We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Left early...”
Review of The Margate Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Margate Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Laconia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Left early...”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Went for a weekend getaway and left early. The staff was helpful and polite. Our room was old, outdated, and smelled of smoke/must/mildew. I was afraid to have my children play on the carpet. There were burn holes in the chairs and the rug. The chairs were cloth and stained. The rugs were torn up and there was dust, crumbs, and garbage from previous guests when we arrived. The mattresses were stained, uncomfortable, and were not protected by mattress covers. Showers were covered in mildew and the bathroom sink was outside of the bathroom... The window of our room was hazed because the seal was broken. We had a view of the back of Shaws supermarket. The outdoor pool was filled with bugs, grass, and sand. The gate to the pool was falling apart and it could no longer be locked. There was duck poop all around the beach near the lake. We couldn't wait to get home!!! It was $230 per night and we felt it was worth no more than $70 a night... We had to wash everything when we got home today because the room left an awful odor on everything. It looked like the lakeside rooms had a nice view, however, I would not take a chance wasting money on this hotel ever again!!!!! Very disappointed and happy to be back in my clean home!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggieb80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
I deeply apologize for the condition of your room during your stay with us. Clearly the room you stayed in was not adequate, and the cleaning process for the room incomplete. I hope that you notified a staff member about these issues during your stay so that our housekeeping staff could address and fix all of these concerns. Once again, I apologize for the experience you had with us, and we will use the comments to ensure that we improve our rooms.

Kyle Parisi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    211
    106
    48
    65
See reviews for
255
191
17
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My husband and I visited the Margate one weekend in July. Overall we had a great time. We had a lakeside room on the ground level and the view was quite nice. The room was clean but did have a musty smell. If you are expecting a fancy 5-star type room then I suggest you find another resort. The Margate is a family orientated resort with great views and a lot of activities to do inside and outside. Also the resort is conveniently located near shops, restaurants and tourist attractions.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kimberley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and posting a review. I’m glad you were able to enjoy the scenery from your Lakeview room. I do apologize for any mustiness that was present. The heat and humidity created that affect on some of the ground level rooms this summer. Fortunately, the comments from guests like yourself helped us to install an air purification system to alleviate the problem. I’m glad that you mentioned that we are not a 5-star resort, but we do feel that we provide a wholesome experience full of activities for families, couples, and singles alike. We hope to have you back with us again soon.

Kyle Parisi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband and I had a great time. Great sunsets, lake, beach, hot tub, pools, hot breakfast, beach bar, music, frig in room, shower pressure, microwave in common area, nice housekeepers, price, boats, bon fires, etc. etc. We will be back next summer for sure.

Room Tip: get a lake view...definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationreviewersxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for the glowing review! It certainly seems as though you were able to enjoy everything that we pride ourselves in. I’m so glad to hear that you both found everything to be wonderful and had an amazing experience. We can’t wait to have you back next year!

Kyle Parisi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great location, stunning views, relaxed atmosphere, fantastic beach bar (staff were awesome). Food including breakfast was average prices ok. Outdoor pool could of been cleaner (hundreds of dead bugs floating each morning puts you off your swim). Rooms very clean but dated. Didn't use the indoor pool or gym so cant comment. Really loved staying here & would def stay again. One thing us brits hate tho is when we go down to the beach to get a sun bed only to find a towel neatly placed on every bed but know ones on them, reminds us of when we all went on our holidays to spain & the germans would get up at 5am to place their towels down so know one else could use the sunbeds, think it should be 1st come 1st serve so why don't ya get some one to fro them towels in the lake to teach em a lesson just sayin :)

Room Tip: if possible get a lakeside room. The view of the lake is awesome..far better than looking at shaws t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Urmstonred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review. I’m glad that you found us to have a great location with stunning views and an excellent staff. Believe me when I say these comments are very reassuring to that confidence we have in our staff’s ability to provide our guests with an excellent experience. As for the towels on the beach chairs you mentioned, we have had this issue arise over the years. While we have contemplated making a rule stating that these chairs cannot be reserved, we feel that such a rule would only lead to more complaints from guests losing their seats while going in the water or ordering a drink from the bar. I understand that this can be frustrating at times, and we have seen that most guests will simply remove the towels from chairs that have not had anyone in them for some time. In an attempt to increase our beach seating, we added a couple of beach-side hammocks this year, and our guests seemed to enjoy them. We will be adding more for next summer. Thank you again for posting, and we hope to have you back again soon!

Kyle Parisi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Absolutely beautiful views, relaxing atmosphere, great beachbar with delicious food. Well maintained property. Nice family atmosphere. Close to Weirs, Gunstock Mtn and Meredith. Will definately stay again.

Room Tip: Lakeside building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alpatter24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and writing this straight-to-the-point glowing review! Short and sweet, but you pretty much covered it all! I am glad you had a great time, and we can’t wait to have you back again soon!

Kyle Parisi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This "resort" desperately needs a complete renovation. While the beach and lakeside bar were nice everything else was shockingly poor. The amenities (indoor pool, hot tub, sauna and gym) are great to have they needed to be spruced up and kept cleaner. The common areas and hotel room decor seem 1970's to 1980's at best. The front desk/reservations screwed up our connecting rooms request and took a long time to straighten it out. Worn out carpets, broken light fixtures, wall hair dryers that wouldn't stay attached to the wall, threadbare towels, bathtub faucets that wouldn't turn off scalded my girlfriend- it went on and on. Attempts to call the front desk to get repairs went unanswered. The beachfront bar staff tried hard to please but food ordered took an inordinate amount of time to arrive. To pay close to $250/night considering all of these major shortcomings and a view of the parking lot is criminal. The setting is beautiful but the only way I'd return is after a complete overhaul.

Room Tip: No idea- I'm guessing all rooms are equally bad and a poor value. For convenience stay in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Upon reading this review I simply feel that you have selected the wrong resort, and area in general. The Margate, as well as NH’s Lakes Region is an area with a classic and rustic feel, however, The Margate is one of the most modernized resorts in the area. As you may read in one of our other reviews posted today, expectations are key. If you come to the Margate expecting a 5-star experience, with every aspect of the hotel in brand new condition as if it were built yesterday, your expectations will not be met, and you will be dissatisfied. In an area that has a peak season of only two to three months, we pride ourselves on being able to afford big ticket upgrades every year, in order to provide a great value to our guests. Your assertion that multiple calls to the front desk, which is staffed 24/7 with at least three staff members at all times during the day, all went unanswered also sounds questionable to me. However I am very sorry that you were unable to get in touch with any staff member on property to address your concerns. We truly wish you luck in your search for another hotel that better fits your needs.

Kyle Parisi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had never stayed in the Lakes region and we were very happy with the choice we made. Once we had made our reservation, a co-worker told my husband we had made an excellent choice. Our room was clean, not fancy, but it worked for us. The beach was clean and we enjoyed the lake. We had been given recommendations for restaurants and both were excellent choices. The complimentary breakfast was very good and we both liked the option for the hot breakfast ( and the price was right!). We did go to the gazebo bar for lunch and the food was very good. We went mid week and the rates were good for the summer season.

Room Tip: We had a room on the first floor facing the beach! I believe it is the Lakeside building. I would re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D'Arcy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your visit with us and I’m glad it was a great one. The Lakes Region is an amazing place to visit, and I’m happy we were able to be your first experience here. It is good to see that you were able to enjoy many of our amenities as well as some surrounding restaurants. We hope you’ll be back again soon!

Kyle Parisi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laconia
11.7 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
319 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Naswa Resort
The Naswa Resort
#1 of 13 in Laconia
436 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Landmark Inn
The Landmark Inn
#13 of 13 in Laconia
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites at Lake Winnipesaukee
2.2 mi away
The Summit Resort
The Summit Resort
#6 of 13 in Laconia
154 reviews
3.2 mi away
Weirs Beach Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Margate Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Margate Resort

Property: The Margate Resort
Address: 76 Lake Street, Lake Winnipesaukee, Laconia, NH
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Laconia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Laconia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Margate Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to The Margate and enjoy all the amenities expected of a first class lakefront resort and conference facility less than two hours north of Boston. Whether taking a dip in our indoor and outdoor pools, sunning on our 400 foot private sandy beach, relaxing in our whirlpool-sauna, or dining at our Gazebo Beach Bar for lunch or dinner, you are sure to find all the comforts of home.Beautifully decorated and maintained guest rooms, onsite event and dining facilities, and a skilled staff dedicated to making your stay a wonderful experience make The Margate on Lake Winnipesaukee the place to vacation in the Lakes Region.At The Margate Resort, we've gotcha covered. With 15 different room types from which to select you are sure to find accommodations that best suit your needs. All guest rooms are fully equipped with Keurig® K-Cup Coffee Makers, Green Mountain® coffee, free wireless internet, irons & ironing boards, and hairdryers. Lake and West rooms also include double-sized stainless steel mini-fridges!Choose a room in our Lake building for spectacular views of the lake and unparalleled sunsets. For convenience during inclement weather, the Lake building is connected to the amenities building by underground tunnel!For a motel style experience, choose our West building. West Beach guests enjoy quick access to our sandy beach, just steps away from your door. Many West Inland rooms have backdoors leading to our West Lawn area!Our Inn building units are generally larger than the other buildings, offer the lowest rates, and being located right next to our outdoor pool makes the Inn a great choice by most families during the summer season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Margate Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Margate Hotel Laconia
Margate Hotel Laconia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing