We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Margate Resort
Nearby Hotels
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Top Motel(Laconia)(Great Value!)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Half Moon Motel & Cottages(Weirs Beach)(Great Value!)
$95
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Naswa Resort(Laconia)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lazy E Motor Inn(Weirs Beach)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (771)
Filter reviews
771 results
Traveler rating
301
227
122
53
68
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
301
227
122
53
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach baracross the streetindoor poolmain buildingharry potterhot breakfastfamily suitelakeside buildingrainy dayfree continental breakfasthot tuboff seasonbagelsfood and drinkslake viewlounge chairshousekeeping staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
480 - 485 of 771 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The help at the Margate are exceptional. We had Jamie and she was genuinely pleasant, fun and efficient. So nice to be pampered and have the staff wait on you when you're lounging on the beach! Met some wonderful people. The cost of the drinks was reasonable and the food was yummy. Location of the bar and the tables are perfect! Rooms are not luxurious, but very clean and with that kind of beach, who wants to be indoors! Very nice to not have to drive home after the Zach Brown concert!
My one discontent was the area lost power for about 5 hours and the hotel had NO backup generator!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colette46052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you for the great review. It is always pleasing to hear that the staff helped to make your stay wonderful. I’m very happy that you enjoyed everything about the beach from the location and wait-staff to the food and drinks. I also hope you enjoyed the concert while in town. The power outage you mentioned actually affected half of the city of Laconia, and half of the town of Gilford, and was very unfortunate. Due to the size and layout of the resort, backup generators for each building is not feasible. However we have learned that our older style emergency lights can be replaced with newer LED style packs. Although our current emergency lights lasted the required couple of hours, we wished they had lasted longer. The LED packs will greatly extend the life of our emergency lighting during a power outage, and we have started the process of replacing all of the emergency lighting throughout the hotel. Thanks again for posting and we hope to have you back soon!

Kyle Parisi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This place used to be somewhat charming, but during a recent visit (in the height of summer, albeit admittedly on a weekday,) the dining room wasn't open and the only place to get a drink was at the outside bar, which is nicely located right on the water. The problem was this: it was pouring out there. We had intended to get massages in the spa, but the spa was locked up tight when we arrived at 3:00 p.m. and still not open the next morning at 9:00. no one at the front desk seemed to know what the spa hours were. So let's review: we were not able to enjoy the spa or the dining room. We were left with a decent lakeside room but had to go off resort to eat a nice dinner. This defeated the purpose of the trip. Also, the property overall needs an update. Long narrow corridors, old carpeting. Overall, a disappointment.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank desertqueen39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you for posting a review. Our dining room is actually only used for breakfast and private functions. You may be recalling the Blackstones Restaurant which operated in the past in our dining room, but it has been closed since 2004. Our beach bar and grill does operate and serve lunch and dinner daily in the summer, and there is covered seating, but I apologize that you did not feel that was adequate. For this reason we have partnered with numerous local restaurants and eateries in the area to provide discounts for our guests to their establishments. Our spa facility, operated by The Bodywork Cafe, is a relatively new addition to our resort, and we are still working out some of the kinks. I will be sure to talk with the manager of the spa to find a spot to post their hours or operation. We appreciate the feedback, and any opportunity we have to improve ourselves.

Kyle Parisi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Was pleased with our room and the resort, in general. Our room was small, but adequate and looked out onto the lake. The room was clean and we slept well in the bed.

I took advantage of the continental breakfast which was fine for me...not enough for hubby, who opted for the upgrade breakfast which was extra.

The resort was very nice, had fireworks at night, bonfire on the beach and a nice bar right on the beach area.

For $149 plus tax, I thought it was a good deal.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lake building, room 515, which overlooked the lake...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielleTara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for not only visiting our resort, but also for taking the time to write us a review. I am happy to hear that you were able to sleep well in your room and noticed the spectacular views. It is also good to see you that you were able to enjoy the options of a complimentary continental breakfast or a hot breakfast buffet for $6.95 with your husband. You also certainly picked a great night to stay with us and take advantage of the firework show as well as the bonfire on the beach. Thanks again for posting, and we hope to have you back!

Kyle Parisi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed in a lovely suite with 2 double beds and a single bath in large bedroom and a double bed in the other bedroom. The beds were very comfortable. The room was neat and well cared for. Service was very attentive. The hotel has a small sandy beach and a tiki bar that serves a nice lunch and cold beverages. There is a fridge in the room. TV's are not flatscreen but that's the only didsappointment! Overall The Margate is among the best values in the Laconia area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldwinger768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for posting a great review with us. I’m glad you chose one of our suites, and found the room to be exceptional. I’m also happy that you noticed the attentiveness of the service we provide, and that you were able to take advantage of the meals being served down at the beach. The beach bar and grill actually serves dinner as well. I would also like to note that we are in the process of replacing all of our older TVs with flat screens, and I apologize that the room you were in did not have one yet. At the time of your review, we only have those Inn Family Suites left to install, just because we cannot decide the best spot on the wall to mount them! Thanks again for reviewing us and it’s really great to hear that you found your stay with us to be well worth the value!

Kyle Parisi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have been going to the Margate for many years. We've stayed at other resorts in the area, but the Margate suits our needs the best. We have family members who summer in Laconia, so when we stay at the Margate, they are able to boat over to see us. They can dock there, and we all use the beach restaurant for lunch and swim at the beach or in one of the pools. Everyone, child or adult, can enjoy the amenities. Also, there are many activities in the area, a terrific outlet for shopping, and lots of good restaurants which are reasonably priced.

Room Tip: We have stayed at the Margate many times, in every location. We stay in the motel building for convenience, but rooms in the other two buildings are nicer. The rates are reasonable, the staff is very helpful, and the beach is great, as are the pools. Especially nice for families, especially when it is raining. We go at least once a year, but usually twice.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

It is always great to hear from guests that have been with us for multiple years! I am very pleased to hear that you have frequented other resorts in the area and feel ours to suit your needs the best. I’m glad that you are able to enjoy time with your family in the area, and are utilizing our docks to frequent the beach bar and grill. I am happy to hear that you are enjoying not only our amenities but all the great things the local area has to offer. We can’t wait to have you back!

Kyle Parisi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews