We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice overall but a few cautions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lake Opechee Inn and Spa
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Laconia
Certificate of Excellence
boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice overall but a few cautions”
Reviewed March 31, 2008

My husband and I recently returned from a relaxing stay at the Opechee Spa and Inn. As it is mud season, we stayed inside for the most part. The weather outside was cold and blustery and a heavy layer of dirty snow still coated everything. The room we stayed in was lovely - spacious, nice architectural details, gas fireplace, comfortable easy chairs, double whirlpool tub, feather bed. We also enjoyed a couple of services at the SPA - the spa is beautiful and the service there was wonderful. The onsite restaurant is also terrific and highly recommended. Overall, the weekend was just what the doctor ordered. I do, however, have a few minor complaints: The internet connection in our room did not work even after we tried a second internet cable. Fortunately, there is a computer in the lobby with a printer (we were considering visiting a maple sugar house and needed directions). The gourmet coffee bar that's advertised on the Inn's website is actually one of those canister coffee machines - thoughtful, but not exactly gourmet. The 'country continental' breakfast leaves a lot to be desired. It is reminiscent of what you would find at a budget motor inn. EVERY bit of food is wrapped in plastic film. I suppose that helps things to stay fresh but it doesn't look very appetizing. Coffee is obtained from the canister coffee machine. The pastries are the mass produced variety from a large megamart (think hostess cupcakes from Market Basket). Continental breakfast is fine but at $200+ night, I would have expected a nicer presentation and some fresh baked choices. Finally, the location was not what we expected. The lake view is nice but somewhat obscured by an industrial building and there is a large parking lot between the inn and the lake. Because of the snow, it is difficult to say if the landscaping was nice. There weren't many mature trees. The immediate area is not attractive - there are lots of neon signs, fast food restaurants, car dealerships, etc. everywhere - including along the lakes. If we had planned to spend time outdoors, I would have been disappointed in the surroundings.

  • Liked — Room, spa, and restaurant
  • Disliked — Surrounding area, breakfast
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank boston_raisin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    63
    14
    5
    6
See reviews for
59
153
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2008

I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Lake Opechee Inn and Spa. My husband took us up here the weekend of Valentine's Day, and we were pleased to find that this property was clean, well maintained, and comfortable. Although it was a bit less expensive than many of the surrounding hotels, we didn't think that it lacked ANYTHING... Awesome stay!

ROOMS: We stayed in Room 117, "The Bryar", and although it was the least expensive room category, we found it to be more than adequate and extremely comfortable. In fact, the BED is one of the nicest ever (you can purchase/order the linens, too!). If you've ever stayed at a renovated Sandals, it reminded me of one of those beds: soft, comfortable, lots of fluffy linens. There was a fireplace in our room (gas) and two chairs to lounge in front of it. Although we didn't have a spa tub, the bathroom was big and bright. There was also a fridge and a "vanity" area with a counter and a huge closet.

RESTAURANT: We didn't eat dinner in the hotel restaurant (sorry!) but the breakfasts were great! They even let me take a tray up to my husband on the last day, as I wanted to surprise him with "breakfast in bed"... nice!

LOCATION: The lake is beautiful, but it was tough to walk around it (too much snow EVERYWHERE). There are snowmobiling trails on the back-side of the hotel, which we found interesting. If you think the sound will bother you (it's not *THAT* loud), then make sure to reserve a room on the front side (balcony side) of the hotel. There isn't ANYTHING within walking distance except one small Italian restaurant, but there's lots of stuff within a 10-15 minute drive (TJ Maxx, Shaw's Grocery Store, D'Angelo's, Mexican Cantina, Pizza places, stuff like that).

AMENITIES: We didn't use the hotel pool but the HOT TUB was nice and NO ONE else was using the entire area while we were there... very nice and relaxing. They also have a pool table (free!), a library (with a huge flat screen TV) where you can borrow books or help out with the puzzle. Each of the rooms is decorated AMAZINGLY and it's really cozy. I felt like I was in a bed and breakfast at many times. Hot chocolate, tea, and coffee was available all day and FREE. :)

We'd consider going back in the summer, too. I bet it's lovely!

DRAWBACKS? The only negative I have, which I won't even dock the rating for, was the SPA... It was booked solid the whole time I was there, even after repeated attempts. I really think they should either hire more staff or leave some openings for hotel guests. I was bummed I didn't get to use the facilities, since the "spa massage" was part of my Christmas gift and I didn't get to take advantage. Still, I loved the place and would totally go again.

GOT PUPPIES? They have two dog friendly rooms, too, which are hardwood instead of carpeted. We didn't stay in one, but we saw a few puppies around the property along with the resident golden retriever. So cute!

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank SoxFan777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2008

We were supposed to stay at another hotel in the area but checked out immediately after checking in. We inquired at a convenient store for a nice place to stay and they told us about Opechee Inn. When we got there the staff was so friendly and gave us a tour of a few guest rooms to put our minds at ease. We stayed in a suite that was decorated with a cabin design. It had a king with two queens and a fireplace. It was perfect for our family. The inn has a small pool that the kids enjoyed and we borrowed board games from the lobby and really had some nice quality family fun. Everything was just perfect.

Dinner at there restaurant was really well done. The food was great and the service from the staff was incredible. This place really saved our short getaway and is just minutes away from skiing at Gunstock. We will be back and will recommend this place to anyone who is going to Laconia.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, spacious room and great restaurant
  • Disliked — The pool was nice but definitely on the small side
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CTonTheMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2008

We just returned from the Lake Opechee Inn & Spa for a well deserved weekend getaway. From the minute we entered the inn we were pleasantly surprised. It is not only beautiful, but extremely clean as well.
Our room (The Robin) was gorgeous! From the fabulous bed, to the fresh linens, corner fireplace, views from the windows and balcony, the two person whirlpool, everything was great!
Staff were friendly and offered assistance whenever possible. The restaurant is better than most upscale places in Boston and the staff there were fantastic.
We had a couples massage in the spa and both massage therapists were great.
If you enjoy skiing, Gunstock Mountain is literally 10 minutes away, with very easy directions to get to. We had a blast!
Ignore the reviews about the old mill building. Yes it is big and red, but if you are there for relaxation or fun why would you notice? I will agree that the pool is more like a "plunge pool" but it is very clean and pretty private for a little swim if that is what you are looking for.
Overall the inn is wonderful and we would recommend it to family, friends, coworkers alike. We will definitely return here in the future.

  • Liked — Beautiful and clean
  • Disliked — Small pool
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank makemetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brittian, CT
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2008

My husband and I booked a weekend getaway for our 15th anniversary. I found the spa treatments wonderful and relaxing. The staff was courteous and friendly.

Our room was beautiful, comfortable and well cared for. The food at the restaurant was pricey but excellent.

I would highly recommend visiting this inn to celebrate a special occasion.

  • Liked — the spa staff was very friendly and our room was beautiful
  • Disliked — the inn is not the easiest place to find
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTtravels022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2008

I stayed here while on business and have to say this is one of the nicest places I have stayed at. I travel extensively throughout the US for my company and would have to say that this place is doing it right from the room to the friendly service.

The room was spacious, clean and nicely appointed. It had all the extras from a refrigerator to internet access. However, wireless was only available in the lobby which was the only draw back I could find. They offer a nice continental breakfast in the morning with a good selection to choose from. I had dinner at the restaurant both nights and absolutely loved it.

The chains could learn a thing or two from this hotel.

  • Liked — Friendly Desk Staff - Excellent Restaurant
  • Disliked — No wireless in guest room
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JRD-TEXAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sterling hgts, mi
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2007

We booked one night on are way up to the White Mountains for a hiking trip. It was so nice and comfortable that we decided to spend the last night at the Lake Opechee instead of a large hotel in Boston. The size of the rooms(the beds!), the location and beautie of the Inn were outstanding. We loved the treatments in the spa especially the pedicures. Althrough it was hard to get all of the treatments together(book early with a group). I wish that the locker room had more supplies, I was to be charged $2.00 for a disposal razor! The outside patio is nice to sit out and have a drink in the evening. We did not eat at the Inn, Althrough we heard very good things about the food. Had drinks the first night. Upon return we sat at bar to get a drink, after close to ten minutes no one acknowledged us so we left. The Inn is close to Boston and an easy drive from Logan. The three of us all agree that we will be back. One last thing, they allow dogs!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank anntz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laconia
1.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Laconia Gilford
7.6 mi away
Church Landing at Mill Falls
3.7 mi away
The Naswa Resort
The Naswa Resort
#1 of 13 in Laconia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#3 of 13 in Laconia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Summit Resort
The Summit Resort
#6 of 13 in Laconia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Opechee Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Opechee Inn and Spa

Property: Lake Opechee Inn and Spa
Address: 62 Doris Ray Court, Laconia, NH 03246-5509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Laconia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Laconia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Opechee Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The renovated historic mill building is home to an Inn, Spa, Conference Center and Restaurant, all resting on the peaceful shores of Lake Opechee; a sister lake to Lake Winnipesaukee. The Inn has thirty-four individually decorated guest rooms with fireplaces, private baths and many offer balconies with lake views and two-person whirlpool baths. We are a dog friendly Inn, offering two exclusive guest rooms for you and your friendly pups. Our Spa is Tranquility Springs Wellness Spa and in house restaurant is O Steak & Seafood. Here at Lake Opechee Inn and Spa, guests will find the perfect retreat for rest and relaxation. Often referred to as a "home away from home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lake Opechee Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Opechee Hotel Laconia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing