We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd Year In A Row- and counting”
Review of The Margate Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Margate Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Laconia
Litchfield, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“3rd Year In A Row- and counting”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My family and I really enjoyed our three-night getaway at this resort. It is so fabulous, this is actually the second review I am writing. I wrote one last year as well.

The beach and newly added water sports activities were highly enjoyable for all of our family members, ages five to mid-forties. The kids absolutely loved the indoor pool and the arcade. The staff that works the breakfast buffet is extremely helpful and friendly. It was our third year having Darcy as our waitress and she even remembered us! The bar area gets a bit crowded and it would be nice to have some more staff members wait serving on the beach, but overall, an exceptional facility. It is clean, neat, and close to The Weirs, Meredith and Alton Bay. You can't beat the location. We will continue to go back every summer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fraulordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
It is so great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us last year, and decided to return this year. I am also glad to see that you saw some of our new additions like paddle boarding and sailing. We are certainly happy to provide fun activities for guests of all ages. I’m sure our breakfast crew would be very pleased to hear your grateful comments, and I’ll be sure to let Darcy know that she is doing a great job! I do apologize that the beach bar and restaurant can get exceedingly busy in the summertime, unfortunately this can slow us down in a bit. This is one problem that we very focused on, and are committed to resolving for the remainder of this year, and especially for next summer. Thanks again for the great reviews, and we can’t wait to see you next summer!

Kyle Parisi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    220
    116
    48
    65
See reviews for
273
201
17
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ivoryton
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Margate for 7 nights during the next to last week of August. Our room was in the older, motel section, which showed its age. The air conditioner was very noisy, the bed creaked, the headboard was nailed to the wall and the toilet bowl was loose. The bathroom was small but had a nice new one piece shower and tub but it did not have a grab bar. Parking was not reserved for the room and when special events were held, it was not easy to find a spot near your room.
I gave it an average rating because of the free, cold continental breakfast and the indoor swimming pool. There was also an outside bar and restaurant on the lake but smoking was allowed in the eating area. Our housekeeper for the room was very pleasant and efficient.
The location is quite central to restaurants and shops.
The front office help varied between those who were very friendly and a few who seemed to be doing you a favor. John Proctor

Room Tip: Find a room in the building facing the lake. They are newer and more modern but still quite small a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snpyjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Upon reading your review I am hoping that you were able to report some of the issues with your room to our front desk. These are the type of issues that our maintenance teams have no trouble fixing, but they are very hard to find unless you are an actually guest using the room. I am glad that you were able to enjoy the complimentary breakfast as well as our indoor pool. You are correct that smoking is allowed at the beach bar. This is because the bar is outdoors and many of the sections are uncovered, and thus no smoke can accumulate in the area. In recent years we have allowed smoking only at the bar, and at the first three tables near the bar. Smoking is no longer allowed at the 8 tables out on the main deck. Thank you for posting a review.

Kyle Parisi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013

5th year in a row at Margate... Will continue to go back... More than happy with all aspects!! Find Margate a great central point for jumping off to different area throughout the White Mountains. Also, shopping, diners are within walking distance.

Room Tip: Prefer corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your continued stays with us. We have a deep appreciation for our repeat customers, as we know they are the support and structure that keeps our business running. I’m very happy that you continue to use us a great location set up home base and visit all the area’s wonders! Can’t wait to have you back next year!

Kyle Parisi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vernon rockville, Connecticut, USA
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Once again we enjoyed a nice week at the Margate. The entire Laconia and Lake Winny area is just awesome for kids and adults of all ages. Plenty of beach time, good food, night life, minny golf, go carts, arcades, you name it, its there.

As with all review I read online, I tend to feel everything is relative to expectations. If you think you are walking into a gold crown resort in Hawaii or the Caribbean then you will probably be disappointed. The Margate is not $2000 a week and its not gold crown. If you think you are walking into a hotel / resort in the lake regions where most properties are dated, some a little rustic, but still lots of fun with good food and good service then you will be happy.

If you spend all your time in your hotel room you will probably be disappointed. If you spend your time on the beach, at the beach bar, at the restaurants, marshmellowing at the nightly bonfire, going in/on the water, going out for lobster dinners, hitting the arcades and minny golf, then you will have a great week and enjoy the prices.

Bottom line . . . set your expectations accordingly and you'll agree its the best resort in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for the great review. Your review, in my opinion, is spot on and one of the most accurate I have read in a long time. The Lakes Region is a very family orientated location with lots of activities, fun, and games. Also, as you mentioned, the architecture and style are not modern/new age, but much more of a classic feel. I’m glad you were aware of what the area brings, and able to enjoy both the area and all our amenities. Thanks again for posting, and we hope to have you back soon!

Kyle Parisi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyngsboro, MA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The beach is very nice. They have a good size dock to for visiting boats. Most of the rooms are motel style with room entrances from the parking lot. The furniture in the room is dated. Full size beds with rock hard mattresses. Good parking

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank scaissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Happy to hear that you found our private beach to be very nice, and noticed our dock space for guests at the beach bar. Although many of our motel style rooms are visible from outside, our resort actually has many more guest rooms inside our Lake and Inn buildings which are traditional hotel style rooms. I apologize that the furniture appeared dated, and I must say that we just recently updated all of mattresses and bedding throughout the resort, and I am sorry to hear that you found them to be inadequate. I hope you will return to stay with us again.

Kyle Parisi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Revere, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My son and I spent 5 days there. The room was clean and modern, and the variety of things to do was great--we swam in the lake, rented a canoe, and had dinner at the gazebo restaurant/bar. Weirs Beach was also very close and fun. Overall a nice trip and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: We saved a little money with a court-facing room. It looks on at the parking lot, but you can be out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandybeach25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and posting a review. I appreciate you commenting on the multitude of activities to participate in while staying with us. As you mentioned, there is great fun to be had not only on property, but at the surrounding attractions as well. Happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us, and hope to have you back again soon!

Kyle Parisi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Ma
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This Resort seems in need of some sprucing up. very tired looking. Rug in hallway are worn, stained and lumpy. Beds are very uncomfortable.The shower was nice and the heat fan in the ceiling was a nice touch, however it could have been vacumed, lots off fuzzy stuff there.Some of staff on the beach bar could use a lesson in being polite.It seemed to be a chore to wait on us, They would close down sections and seemed annoyed when you asked to sit there.One girl told us she hoped it rained because she did not want to work.She did work, it did rain, and she was miserable. My husband was sitting at a table with a plaistic cup of water from the room and was told he could not use that cup. He was in the middle of an important phone call and she interupted him, to make him change his cup of water from a red cup to a clear cup. Realy? We wanted to paddle board at 3:30 one day when it is open til 5, and no one was there. I asked why and a manager finally did come to help us. Paking was also an issue, one night there were very few spaces left at 9 at night. maybe assigned spots would work.The breakfast that was included was very nice..The man on the front desk that works the late night/early shift was very nice and helpful when we had an issue.Overall it was an OK stay, not sure I would return. Not a very friendly place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtctully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
I would like to start my response by apologizing for some of the appearance issues you noticed. After one of the busiest summers on record, our property has taken a bit of abuse, but our staff constantly works to keep the property in good repair. I was actually the manager that helped you with the paddle board rental. Unfortunately, our beach attendant had become ill that day and went home a little early. I was notified by our Beach Bar staff that you were looking for a rental, so I stepped in to make sure you could still rent some paddle-boards. I am glad to hear that our night auditor at the front desk was very helpful to you, and also that you enjoyed the breakfast. I am sorry to say that I must take note about your comments of our beach bar staff. Our staff at the beach bar is composed of seasoned veterans, who have been continually praised over the years for their outstanding work and tireless effort in keeping all of our customers satisfied during our extremely busy summer months. I’m sorry that your husband happened to be on the phone at the time, but it is simply unacceptable to bring your own drinks into our beach area, or any other bar in the State of NH. This state law is posted in 5 distinct locations throughout the beach area. If the signs are missed or ignored, our staff is obligated to advise guests immediately of NH State liquor laws. We have no way of knowing what is in any cup brought from outside sources, and because of this it is a State Liquor Law to forbid any and all outside beverages in the entire licensed beach area, and it needed to be addressed immediately. You also noted in the review that it was raining while you were at the restaurant. When it rains we close down sections that are uncovered. Thank you for posting a review.

Kyle Parisi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laconia
2.4 mi away
The Naswa Resort
The Naswa Resort
#1 of 13 in Laconia
476 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
324 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Landmark Inn
The Landmark Inn
#13 of 13 in Laconia
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites at Lake Winnipesaukee
3.1 mi away
Grand View Motel and Cottages
Grand View Motel and Cottages
#1 of 5 in Weirs Beach
71 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Summit Resort
The Summit Resort
#8 of 13 in Laconia
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Margate Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Margate Resort

Property: The Margate Resort
Address: 76 Lake Street, Lake Winnipesaukee, Laconia, NH
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Laconia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Laconia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Margate Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to The Margate and enjoy all the amenities expected of a first class lakefront resort and conference facility less than two hours north of Boston. Whether taking a dip in our indoor and outdoor pools, sunning on our 400 foot private sandy beach, relaxing in our whirlpool-sauna, or dining at our Gazebo Beach Bar for lunch or dinner, you are sure to find all the comforts of home.Beautifully decorated and maintained guest rooms, onsite event and dining facilities, and a skilled staff dedicated to making your stay a wonderful experience make The Margate on Lake Winnipesaukee the place to vacation in the Lakes Region.At The Margate Resort, we've gotcha covered. With 15 different room types from which to select you are sure to find accommodations that best suit your needs. All guest rooms are fully equipped with Keurig® K-Cup Coffee Makers, Green Mountain® coffee, free wireless internet, irons & ironing boards, and hairdryers. Lake and West rooms also include double-sized stainless steel mini-fridges!Choose a room in our Lake building for spectacular views of the lake and unparalleled sunsets. For convenience during inclement weather, the Lake building is connected to the amenities building by underground tunnel!For a motel style experience, choose our West building. West Beach guests enjoy quick access to our sandy beach, just steps away from your door. Many West Inland rooms have backdoors leading to our West Lawn area!Our Inn building units are generally larger than the other buildings, offer the lowest rates, and being located right next to our outdoor pool makes the Inn a great choice by most families during the summer season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your The Margate Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Margate Hotel Laconia
Margate Hotel Laconia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing