We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best night at a hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Opechee Inn and Spa
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Laconia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The service here is amazing for a one-night get-away. We went close to valentines day, received a discount, and got one of the most private suites available. We had a whirlpool tub which was loud at night but worth it. The employees went out of their way to grab us champagne at night and everything couldn't have been better. The place is beautiful and homey, rooms are a decent size with fantastic comfortable beds. I only wish they had space to fit a couples message the following day but we called late. The morning came around and we were late for complimentary breakfast but they made a table and took everything back out for us. This place is truly a hidden gem with a kind staff looking to please. I will be coming back again without a doubt.

Room Tip: Corner suites are perfect for privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrfish257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 290 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

We are from NH but wanted a quick one-night get-away and couldn't have chosen a better place. I wish we could have stayed for two nights to take advantage of the spa services. Our room, The Boat House, was beyond our expectations. Clean, spacious and very cozy with a fireplace and seating that could be moved to enjoy the fireplace or the gorgeous view of the lake. From the moment we walked through the front door until we checked out every need was met. Our meal at O's was exceptional. I highly recommend Lake Opechee Inn and Spa.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slb827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is my second time at the Lake Opechee Inn. My only regret is that my travel schedule didn't leave room for massage and a meal in the O Steak House this time. The staff are kind, gracious and always eager to make my stay better. The rooms are extremely comfortable, affording rest and relaxation. Last year I arrived early and had a massage at Tranquility Spa. It was so good, I booked another that same weekend. My husband and I returned a month later for a delightful weekend of pampering.
I hope my group doesn't change the location for next year's retreat. I want to go back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChezMDiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was our fifth stay at Lake Opechee and we've yet to be disappointed. Our only prior association with Laconia NH was "Bike Week" each June, so for our first trip up my boyfriend was shocked when we pulled off the main road turned a corner and there was this beautiful Inn and Spa right on the lake, in such an unexpected location.

O Steaks and Seafood is attached to the Inn (it's more of small hotel with the personal touch of an Inn, privacy of a hotel I think there are 40+ rooms?), restaurant has fantastic quality food, good atmosphere, small bar with a tv. You can dress up or still be comfortable in jeans.

The spa is clean, well equipped with a saunna, flip flops, bathrobes etc in the ladies locker room, I've only ever had pedicures and been very happy! Glass of wine, hot scented neck beanbag, a foot massage, a leg massage and pretty toes when you're done. Can't complain and the prices are on par with other spas.

The Inn has a game room, a big "family" lodge type room, a small store with gifts and a small pool with a hot tub. Everything is very clean, every staff member we've ever encountered was smiling, friendly and more than helpful.

Breakfast is a light continental, juice, coffee, toast, bagels, yogurt, fruit, cereal. Coffee is available all day which is nice, as are the local papers.

Get a lakeside room with a gas fireplace and put your feet up for a weekend of relaxation! The beds have feather toppers and pillows, we've never had a better nights sleep. Take a soak in your personal two person jacuzzi in your HUGE bathroom to boot!

This has turned into our annual winter break retreat because it's the perfect place to curl up cozy by the fire for a long winter weekend to recharge your batteries, but don't tell everyone!! It's a hidden perfect gem! :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nbrady28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just spent 2 nights at Lake Opechee Inn and Spa with my 4 best friends. Everything about it was fantastic. We stayed in a double room with one king and 2 queen beds, and fireplace. Perfect! The staff was wonderful, so accommodating and helpful. Everything was clean and the beds were so comfortable. The Spa treatments were excellent and the adjoining restaurant was delicious. We plan on going back with our husbands to ski. The extra bonus was the complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jedp66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Lake Opechee Inn & Spa was perfect. The staff were excellent! The facilities were cozy and welcoming. Traveling as a family of six with a dog can be difficult, but here we felt at home from the moment we arrived. We will be returning and frequently when the pet friendly suite is completed! :-)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NHNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed one night in the Raymond Suite (Room 104) while visiting a relative in Laconia. This suite is expensive, and I would only recommend it if you want to have plenty of space to entertain friends since there is a seating area with a large sofa and extra chair. (Looking at the in-room guest comments, I'm guessing this is usually the "honeymoon suite".) There are also two comfy chairs and big ottoman in front of the fireplace; and with the TV mounted above the fireplace, this is the nicest place to relax. The room felt a bit cavernous to me and possibly could use either more furniture or cushier furniture to cozy it up. The windows overlooking Lake Opechee are beautifully done, covering the entire outside wall and have bookcases underneath with lots of books. Nice high bed with very deep mattress. One issue, though. Bed linens should ALWAYS be properly ironed and crisp. It's disconcerting to hop into a huge, nicely decorated bed and see that the sheets are unstarched and wrinkled. There is no question that everything is amazingly clean--it's just an impression one might get. Another thing I would recommend is that fluffy white bathrobes and slippers be provided, especially for this "executive suite". The two-person spa tub in the bathroom isn't particularly welcoming. Feels like an afterthought to the design and maybe could be "glammed up" a bit. The TV over the fireplace needs to be updated to a flat screen, and the room should have wi-fi rather than a plug-in connection at the desk. When you enter the hotel, the lobby feels "cold" and, again, cavernous. Why not have a fireplace visible, more comfy chairs, and some fresh flowers? The rate included breakfast, which was adequate, with the usual cereal, toast, coffee, juice, yoghurt offerings. Here again I felt that the breakfast room needed warming up somehow as it all felt a bit noisy and harsh. Restaurant O was AMAZING. We had a fantastic experience with the great food, imaginative menu and presentation, and thoughtful winelist. Service was excellent. Not inexpensive, but very reasonable considering the quality. Highly recommended. Overall, when we stay at Lake Opechee Inn again (and we will definitely return), we won't spend the extra money for the executive suite, but still request a lake-facing room with balcony and fireplace. We loved the cleanliness and the service-oriented, friendly staff. Nice to know that dogs are welcome, and that certain rooms have been set aside to accommodate guests who want to bring their dogs. Very happy to see a facility of this quality in Laconia/Lakeport--especially the restaurant!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake-facing room with balcony and fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wahzah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laconia
3.7 mi away
The Naswa Resort
The Naswa Resort
#1 of 13 in Laconia
497 reviews
1.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Laconia Gilford
12.7 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Church Landing at Mill Falls
1.5 mi away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#4 of 13 in Laconia
768 reviews
3.9 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites at Lake Winnipesaukee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Opechee Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Opechee Inn and Spa

Address: 62 Doris Ray Court, Laconia, NH 03246-5509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Laconia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Laconia
Price Range: $191 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Opechee Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The renovated historic mill building is home to an Inn, Spa, Conference Center and Restaurant, all resting on the peaceful shores of Lake Opechee; a sister lake to Lake Winnipesaukee. The Inn has thirty-four individually decorated guest rooms with fireplaces, private baths and many offer balconies with lake views and two-person whirlpool baths. We are a dog friendly Inn, offering two exclusive guest rooms for you and your friendly pups. Our Spa is Tranquility Springs Wellness Spa and in house restaurant is O Steak & Seafood. Here at Lake Opechee Inn and Spa, guests will find the perfect retreat for rest and relaxation. Often referred to as a "home away from home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lake Opechee Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Opechee Hotel Laconia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing