitchen accessories... just one dish cloth and one dish towel, no pizza pan, etc.

The living and bedroom furniture were dated as well, with a 70's-80's look, but it didn't seem intentional. The electric fireplace in the LR actually had the connection wiring come out of the right front side before going along the baseboard for a foot or two before actually going into the wall to get connected - pretty sure against electrical code there! Even though most hide-a-bed couches are not comfortable, this one was worse than most to sit on.

The beds were not the worst I have ever slept in, but they were far from the best as well. The furniture was very sparse and like the living room, it had a smaller, tube style TV. The walls were a little thin...we heard in the bedroom next to us the neighbors snoring. Fortunately, that's ALL we heard oing on in the next room - thank God it was an older (and tired) couple and not honeymooners!

They did have a stacked washer and dryer, and unlike any other resort I have stayed in, they actually provided the laundry detergent, a nice touch. The deck was spacious with a beautiful view, and the grounds were well kept. From the outside, the buildings look very quaint. The indoor pool was nice - needed a cleaning - but not too far gone. Small exercise room but good equipment. There was a racquetball court, outdoor tennis courts, and a sand volleyball court - all decent.

The staff ws generally helpful and very friendly except for one clearly unhappy young lady the morning of October 4th. Other than that interaction, the staff were all pleasant to interact with. Although the actual checkout is 10:00 am, they were very gracious when we had seen an 11:00 am checkout time online from an independent 3rd party site - no issues with the extra hour at all.

They are well situated with a short drive to 3 states and a host of wonderful attractions. We ventured out each day we stayed there, which is what made the unit bearable. I loved the area, loved the mountain of things to do, but when I come back to the area, it wouldn't be at the Summit until the units get some serious updating.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dcutillo, General Manager at The Summit Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
We are sorry to hear that your room did not meet your expectations. We take great pride on our resort and are pleased that you did enjoy the rest of your surroundings here and that we were able to accommodate your checkout needs. We hope that you will give us the chance to host you and your friends again. Should you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me at robertrobillard@summitresortnh.com
Sincerely,
Rob Robillard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    67
    21
    13
    5
See reviews for
87
26
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

This resort has a wonderful heated pool area, with a very large jacuzzi. There is a waterfall and slide that the kids really enjoyed. The staff was great, the rooms were great. Very close to all the attractions. Discount coupons to local restaurants and activities. There are outdoor gas grilles that you can use to cook. The resort also ahs a game room for the kids to go to. It's a fun place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmingdale, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

This "resort" near Weirs Beach is a great place to stay when visiting the lakes region. We stay in unit 105 which is prime real estate since it's on the ground floor and only a few steps from the outdoor pool, playground and tennis courts. The unit can sleep 6 and features two bedrooms and two baths, full kitchen, dining room and living room with fire place and pull out couch. There are sliding glass doors from both the living room and master bedroom that lead to the deck. This unit in particular can use some updates in both bathrooms and furniture in living room but all in all is a very nice place to bring your family or friends for a vacation near Weirs Beach. Other amenities here include an indoor pool, hot tub, racketball court, " gym", ping pong, billiards, outdoor sand volleyball and horseshoe pit. It's a 5 minute (if that) drive to area attractions including Weirs Beach, restaurants and activities.

Room Tip: Buildings 1/2: near playground & outdoor pool. Buildings 3/4: near indoor pool. Ground floors: e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tjaden98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

My husband and I shared a two bedroom with my sister, her two kids, and my mother. It was roomy but my mother got stuck on the sofa bed and said it was very uncomfortable, the sofa mattress needs replacement, and soon! The bathrooms and other furnishings could use some updating as they were a little dated and I was disapointed to find the fireplace was electric. The back deck needed to be swept up and the table and chairs wiped cleaned before use, a small thing that housekeeping should be taking care of when they clean the rooms. The room does not come with standard hotel amenties likes shampoo, coffee, etc..which is I found strange considering the rate we paid. The pool was great and the kids had a fun time. The location was convenient and the grounds were well kept. All in all we had a good time. If you go to this area..eat at Harts Turkey Farm..amazing!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worcesterlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, US
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed at the Summit end August/early September last year. We loved it! The unit was clean and comfortable, and the kids enjoyed the pool. We liked that the place was close to lots of things to do - we went to the drive-in movie theater, had loads of fun at Funspot, and ate yummy ice cream at Kellerhaus. Not to be missed was the seafood shack close by (I forget the name, unfortunately). The only downside was that I needed to get some work done and had my laptop with me, but couldn't access the internet from the unit and needed to go to the welcome center. All in all though, we had a great stay and would go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancesNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed here on a Saturday night during Laconia Bike week 2011. The grounds were beautiful and well-maintained. The unit was spotless, but the furnishings and fixtures were slightly dated. Location is excellent...just 3 minutes from Weirs Beach. We paid a hefty sum to stay ($200US) for one night. Understandably, demand did play a role in the price. However, for $200, we would have expected at least an in-room coffee setup. To get coffee, you had to walk 1/4 mile up the hill to the welcome center. For $200, in-room coffee should be provided. I have stayed at other 'time-share' places that at least have a starter pack of coffee.

If I was in a jam, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Reserve early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnieArlington_VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dcutillo, General Manager at The Summit Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
Thank you for Staying with us here at The Summit. Unfortunately we do not serve or put coffee in the rooms. We do believe that we are a great value for the high demand time of year as the unit accommodates 6 people per unit and several rooms would need to be rented elsewhere to accommodate that many guests. You also receive full use of all Resort amenities including, indoor and outdoor pools, roman spa, racquetball, tennis, sauna, etc.. We hope that you do join us again soon so you can enjoy the resort and our amenities. Should you have any further questions, please feel free to contact me at robertrobillard@steelehillresorts.com or 603-524-2216.
Sincerely,
Robert Robillard, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

This is our 2nd year staying at the Summit. It is about 15 minutes to Gunstock which is perfect skiing for our 7 and 9 year old children. It is also really close to Funspot which the kids love! The townhouses are nicely equipped with everything, minus things like salt, pepper, coffee filters, and tissues. The kitchen has everything you need to prepare all of your meals. The 2nd bedroom has twin beds, a small closet and a dresser. It is perfect for 2 children. The master bedroom had a queen bed that was okay on the comfort level. The living area is comfortable and has a pull out sofa. There are cushioned benches along the windows with nice views. The fireplace is electric and for display only, no heat. The television has front inputs which made it easy to bring the Wii. The kitchen area seats 6 comfortably and then next to that is a bar height counter leading to the kitchen area. The washer and dryer are nice to have in case you need them. The activity center is really nice and was only a 1 minute walk from building 3. It has a great atrium like pool with small slides, and waterfall. The roman bath was really nice as was the sauna. Racquetball was really fun with the kids. Be sure to bring white soled sneakers for the court. The gym is small but nicely stocked with everything you need for a solid workout. The only downsides are: 1) you can hear everything from other floors....we were on the top too, and 2) the heating system is kind of loud so if you are a light sleeper, it might wake you. All in all, we really enjoyed our stay both times and will go again. Between Gunstock, Funspot, and the activity center it was a fun packed time for the kids that was affordable. :)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pemBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laconia
0.3 mi away
The Naswa Resort
The Naswa Resort
#1 of 13 in Laconia
476 reviews
4.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Laconia Gilford
2.2 mi away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#3 of 13 in Laconia
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Steele Hill Resorts
Steele Hill Resorts
#1 of 1 in Sanbornton
661 reviews
3.1 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites at Lake Winnipesaukee
1.0 mi away
Grand View Motel and Cottages
Grand View Motel and Cottages
#1 of 5 in Weirs Beach
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Summit Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Summit Resort

Property: The Summit Resort
Address: 177 Mentor Ave, Laconia, NH 03246-2137
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Laconia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Laconia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Summit Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summit Resort is a four season getaway overlooking New Hampshire’s magnificent Lake Winnipesaukee. Ideal for families, the comfortable, spacious suites provide privacy for six with the convenience of a full kitchen and dining area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Summit Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Summit Hotel Laconia
Summit Laconia
Laconia Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing