We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service and Dirty”
Review of The Margate Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Margate Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Laconia
Millville, MA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Terrible service and Dirty”
Reviewed October 9, 2006

My family stayed at the Margate on Columbus Day weekend. When we arrived, our room smelled like urine. When we called we were told someone would be right up. That didn't happen so we went looking for someone in housekeeping. A woman came in and told us it was outside that smelled. We think it was the cleaning solution they use. YUK. The day after we had to call to complain because as of 3:30pm our room had yet to be cleaned. Also, the beach was covered in geese droppings Responsiveness was very slow (and sometimes not at all). They should hire more maid staff!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank debcer5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, Management Team at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, October 31, 2008
Only having found this site a few months back, we'd like to try to address as many comments as possible. Our Executive Housekeeper has been with us for a number of years and runs a tight ship. Before they are released, all guest rooms are thoroughly inspected. If there had been an odor problem, the room would not have been released. It seems unlikely but is possible that these individuals did not like the particular cleaning product used, however the rooms usually have a fresh smell once cleaned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    214
    109
    48
    65
See reviews for
262
196
17
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Everywhere
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2006

This looked like the nicest place in town..... boy was I wrong!
1. Called for directions, got hung up on.
2. Finally found the place on my own and the front desk staff was RUDE!
3. Beds were AWFUL
4. Mildew in the bathroom
5. TV was broken
6. Hotel has a bad odor in general~
If I ever have to go up the Laconia again, I think I will sleep in my car.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank trektravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2006

I recently hosted an event at the Margate with about 80 people and was very dissapointed. The sales staff made lots of promises and everything sounded great. We even met with them the day before to go over any last minute issues. When our guests arrived, the hotel refused to honor any commitments the sales staff had made to us. With 80 guests a long ways from home on a July weekend, it was too late to look elsewhere.

The rooms were gross and the food at the beach bar was really poor. We spent a ton of money--there wasn't one person in the indoor bar besides our group--but were treated very poorly. Each room had unauthorized charges on the credit cards on file. I agree with a previous reviewer that the hotel cannot be trusted.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank BostonLegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, G.M. at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, July 30, 2006
At this point I feel that it is necessary to respond to some of the negative comments posted about The Margate on this website. Unfortunately in this day and age, people will believe everything they read, especially on the internet, whether it is justified or not.

The June 2006 post was by an older gentleman who had a room block at The Margate, however he was holding his event at another hotel. Before booking with us, he had read negative comments about us on these types of websites, but decided to give us a chance anyway. They visited us several times, and stayed in the hotel rooms and found them to be appropriate for their needs. When initially asked about group discounts, our sales director gave him examples of different discounts that we sometimes do depending on the aspects of the block (in/off season, room types, day of the week, number of rooms needed)...but no discount was ever authorized for this particular group. No discount was included in the SIGNED contract which stated the room rates clearly. This man decided to tell all his group members that they were going to get a discount, but when we informed him that at no time was a discount authorized for his group, to try and avoid embarrassment he verbally threatened to post negative comments about us on this website out of pure spite, even after his wife commented that she enjoyed our property. The bottom line is that we go to great lengths to produce accurate group contracts, which are to be read and signed by the client. We do not re-negotiate the terms of these contracts AFTER services have been rendered.

The recent July 2006 posting is by a group of people who planned a charity golf tournament. This group of 80 college kids blocked approximately 10 rooms, and intended to jam everyone into these rooms, 8 to 10 people to a room. These were mainly our family suites that can hold up to 8 people, so we allowed it. On the signed contract was the correct room rates, but the base rate for our suites is for up to 4 adults. We had notified the group leader that we would be charging an extra $15 per extra adult per room which is our standard policy regarding occupancy, as seen on our website. He disputed it with us by saying the contract did not state the $15 charge, SO WE DID NOT CHARGE THEM FOR IT! These contracts work both ways...if we screw up, we honor it. We honored their request to not be charged the extra $15 per person! We didn't even charge them for all the extra cots!
I find it funny that they would comment on our beach bar food as I don't think any of them ate there. I actually had to kick them off the beach because they attempted to bring their own beer and liquor into our licensed area. In reality, these kids abused our property. They damaged plants by kicking them, destroyed a bunch of clay pots, kicked in a door, urinated in one of the hallways (don't worry, its clean now!)...and disturbed everyone in that wing of the hotel with noise until 5am. The next morning, one of the group members was seen exposing himself to a small child & family. We should never have allowed this group to book here, but we thought a golf group would be more mature than this. We typically do not cater to this type of crowd. Anyways, the only extra charges the group leader incurred was to pay for the damages in excess of $1000! None of his group members were overcharged in any way, in fact they were undercharged, but that was due to our mistake by omitting the $15pp in the contract, so we had to honor that.

Believe what you wish, but if you are planning a trip to the Lakes Region, even if you don't stay with us, stop in and take a look around. I think you will find that most of these negative reviews about us are completely inaccurate.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 21, 2006

I am sorry I ever did business with them. We reserved a block of rooms for two nights for guests of ours attending a function elsewhere. The sales manager promised us several times that each of our guests would get a ten per cent discount at checkout on any night our guests rented 20 or more rooms.

That happened both nights. But our guests--and even our family--never got the discount. It was terribly embarrassing. We complained, but the hotel general manager simply ignored the promise the sales manager had repeatedly made to us. I learned I can’t trust the Margate. Their word is not their bond.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2005

Okay, we have had a major amount of resort bashers about this place.

Let me give you the positives: This is the second year in a row that we have stayed at the Margate with an extended family.

1: We stayed in the lake building both times--yes, more costly, but with a great access to the beach

2: We did a lot of other activities during the day--we hiked, we toured, we went into town, we golfed--in other words, get out and enjoy the region. We rented jet skiis, we rented a boat, we drove into Weirs Beach--we love the area, and we are always happy to be there!

3. Ask the front desk for anything you need! Seems simple, but we needed a cot in our room--called once, and it was there!

4. Know what you want in a vacation: We live on Long Island, but we love hiking, camping, the Adirondacks, the While Mountains--we love NATURE! In short==if you want a Caribbean vacation, go on a cruise, or go to Aruba, like we did last summer.

5. If you have such high expectations, stay in a Crowne Royale in Boston!
Don't come to a region and expect first class service--you will certainly receive adequate service, as I can attest to, but if you want the b est of the best, go on a cruise or go to the AN island.

6. Stop complaining!! Okay--you had a bad stay--Get over it!!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank mchgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 2, 2005

We stayed at the Margate June 24th. We were awakened to our sink overflowing because the people on the second floor were taking a shower. No adjustment to our bill for our inconvenience. Staff not helpful or concerned. The Hotel was dirty and non smoking room smelled of smoke. Outdoor pool was out of order. Wish we knew of this site before we booked our room.

The hotel is highly over priced!!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 8, 2005

Their lobby is deceiving. Yout think it's so beautiful but the rest of the hotel and it's views are nothing spectactular. I wouldn't spend the money to go back there.

  • Stayed September 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laconia
2.4 mi away
The Naswa Resort
The Naswa Resort
#1 of 13 in Laconia
465 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
323 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites at Lake Winnipesaukee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Summit Resort
The Summit Resort
#6 of 13 in Laconia
157 reviews
3.1 mi away
Grand View Motel and Cottages
Grand View Motel and Cottages
#2 of 5 in Weirs Beach
62 reviews
3.2 mi away
Weirs Beach Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Margate Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Margate Resort

Property: The Margate Resort
Address: 76 Lake Street, Lake Winnipesaukee, Laconia, NH
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Laconia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Laconia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Margate Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to The Margate and enjoy all the amenities expected of a first class lakefront resort and conference facility less than two hours north of Boston. Whether taking a dip in our indoor and outdoor pools, sunning on our 400 foot private sandy beach, relaxing in our whirlpool-sauna, or dining at our Gazebo Beach Bar for lunch or dinner, you are sure to find all the comforts of home.Beautifully decorated and maintained guest rooms, onsite event and dining facilities, and a skilled staff dedicated to making your stay a wonderful experience make The Margate on Lake Winnipesaukee the place to vacation in the Lakes Region.At The Margate Resort, we've gotcha covered. With 15 different room types from which to select you are sure to find accommodations that best suit your needs. All guest rooms are fully equipped with Keurig® K-Cup Coffee Makers, Green Mountain® coffee, free wireless internet, irons & ironing boards, and hairdryers. Lake and West rooms also include double-sized stainless steel mini-fridges!Choose a room in our Lake building for spectacular views of the lake and unparalleled sunsets. For convenience during inclement weather, the Lake building is connected to the amenities building by underground tunnel!For a motel style experience, choose our West building. West Beach guests enjoy quick access to our sandy beach, just steps away from your door. Many West Inland rooms have backdoors leading to our West Lawn area!Our Inn building units are generally larger than the other buildings, offer the lowest rates, and being located right next to our outdoor pool makes the Inn a great choice by most families during the summer season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Margate Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Margate Hotel Laconia
Margate Hotel Laconia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing