We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleased”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lake Opechee Inn and Spa
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Laconia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2007

We recently had to travel through NH on our way to Maine and made reservations through Expedia for the Lake Opechee Inn. We were very happy, upon arriving, to find that we had booked a nice place as you can never truly know what your are going to find until you get there. As we were just stopping for the night we booked a basic room, that is not really basic. It had a comfortable siting area by a fireplace and a window seat that you could stretch out on to read a book. Anyway, we just loved everything. The beds were extremely comfortable and we are thinking about purchasing a feather bed now. (You can order them through the inn) We wish we could have stayed longer and will definitely return. The restaurant was excellent. The only down fall is the attached mill building, it is really hideous and detracts from the whole feel that it seems they are going for.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AndoverMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 295 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2007

My husband I stayed here w/ our 8 and 5 y/o girls. I wanted upscale, which I know is hard to find in this area, while the kids wanted a pool and my husband wanted to be on the lake. We it is definitely a nice place. The rooms are gorgeous! Comfortable beds, jacuzzi tub the kids loved, etc.
The "lake view" left a bit to be desired. It is across the street/parking lot, and more industrial looking that any other lake view I have ever seen. Maybe it is the run down mill that is connected to the left side of the Inn????
We brought the girls to the pool and my 5 y/o asked where the other half was. I thought it was a large hot tub but it turned out to be a plunge pool. Bummer. They enjoyed it anyways but I was bummed for them.
The walk from the lots is kind of a hike but oh well.
The most annoying part of the Inn was the air conditioning. Once you open the door to the balcony, even just to step out, the air conditioning shuts off and does not turn back on until the door is shut again. I understand the attempt to conserve energy etc and while this was annoying, even more annoying is that there are also motion detectors in the corners of the rooms. When they do not detect motion for several minutes, the air conditioner shuts off. We went down to the restaurant for dinner and returned to a HOT room because there was not movement.Still/calm sleepers would be in trouble! I think you should be able to enjoy a glass of wine on the balcony, with the door SHUT and be able to come back in to a cool room but unless you leave someone in the room jumping around, forget about it. If I am paying 250+ per night to stay, the least I could get is a cool room to return to after spending a fortune at the onsite restaurant. (which was REALLY nice and well worth the money by the way. Try the fried oreos for dessert!!)
The friendliness of the staff left a little to be desired as well.
That is really it. Overall, everything else was nice, though not as "on the lake" as we had hoped. Next time we will probablly "rough it' and stay closer to Weirs beach. Possibly the colorful Naswa cottages? SO cute!!!

Stayed: August 2007
5  Thank capecodfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2007

Room: Spacious, refrigerator, small deck, gas fireplace, TV above the fireplace. When we weren't sleeping, we were in front of the fireplace watching TV relaxing.

Bathroom: Spacious, clean, excellent water pressure, plenty of hot water

Parking: Probably the only issue. Be prepared to walk. It didn't bother us, but could present problems for some.

Value: When we go on vacation, we like to spend so that we can come back refreshed and relaxed. This may be one of the best values we have experienced.

Location: Our intention was to hit hiking trails in the state parks. The centralized location, coupled with the convenience of the outlet mall worked out well for us. We did have a problem finding a variety of restaurants, but we had good experiences in what we did find.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NittanyHusky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2007

We just returned from a two night stay at Lake Opechee Inn and Spa.. We will never return. It probably seems a contraditiction, but the rooms are beautiful; exceptionally clean and well cared for with many amenities. We would have appreciated a full length mirror for the last look before you go out.

.Despitel the accolades for the physical plant the service was totally unacceptable for accomadations which are at the high end of the scale for the area ($250+ per night).

The inn keeper was totally unresponsive to simple needs based a health condition. I am an insulin dependent diabetic. When I saw there was almost nothing short of instant oatmeal I could eat from the breakfast buffet , I asked to microwave the oatmeal. Although there was a microwave in the back area I was told that guests couldn't use it for health reasons. No offer was made by the inn keeper to at least have one of the kitchen staff do it. I was told to use the water for tea. When I later asked if perhaps a hard boiled egg or a piece of cheese maight be available I was told to put the "complaint" on the guest comment card and leave it at the desk. This again was the directive from the inn keeper. I guess my frustration comes from the fact that we were not staying in a motel room but in a very upscale inn.

Later we asked for directions to a nearby town where there was an Arts and Crafts Fair. We were given a sheet with directions from the town to the Inn and were told to revers directions. End of "helpful" information.

The restaurant at the Inn which serves lunch and dinner and not run by the inn keeper,was excellent; the service outstanding. We will return there.

If you value service and folks just taking a little time to meet simple requests this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank diverse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2007

My husband and I decided to take a last minute getaway to the Lakes Region and found that our favorite place, Church Landing at Mill Falls, was booked. We perused the Trip Advisor website and found the Lake Opechee Inn and Spa. We booked a lake view room that had a fireplace and jacuzzi.

Upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised that it is truly nicer than their website depicts and their website is not bad. We stayed in the Sun City room that had a wonderful South West feel to it with charming antiques and a wonderful bed. The bed is so fluffy and high that they provide a little step stool to help you get into bed. We just loved everything from our room to the restaurant.

We love going to the Lakes Region and now have a tough choice in deciding where to where to stay. If you are looking for a larger place with lots of shops within walking distance then Church Landing is perfect but if you don’t mind a short drive to shopping and other attractions the Lake Opechee Inn is perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChancyofMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2007

We like to think of ourselves as professional travelers and have stayed all over New England. The Lake Opechee Inn is definitely one of the nicest and cleanest places we have been to. Every thing was just wonderful from the feather beds to the cozy sitting area by our fireplace.

We enjoyed wine on our balcony and watched wild geese play on the lawn as the sun set over the lake. Dinner at the restaurant was excellent. We did have a long wait however; the food was superb and made it all worth wile.

We had a wonderful time and definitely will return. If you are visiting the Lakes Region we definitely recommend the inn as the place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jimdianej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2007

We have been taking trips for the Lakes Region for years and love the area. We were so pleased to find this new inn that has a little bit of everything but still has the feel of a cozy inn with the service an upscale hotel.

Our room was cozy and very clean with a nice view of the lake, a fireplace and a Jacuzzi tub that we could both actually get into. Dinner at the restaurant was superb with some really fun desserts. We recommend trying O Dough. (It is fried dough with ice cream drizzled with hot fudge.)

The staff was very friendly and one the ladies at the front desk gave us a tour of a few of the other guest rooms. They are all different and offer different design themes. We will definitely be back for the summer.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bjohnson591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laconia
1.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites Laconia Gilford
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Tilton
12.7 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Naswa Resort
The Naswa Resort
#1 of 13 in Laconia
498 reviews
8.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Tilton
7.6 mi away
Church Landing at Mill Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Opechee Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Opechee Inn and Spa

Address: 62 Doris Ray Court, Laconia, NH 03246-5509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Laconia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Laconia
Price Range: $129 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Opechee Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The renovated historic mill building is home to an Inn, Spa, Conference Center and Restaurant, all resting on the peaceful shores of Lake Opechee; a sister lake to Lake Winnipesaukee. The Inn has thirty-four individually decorated guest rooms with fireplaces, private baths and many offer balconies with lake views and two-person whirlpool baths. We are a dog friendly Inn, offering two exclusive guest rooms for you and your friendly pups. Our Spa is Tranquility Springs Wellness Spa and in house restaurant is O Steak & Seafood. Here at Lake Opechee Inn and Spa, guests will find the perfect retreat for rest and relaxation. Often referred to as a "home away from home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lake Opechee Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Opechee Hotel Laconia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing