We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family vacation”
Review of The Margate Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Margate Resort
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Laconia
Reviewed September 7, 2013

My husband and 2 children had a great week at the Margate! The rooms were clean and close to the beach, breakfast was great, staff were friendly, my husband enjoyed fishing on the beautiful lake and my kids enjoyed playing by the water or swimming in the pool each day. I loved the tiki bar and bonfires at night. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandimae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

It is wonderful to hear that your entire family spent some great time with us this summer. The water is a main attraction for us, so I am glad that your children enjoyed the swimming and your husband the fishing. The beach bar has been great this summer, and our guests have loved the nightly bonfires, we will continue to have them next summer! Can’t wait to have you back!

Kyle Parisi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (768)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 768 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed at the Margate from 8/21-8/24 with my two children. We arrived a couples hours early before check-in and were pleased to find that our room was already ready for us. We were located with a lake view room on the ground level. Room was conveniently appointed with the necessary amenities including a fridge. There is a Shaws supermarket directly across the street for any needed items. Room for the most part was clean with the exception of the carpeting, it was vacuumed but stained from embedded dirt; I can only give the resort the benefit that it is the end of the summer and with the customer turn around it would be difficult to shampoo the carpets until the off season. Also noted that the bathroom ceiling leaked into the tub from the shower in the room above. Didn't let any of that ruin our time though!
I definitely give the girls working at the beach bar very high remarks, all were very pleasant from the first time we went there to have some lunch to the last day we were there and had a bite for lunch. Those girls work their butts off! Food at the beach bar is very, very good. A little expensive but you are paying for the convenience, you can also have your tab and tip billed to your room by showing them your room key.
The lake is wonderful, kids enjoyed swimming very much and playing in the sand on the beach. They also enjoyed chasing the ducks around. Indoor pool was wonderful as well, goes up to 10' deep.
Looking forward to another stay at The Margate next summer!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worcester_MAKristin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Very glad to hear that you and your children enjoyed your stay with us this summer. You made a very fine choice with one of the Lakeview rooms, which is a just a few steps away from the beach and all the fun amenities and activities that you described. I apologize for any staining that was on the carpet in your room. You are correct that the rooms do get used heavily over the course of the summer, and we do our best to keep up with the usage, but we are unable to perform deep cleans on rooms during this season due to the high occupancy. I very much appreciate your understanding of the issue. I would also like to say thanks again for your compliments about the beach bar and staff. They all truly work very hard over the course of the summer to keep all of guests and customers happy and wanting more, and I know they appreciate the comments as well. Once again, I am very glad to hear about your stay, and we can’t wait to have you back next year!

Kyle Parisi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Great family vacation!!! Kids loved the lake, indoor pool and the brunch was good also!!! Room was clean and the location was perfect......would highly recommend the hotel for a family or just as a couple to get away!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tminehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and posting such a great review. We very much appreciate the recommendation, and are very happy that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. Hope to have you back again soon!

Kyle Parisi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband I needed a few days to go away and relax. We stayed for 2 nights, mid-week in July and had a wonderful time. The beach, the outdoor tiki bar and the staff made us feel like we were on an island vacation spot. The room was clean, and did not have any musty smell. We will definitely come back. I recommended it to our daughter and husband. They have 2 young boys, and after watching the fun the other families were having, I know they will enjoy it, too. Like other reviewers stated, it's a family place. We live one street away from a beautiful ocean beach in Ma, and we LOVED this change of scenery and atmosphere.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathyRN61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

I love to hear that you felt like you were on an island vacation spot while you were with us. It is also great to hear that the staff made you feel very welcome. I very much appreciate you recommending us to your daughter and her husband, it is indeed an excellent spot for families to relax, have fun, and enjoy the area. I also feel very happy to hear that you live near the ocean but still found the lakes to be a great time as well. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have you and your family with us here soon!

Kyle Parisi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Went for a weekend getaway and left early. The staff was helpful and polite. Our room was old, outdated, and smelled of smoke/must/mildew. I was afraid to have my children play on the carpet. There were burn holes in the chairs and the rug. The chairs were cloth and stained. The rugs were torn up and there was dust, crumbs, and garbage from previous guests when we arrived. The mattresses were stained, uncomfortable, and were not protected by mattress covers. Showers were covered in mildew and the bathroom sink was outside of the bathroom... The window of our room was hazed because the seal was broken. We had a view of the back of Shaws supermarket. The outdoor pool was filled with bugs, grass, and sand. The gate to the pool was falling apart and it could no longer be locked. There was duck poop all around the beach near the lake. We couldn't wait to get home!!! It was $230 per night and we felt it was worth no more than $70 a night... We had to wash everything when we got home today because the room left an awful odor on everything. It looked like the lakeside rooms had a nice view, however, I would not take a chance wasting money on this hotel ever again!!!!! Very disappointed and happy to be back in my clean home!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maggieb80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

I deeply apologize for the condition of your room during your stay with us. Clearly the room you stayed in was not adequate, and the cleaning process for the room incomplete. I hope that you notified a staff member about these issues during your stay so that our housekeeping staff could address and fix all of these concerns. Once again, I apologize for the experience you had with us, and we will use the comments to ensure that we improve our rooms.

Kyle Parisi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My husband and I visited the Margate one weekend in July. Overall we had a great time. We had a lakeside room on the ground level and the view was quite nice. The room was clean but did have a musty smell. If you are expecting a fancy 5-star type room then I suggest you find another resort. The Margate is a family orientated resort with great views and a lot of activities to do inside and outside. Also the resort is conveniently located near shops, restaurants and tourist attractions.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Kimberley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and posting a review. I’m glad you were able to enjoy the scenery from your Lakeview room. I do apologize for any mustiness that was present. The heat and humidity created that affect on some of the ground level rooms this summer. Fortunately, the comments from guests like yourself helped us to install an air purification system to alleviate the problem. I’m glad that you mentioned that we are not a 5-star resort, but we do feel that we provide a wholesome experience full of activities for families, couples, and singles alike. We hope to have you back with us again soon.

Kyle Parisi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I had a great time. Great sunsets, lake, beach, hot tub, pools, hot breakfast, beach bar, music, frig in room, shower pressure, microwave in common area, nice housekeepers, price, boats, bon fires, etc. etc. We will be back next summer for sure.

Room Tip: get a lake view...definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacationreviewersxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for the glowing review! It certainly seems as though you were able to enjoy everything that we pride ourselves in. I’m so glad to hear that you both found everything to be wonderful and had an amazing experience. We can’t wait to have you back next year!

Kyle Parisi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laconia
2.4 mi away
The Naswa Resort
The Naswa Resort
#1 of 13 in Laconia
497 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
331 reviews
3.1 mi away
Grand View Motel and Cottages
Grand View Motel and Cottages
#1 of 5 in Weirs Beach
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Summit Resort
The Summit Resort
#8 of 13 in Laconia
160 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites at Lake Winnipesaukee
3.0 mi away
Half Moon Motel & Cottages
Half Moon Motel & Cottages
#2 of 5 in Weirs Beach
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Margate Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Margate Resort

Address: 76 Lake Street, Lake Winnipesaukee, Laconia, NH
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Laconia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Laconia
Price Range: $128 - $1,088 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Margate Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to The Margate and enjoy all the amenities expected of a first class lakefront resort and conference facility less than two hours north of Boston. Whether taking a dip in our indoor and outdoor pools, sunning on our 400 foot private sandy beach, relaxing in our whirlpool-sauna, or dining at our Gazebo Beach Bar for lunch or dinner, you are sure to find all the comforts of home.Beautifully decorated and maintained guest rooms, onsite event and dining facilities, and a skilled staff dedicated to making your stay a wonderful experience make The Margate on Lake Winnipesaukee the place to vacation in the Lakes Region.At The Margate Resort, we've gotcha covered. With 15 different room types from which to select you are sure to find accommodations that best suit your needs. All guest rooms are fully equipped with Keurig® K-Cup Coffee Makers, Green Mountain® coffee, free wireless internet, irons & ironing boards, and hairdryers. Lake and West rooms also include double-sized stainless steel mini-fridges!Choose a room in our Lake building for spectacular views of the lake and unparalleled sunsets. For convenience during inclement weather, the Lake building is connected to the amenities building by underground tunnel!For a motel style experience, choose our West building. West Beach guests enjoy quick access to our sandy beach, just steps away from your door. Many West Inland rooms have backdoors leading to our West Lawn area!Our Inn building units are generally larger than the other buildings, offer the lowest rates, and being located right next to our outdoor pool makes the Inn a great choice by most families during the summer season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Margate Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Margate Hotel Laconia
Margate Hotel Laconia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing