We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable”
Review of The Margate Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Margate Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Laconia
Grand Cayman
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

provided you get a cheap rate this hotel is very acceptable. It is rather dated, but all in good condition and our room was very clean with a comfortable bed. We had a lake facing room with great sunset view. We are in the middle of a a New England road trip and this hotel fitted the bill.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WanderingKats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your post. We are one of the only resorts on Lake Winnipesaukee that faces West. And for this reason we have some of the most spectacular sunset views in the region. During the summer months, those sunsets provide a surreal backdrop for our beach bar, and for our lakeside wedding ceremonies and receptions. While we keep the property in great condition, and as clean as a whistle, some of our guests still feel that the property is "a bit dated". This may be the truth if you compare The Margate to a brand new chain hotel built within the last few years. But overall, The Margate, privately owned, is one of the most modernized hotels in the Lakes Region. I am happy that you had a comfortable stay and hope you will choose us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    214
    109
    48
    65
See reviews for
262
196
17
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hopedale, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I picked The Margate after researching numerous properties in the Lakes Region on-line.

One of the deciding factors was that Kyle, the General Manager, has responded to almost all the reviews (both good and bad) on Tripadvisor. Great job, Kyle.

Although the property is obviously as old one, it is very well maintained inside and out.

The visitors were young, old and in between. You can visit with your best friends or your kids or, as we did, as two Grandparents looking for a relaxing vacation. It is a lively setting without being too loud and annoying. We had the beach level room that is closest to the Tiki Bar, but had no trouble with noise at night. BTW, the Tikie Bar had afternoon entertainment every day...a nice addition.

The Continental Breakfast was very good, with a lot to choose from.

We went in late August (a busy time for the Lakes Region) and would visit The Margate any time of year. We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for the Lakeside Bldg. if you plan to use the beach area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg022_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your review, and for reading many of my previous responses to other reviews! The Margate has been in my family for 60 years, and while many of the negative reviews sometimes touch a nerve, the positive ones give us reassurance that all of our hard work and dedication is still appreciated by the majority of our guests. I am happy that you are one of our satisfied customers, and we look forward to continuing to serving you in the future. Thank you again for your kind words.

Kyle Parisi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawyerville, Quebec
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Arrived Saturday afternoon they had only 1 room left, many weddings going on. Price was high for the time of year. Room itself is ok, but could use a little upgrading, stains on the carpet but seemed clean. Had to hold the toilet handle to get it to flush. Hot tub was not working and had been reported, 3 hours later it was repaired, pool temperature was great. Continental breakfast as expected. Probably much nicer in the summer where you can enjoy the beach bar and beach area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunseeker33_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for the review. Our rates on a September Saturday range from $129 to $179 depending on the room type and proximity to the lake. Our rates are routinely in line or better than other lakeside properties, most of them with less on site amenities than we offer. But you are correct in saying that The Margate is much more fun in the summer. I am happy that we still had one room left and were able to accommodate you. Thank you again for taking the time to post a review.

Kyle Parisi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My wife and I attended a wedding in Laconia in which the reception was at the Margate Resort. Because prices were so high (due to Labor Day weekend) we stayed in the Inn across the street. My wife made the reservations and was under the understanding the two nights would cost us $206 total. It turned out that it was $206 a night (after taxes). This was our mistake and I do not blame the hotel. Upon arrival check in was swift and easy and the desk clerk was pleasant and helpful. We then went over to our room. Boy was I surprised. The Inn is very outdated. Not horrible, just very outdated. I have stayed in nice hotels, cheap hotels, and cheap motels and I have ALWAYS had a fridge. There was no fridge in my room, so forget bringing things that need to be kept cool. The shower was a little scary, but I'm tough. The television wasn't big, but adequate. My complaint about the TV was that the remote was one of those cheap remotes with a power button, channel up and down, and volume up and down. Because there are a decent amount of channels (70 or 80 I think) it was difficult to go back and forth between channels. I have no problem with sleeping, however my wife found the beds to be hard and didn't get a good nights sleep. Overall I am not disappointed with the Margate Resort (as the reception was beautiful and everyone was friendly), I am disappointed with the sub-par accommodations. With all the shortcomings the Margate Inn has, it should not be so expensive... even for Labor Day weekend. If I had known this ahead of time, I would have looked elsewhere, but that is my fault.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your opinion of The Margate, however I must completely disagree with your assessment of our value. On a holiday weekend like Labor Day, a traveler to the Lakes Region should be prepared to spend anywhere from $150 to $500 per night depending on the accommodations. $350 to $500 will get a high end room, with all the bells and whistles, and will be located at a lakeside resort. A chain hotel with newly renovated rooms, off a highway and miles away from the lake, will also cost over $200 per night. Our Inn building rooms, priced reasonably at $199 per night on the holiday weekend, gives our guests the ability to use all of the amenities of our lakeside property, and stay at the same property of the wedding they will attend, while not breaking the bank. Also, our Lake and West building rooms include refrigerators, however our Inn building guests may request a FREE fridge to be brought to their room at any time. Our bedding consists of Sealy Posturepedic Pillowtop mattress sets which were purchased last year, and brand new triple sheeting duvet systems that were purchased this year. Cleanliness of our hotel rooms is always the top priority, and is one of the reasons travelers continue to choose The Margate. For these reasons, I do not believe we deserve the 2-star rating we were just given. Thank you for staying with us.

Kyle Parisi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very dated, small rooms
Beach is nice but management needs to enforce the guest only rule. The beach bar was filled to capacity with non guests and loud foul mouthed drunks. A spot on the beach away from the bar and the boats anchored off shore is recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bgavinsamdiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your review! Even though it was only for 3-stars, I see that you recently rated Disney World as a 1-star experience. For that reason I have to take your review of us as a compliment! You are correct to say that the beach should always be for guests only. We have a beach crew that does its absolute best to greet each guest on the beach and also to make sure they are guests of the hotel. While the beach is private for hotel guests only, the Beach Bar itself is open to the public. Our Beach Bar is designed to promote a calm environment, but it is still a bar, and on occasion patron(s), locals or hotel guests, can become loud. Our staff is trained to politely ask these guests to mind their manners. But we do have 1000 feet of total lake frontage, and about 500 feet of that is beach. The Margate has the most green space compared to any other lake resort in the region. As you suggested, there are plenty of places to escape. Thank you again for your comments.

Kyle Parisi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level 6 Contributor
542 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The view from our room was great....our room was a a bit dated but very clean. The plumbing here left a lot to be desired....problems with the toilet and bathtub backing up. The hotel was basically empty so we had the beach and morning breakfast areas to ourself. The bar area and boat docking area in front of the resort was closed so nothing to report about that area. The beach was cleaned every morning and evening so it looked good. I think that this resort has seen better days, but they certainly have a lovely spot to work with. Hopefully they will renovate the place siib,

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank marie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your review of The Margate. I agree that the views from our Lakefront rooms are beautiful, and one of the main reasons our guests choose to stay with us. We have invested millions of dollars over the years keeping this property in top condition, and will continue to do so while not going overboard to cause our rates to double or triple. The Margate is a great lakeside resort, and we wish to keep this great spot as affordable as possible. But thank you for noticing the cleanliness of our rooms, something in which we take great pride. Thank you again for your review.

Kyle Parisi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

currently staying here and have to check out tomorrow morning to change rooms. Have to check out at 11 and then can't check in until 4. REALLY...they offered to let us check in earlier for a price...REALLY...finally got a phone call that they will let us check back in at 2 for no additional charge. I guess we will sit in the lobby with our suitcases for three hours.

We asked if there was a microwave available and they said no problem we could use one at the front desk. When we tried to the receptionist had to take the food (for a baby) and microwave it herself. It wasn't hot enough...not too hard to figure that out so I asked her to reheat it...she acted like I had asked her to sever her right arm...she heated it so hot that I could hardly take it back to my room. If there is not convenient microwave available just let me know...I will make other arrangements.

I could go on...but I cannot wait to get out of here and if not for a family wedding we would already be gone. Needless to say we will not be back.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
This guest made an online reservation for a Lakeview room for one night. After checking in, the guest contacted our front desk to ask if he could extend the room for another night. Unfortunately we were already sold out of Lakeview rooms for the 2nd night he was asking for. The guest became argumentative with our staff and tried every way possible to convince us to just give him the room and relocate the other incoming guests to another room somewhere else on property. This would be totally unfair to the incoming guest who made a reservation and paid a deposit for a Lakeview room. When a guest makes a reservation at The Margate, they are guaranteed the room type they have chosen, otherwise we would not call it a "reservation". It is to "reserve" your room, not have it given away to someone else unfairly. We made every attempt to accommodate this guest, and we had secured a different room type to move him into for his second night. Our guaranteed check-in time is 4pm, however due to the circumstances, we promised that we place priority on him and that we would have his new room ready by 2pm. If we could have had the room ready earlier we certainly would have, but being 100% sold out the night before, we need to wait for the previous occupants to depart before we can even get into the room to clean! Unfortunately every effort we made to accommodate this guest was not good enough, including the warming of the baby food. It saddens us when guests do not appreciate our efforts, but we do understand that not everyone can be pleased. Thank you for reading.

Kyle Parisi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laconia
2.4 mi away
The Naswa Resort
The Naswa Resort
#1 of 13 in Laconia
465 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
323 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites at Lake Winnipesaukee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Summit Resort
The Summit Resort
#6 of 13 in Laconia
157 reviews
3.1 mi away
Grand View Motel and Cottages
Grand View Motel and Cottages
#2 of 5 in Weirs Beach
62 reviews
3.2 mi away
Weirs Beach Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Margate Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Margate Resort

Property: The Margate Resort
Address: 76 Lake Street, Lake Winnipesaukee, Laconia, NH
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Laconia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Laconia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Margate Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to The Margate and enjoy all the amenities expected of a first class lakefront resort and conference facility less than two hours north of Boston. Whether taking a dip in our indoor and outdoor pools, sunning on our 400 foot private sandy beach, relaxing in our whirlpool-sauna, or dining at our Gazebo Beach Bar for lunch or dinner, you are sure to find all the comforts of home.Beautifully decorated and maintained guest rooms, onsite event and dining facilities, and a skilled staff dedicated to making your stay a wonderful experience make The Margate on Lake Winnipesaukee the place to vacation in the Lakes Region.At The Margate Resort, we've gotcha covered. With 15 different room types from which to select you are sure to find accommodations that best suit your needs. All guest rooms are fully equipped with Keurig® K-Cup Coffee Makers, Green Mountain® coffee, free wireless internet, irons & ironing boards, and hairdryers. Lake and West rooms also include double-sized stainless steel mini-fridges!Choose a room in our Lake building for spectacular views of the lake and unparalleled sunsets. For convenience during inclement weather, the Lake building is connected to the amenities building by underground tunnel!For a motel style experience, choose our West building. West Beach guests enjoy quick access to our sandy beach, just steps away from your door. Many West Inland rooms have backdoors leading to our West Lawn area!Our Inn building units are generally larger than the other buildings, offer the lowest rates, and being located right next to our outdoor pool makes the Inn a great choice by most families during the summer season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Margate Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Margate Hotel Laconia
Margate Hotel Laconia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing