We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lake Opechee Inn and Spa
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Laconia
Certificate of Excellence
Whitman, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing Stay”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Lake Opechee Inn and were thoroughly disappointed by the entire experience. While the room we stayed in was quite lovely, fireplace and two person jacuzzi tub our issue was with the overwhelming unwelcome feeling we felt throughout our entire stay.

From the moment you enter the grounds of the hotel there are signs about what not to do. Entering the parking lots signs about no skateboarding (I believe) not loitering etc. When you walk into the lobby there is a large sign asking you not to wear your ski boots inside - and adds, it ruins our floors. Huge no-smoking signs, signs in the library about 'no food, no drinks - if you want to play board games as the front desk for dice' in room with the pool table, again signs of what not to do. The hotel does have an indoor pool and hot tub, but they keep it covered and you have to go ask the front desk if you want to use it.....ummmm again very unwelcoming. Even a sign on the ice machine that ice is only to be put into ice bins from your room - damn I was going to fill my shoes with the ice!

Upon check-in I was using my debit card, and the woman behind the front desk basically yelled at me for using my debit card and not a credit card. She explained that the hotel will place a hold of $150 on the card - and that it's "real money" if I use a debit card as opposed to a credit card.... Ummm ok. So I told her I could use a credit card if it were easier for them, but the $150 hold was not a problem. She literally said 'fine it's your money' and then I had to sign about 8 forms regarding the fact I was using a debit card. After check-in I did go downstairs to inquire about our room, as we paid for a lake view room and well... it was more of a parking lot view than anything. The response I received was 'there are no other rooms available.' Gee thanks....

If you want to go to the Lakes Region for a relaxing getaway, my suggestion is to spend a few extra dollars and stay at Church Landing in Meredith, a little more expensive but a million times better!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank CD8279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    63
    14
    5
    6
See reviews for
59
153
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Just got back from a wonderful weekend getaway in celebration of our anniversary. The property was so nice and we LOVED our room! The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in at a hotel, not to mention our room had a fireplace, balcony, and jacuzzi tub for two. It felt very cozy and private.

That being said, we had a few issues with the inn and our stay. First of all, the customer service was wishy washy. They messed up our initial reservation with a king and wound up switching us to a room with two queens, but didn't comp us anything (it would've been nice to get a voucher for the restaurant or a bottle of wine or SOMETHING). Luckily we wound up loving our room anyway, and housekeeping was very friendly.

Secondly, for the price we paid to stay here, we were expecting a real hot breakfast with protein but we woke up the next morning to an extremely disappointing carb fest. I've had more complete breakfasts at a Holiday Inn, not to mention everywhere else in this price range serves a full breakfast, and considering there's a restaurant attached to the inn it wouldn't be that hard to offer some eggs, meat, and potatoes. Even something as simple as sliced cheese and hardboiled eggs would be a nice addition to what they currently serve. We stayed two nights and didn't even bother to get up for breakfast the second day because it quite frankly wasn't worth it. This is probably the main reason why we likely won't be returning. If they change their breakfast we'll be happy to make a future reservation since the room was so nice.

While I'm normally not a bathrobe kinda gal, I was looking forward to soaking in the jacuzzi and then sitting by the fire in a bathrobe instead of a soaking wet towel, but the inn doesn't have those in the room which felt a bit odd considering there's a spa downstairs.

We attempted to eat at the attached restaurant but the place was a complete mess. The kitchen was super backed up and in the half hour we waited for a table we saw multiple parties approach the manager asking where their food was. Maybe this was just an off night for them, but it was very off-putting and we ultimately decided to eat elsewhere.

We loved the 24/7 tea and coffee station and enjoyed petting the dogs.

Hopefully the Inn will make a few small tweaks to the way things are being run because it has a ton of potential!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onethousandyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomfret, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

The Jacuzzi in the room was great. The food was excellent but I would never stay here again. The customer service was horrible. The restaurant closed early. The front desk would not call us a cab. She gave us the number and told us to call. We were told we could have a late check out then we were called in the morning and told we needed to leave in 15 minutes! For such a beautiful place to stay it's a shame the customer service was so poor.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Warren112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Nice newly built hotel and spa. Cozy rooms with fireplace. attached restaurant is good. great drinks. Spa is very nice with affordable prices. right on the lake with okay views. it is not on the best part of the lake.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janetw08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Everything about this place was super, from the people (like Sara at the spa and Sandy at the desk, not to mention the two coolest bartenders) to the food (try the O-Pops), to the Inn's Golden Retriever, Diamond. They were cool with a slightly late checkout and were ready to help at a moment's notice. We're definitely going back every year, if not more. The O restaurant was top notch - creative, hearty, and healthy food (e.g., Kobe beef) at a fair price with a wide selection of really good wine.

Room Tip: The views of the lake from the rooms in front are not breathtaking, as it's more of a parking lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We had a wonderful 2-day stay just after Christmas. The decor is lovely throughout, and the holiday decorations were charming. Our family of 4 (2 teenagers) found the room comfortable and surprisingly roomy. The hotel staff set up a comfortable air mattress bed. The queen beds were beautifully appointed. We loved nestling in the cozy chairs before the fireplace (which warmed the whole room) with our hot chocolate or tea. Staff was very nice. The continental breakfast had good and provided choices for everyone in the family. A wonderful place to stay for the whole family. About 15 minute drive to Gunstock.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtaken4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I lived in the Lakes Region for 30 years. Returning with my family for a vacation we stayed at the Lake Opechee Inn and Spa. What a wonderful gem nestled on Lake Opechee. It is virtually in the heart of the Lakes Region with close access to Manchester International Airport, Laconia Regional Airport (general aviation), Lake Opechee and Lake Winnipesaukee, Meadowbrook, NH International Speedway, etc, etc. etc.

The room was very spacious. We had a view of the lake that included a fireplace, Jacuzzi, walk in shower and a King-Sized (very comfortable) bed. We ate in the attached restaurant (Delicious!) and my wife had a massage that fit the bill.

Staff is very friendly and accommodating. They are dog friendly (we did not bring one), and you see one or two very friendly and relaxed dog's around the Hotel. Check them out, it's a great get-away location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chasester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laconia
3.7 mi away
The Naswa Resort
The Naswa Resort
#1 of 13 in Laconia
443 reviews
1.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Laconia Gilford
12.7 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Church Landing at Mill Falls
1.5 mi away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#3 of 13 in Laconia
713 reviews
3.9 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites at Lake Winnipesaukee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Opechee Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Opechee Inn and Spa

Property: Lake Opechee Inn and Spa
Address: 62 Doris Ray Court, Laconia, NH 03246-5509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Laconia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Laconia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Opechee Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The renovated historic mill building is home to an Inn, Spa, Conference Center and Restaurant, all resting on the peaceful shores of Lake Opechee; a sister lake to Lake Winnipesaukee. The Inn has thirty-four individually decorated guest rooms with fireplaces, private baths and many offer balconies with lake views and two-person whirlpool baths. We are a dog friendly Inn, offering two exclusive guest rooms for you and your friendly pups. Our Spa is Tranquility Springs Wellness Spa and in house restaurant is O Steak & Seafood. Here at Lake Opechee Inn and Spa, guests will find the perfect retreat for rest and relaxation. Often referred to as a "home away from home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lake Opechee Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Opechee Hotel Laconia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing