We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment”
Review of The Margate Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Margate Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Laconia
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointment”
Reviewed November 25, 2011

We traveled to Margate in November for a wedding. The wedding itself was wonderful and the caterer was just perfect. However, the staff at Margate were rude and unfriendly. The hotel is showing signs of much needed upkeep with outdated rooms, phones, tv's and even mold in the bathroom shower. The wedding coordinator was nice but not overly available to the bride. The table linens were terribly wrinkled and I had wanted them pressed before the reception but there was just no time. Very disappointing.
Also, the bride and groom were not given the largest room available, as promised. I guess there are no bridal suites but they were told they would get the largest corner room to make their evening special. That did not happen and they were in a room, sandwiched between other guests, no larger than the others. We also tried to get them early check in as a the reception began at 5pm but they would no guarantee that for anyone without a $50 fee. We tried to get that waived for the Bride and Groom but the did not budget.

This resort is a place many of us have gone to since we were little children and continued over the years. What a disappointment after that stay. I don't believe many of us will ever return, which is very sad. I hope the reviews that are sent will force the management to make some very big needed changes.

Room Tip: if you do go, choose the lake front rooms. The view is just spectacular at any time of year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BostonGal50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review! We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay while you were here. While our property will be sixty years old next year, we strive to maintain a clean and inviting property. Most of our guests spend their stays with us enjoying the amenities such as the indoor and outdoor pools, sauna, spa, and beach areas. While we have not yet upgraded to flat screen TVs, we spend hundreds of thousands of dollars each year to keep our rooms updated. This past year we purchased brand new Sealy Posturepedic mattresses, Keurig K-Cup coffee makers with Green Mountain K-Cups, and deluxe stainless steel refrigerators for all of our rooms.
We are also disappointed that none of the issues listed were brought to our attention before the wedding. Our wedding coordinator was available all day, most of the time in the reception hall helping to set up the favors and place cards. She was never informed that there was an issue with the tablecloths or any other issues whatsoever. Had she been notified that the tablecloths were not acceptable she would have immediately remedied the situation. We are also sorry that the bride and groom did not get the largest room available. While I am not sure what they were promised, I do know that they were given the room that they personally reserved for their stay. Again, it saddens me that we were not informed when they got to their room that it was not as they expected because we certainly could have given them the option of staying in a different room.
Our GUARANTEED check-in time is 4pm. We routinely allow guests to check in early when rooms are ready early. As a matter of fact, on the day of this wedding, 95% of our check ins ranged from 2:55pm to 3:57pm, all earlier than our guaranteed check in time. All rooms were ready by 4pm, and anyone who arrived after 4pm was checked in immediately. On busy weekends when hundreds of guests are arriving for weddings, almost everyone requests to check-in early. With a check out time of 11am, it is simply impossible to accommodate everyone who requests an early check in. Therefore we have instituted the VIP check-in option that you mentioned. This option guarantees your room would be ready no later than 1pm, 2pm, or 3pm depending on the option chosen, and also guarantees you a free night stay if we missed the chosen deadline. For this early check in service, extra time in the room, and to place you at the front of the line ahead of everyone else, we charge a fee. The program has worked out well, and those that absolutely require an early check-in are able to get it. The other option is to reserve your room the night before the wedding to guarantee that you will not have any wait on the day of your special event.
Again, we are sorry that you were so disappointed with your stay with us. We are also disappointed that these concerns were not brought to our attention while you were here as we certainly would have gone out of our way to make sure your stay was as good as or better than you expected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    211
    106
    48
    65
See reviews for
255
191
17
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melrose, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

We stayed at the Margate for a wedding. I thought that the wedding was very well done and the food was good but that was about all that was great with the Margate. The resort is VERY overpriced for what you get, especially off-season. The rooms are very dated as is the lobby. What bothered me most was how unfriendly the staff was (more specifically the staff at the front desk and whoever answers the phones.) For people that are in the hospitality business they were anything but hospitable. They were not helpful to us on the phone when trying to see if our rooms were ready. Everyone was very short and not helpful. They made the whole group feel like we were bothering them trying to check in and check out. They have a late check in time of 4pm, and you must be out by 11am. Not worth the price at all! I would not recommend this hotel for all the hassle.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Apate628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We were able to identify this guest based on her screenname, so we felt obligated to investigate the details of her stay. This guest purchased a LakeView King room as part of a wedding block, and paid $129+tax for the night. This guest was checked into her room at 3:07pm. We are sorry to hear that her stay was less than she expected. We are also sorry she feels our property is overpriced, however we feel that $129 is a very good rate at a lakeside resort on a Saturday night. We strive to stay competitive with other area hotels and believe that our pricing is in line with other lakeside properties in the area and is a good value based on the amenities we have to offer. Most hotels have either a 3pm check in time and a 10am checkout time or a 4pm check in with an 11am checkout time. Our check in time is 4pm, this guest checked in at 3:07pm, so it appears our front desk was able to accommodate her almost 1 hour early. We also allow our guests the use of our amenities even after the checkout time so they can still get the full value of what we have to offer. We are sorry that she feels she had a poor experience with our front desk staff and we are working to remedy the situation to make sure that our front desk staff is offering the best and friendliest customer service possible. Again, we thank you for taking the time to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

I have stayed at the Margate off and on for over 30 years. In the older days, it boasted rather modern rooms, a conference center, a fine restaurant, two lively cocktail lounges, most under one roof. Although the rooms are still quite clean and do offer very comfortable beds, this large resort has seen the closing of its restaurant and bars and the rooms just seem like they could use a makeover.

You will pay more to stay in one of the lakeside rooms but deals are to be had if you choose one of the motel units situated closer to the lobby or in the virtually unmarked "Inn" building located diagonally across the highway.

In the summer, there is a nice little beach and a snack and beverage area sitting lakeside. There is also plenty of parking space.

Not a bad place to stay for a night or two but it could use a little sprucing up.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewEnglandLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, December 1, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post an honest review of the property. We did close our dinner service in Blackstones Restaurant and Lounge over 6 years ago due to shifts in demand. We listened to our customers who preferred outside/lakeside dining, so we closed the indoor restaurant and expanded our Gazebo Beach Bar to serve lunch and dinner with a full menu. In the summer at the Gazebo, we serve everything from appetizers to sandwiches, to full dinner entrees right at the water's edge. In Blackstones Restaurant indoors we still serve the complimentary continental breakfast all year round and during our busy summer months we offer a hot breakfast buffet as well. In the afternoon and evening, Blackstones Restaurant is a perfect space used for wedding rehearsal dinners, bus tour dinners, and other types of banquets. What was once a hopping nightclub 20 years ago in Blackstones Lounge, now is being utilized for birthday parties, anniversaries, and other private uses for large groups who stay at The Margate.
We also offer a variety of options for guests wishing to stay with us and enjoy all the amenities that we have to offer such as indoor and outdoor pools, sauna, massage and spa services, jacuzzi, and even canoes and kayaks. With rooms available in several buildings, including the Inn building which is just on the other side of a two lane road, we have accommodations priced to fit most anyone’s needs.
Since our property opened in 1952, we have gone through four updates. This past winter we even replaced every mattress on the property and are currently looking into updating the bedding as well. Again, we thank you for taking the time to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Stayed at the Margate Resort last weekend. We arrived at 2 p.m., and thankfully our rooms were ready (amazing what an extra 50 dollars can get you ;). We stayed in "The Inn", which is located across the street from the main resort, and i think the preferred spot for wedding /party goers. Found the rooms were clean and spacious, but it's very clear that this resort needs some renovations -- the room looked like it was from the 80s. The vanity and shower/tub had some visible wear and tear. In addition, the beds were very hard (not my preference, but not a deal breaker) and the walls were paper thin.Also, spent some time at the indoor pool. Again very clean, but the chlorine smell carries through to the restrooms located outside the bar. Personally, I'd prefer the smell of chlorine over unsanitary conditions, but this smell could turn some off. The price was decent @100 off-season, which is what IMO think it should cost year round. They should use the express check ins fees ( I paid an extra 50 to check in early) to update this tired resort.

Room Tip: If you don't pay for early check in, check in is strictly at 4 p.m. They do not make concessions...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bittenbytravelbug08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Thank you for your review of The Margate. We feel your review is fair and balanced, however we feel that it is necessary for us to point out a few irregularities. Our guaranteed check-in time is 4pm which means that under no circumstances will an arriving guest have to wait past 4pm to check in. We routinely allow guests to check in early when rooms are ready early. There is no reason for us to deliberately make a guest wait until 4pm if a room is clean and ready to use. It is our goal to check guests in as soon as humanly possible, however on extremely busy weekends when hundreds of guests are arriving for weddings, almost everyone requests to check-in early. On these weekends it is simply impossible to accommodate everyone early. Therefore we have instituted the VIP check-in option that you took part in. This option guaranteed your room would be ready no later than 2pm, and also guaranteed you a free night stay if we missed the 2pm deadline. For these guarantees, and to place you at the front of the line ahead of everyone else, we charge a one time fee of $50 per reservation. The program has worked out well, and those that absolutely require an early check-in are able to get it. The Margate has been in existence for 60 years, and our guest rooms have seen 4 renovations through the years. We agree that the Inn building rooms are just about due for another decor change, but we are pleased that you noticed how clean the rooms are, even though they are a bit dated. The Margate spends hundreds of thousands of dollars per year in upgrades and enhancements. Just 4 months ago we spent over $150,000 upgrading every room on property with brand new Sealy Posturepedic Pillowtop bedding sets, so we are disappointed to hear that you did not approve of the sleep quality. Thank you again for your honest review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2011

I just booked a group of about 25 rooms here last weekend and I received positive feedback from all of them, which is not always the case. Their favorite thing about the resort was that they still had "REAL KEYS" and the staff was very accommodating to all of our guests! We will be back here again!

Room Tip: All of our group was housed in The Inn and all were happy here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UsTravel_Prof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Thank you very much for your review. The Margate has been host to thousands of groups and events over the past 60 years, some groups repeating year after year for almost a decade! Our group planners are always ready willing and able to accommodate any special requests and all of those last minute changes that can make or break the success of the event. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing your team again next year for the races!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Stayed at the Margate last weekend and contrary to the response from management seen below we DID talk to the front desk staff three different times. We showed up 3 hours before check-in at 4pm to a resort that was almost empty and were told we could not check in earlier due to the hotel being full the night before. Later on that day our friends showed up and checked in before us even though we were told we would get a call to check in. Also the front desk lady was cold and made us feel like we were a hassle. The price for the rooms is ridiculous for what you get. Stains on all the carpets, floor in room was sticky, a/c fan unit was filled with dust, TV's were from 10 years ago and in general this hotel thinks its a lot nicer than it really is. The reviews are all dead on and the excuses made from the management are typical. Instead of making excuses why don't you make some changes, clearly this place is not what guests are expecting.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank b s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
To investigate this matter, I spoke with our front desk supervisor and she distinctly remembers this guest. The guest was an arrival for a Sunday night stay in our Inn building at a rate of $129+tax, which is a great rate for a major event weekend. This was on a weekend during a major NASCAR race event nearby in Loudon NH, and The Margate was at max capacity the night before. The Margate is host to several race teams who were all at the race track by noon, so that may be the reason why our parking lots were empty when these guests arrived. For Sunday night we had to clean half of the hotel for new arrivals, most of them for a large 1961 high school class reunion event at our hotel Sunday and Monday night. Our guaranteed check in time is 4:00pm, and is clearly stated to each guest when making reservations, and it is also noted on our confirmation letters sent to every guest. We have never missed our 4pm deadline. These guests, who did not request an early checkin, arrived at the hotel at 12:30 in the afternoon and wanted to check in. We already had a list of early arrival requests ongoing, however we added them to the bottom of the list and told them we would give them a call as soon as their room was cleaned, inspected, and ready for checkin. Our front desk attempted to call the guests at 3pm, however they did not answer their cell phone. According to our records the guests checked into their room at 3:38pm. We do our very best to accommodate early checkins, however it is not always possible to get people right into their rooms when they arrive early. We always invite our early arrivals to enjoy the beach area and beach bar, or the other amenities on property while they wait. Numerous factors contribute to delays for early checkins, especially on busy weekends, and that is why we stick to our 4pm guarantee while trying to accommodate as many special needs as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardiner
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Hotel is very dated and not well kept up. Bathroom had spots of mildew on shower curtain and around the edge of the tub. The price was rediculously high considering the only thing going for it was the small beach. Do yourself a favor and pay attention to the other reviews and to the hotel responsse to some of them then find another hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CLgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
This review appears to be another spinoff of the last couple reviews so we will answer it in the same way. Our front desk staff keeps a detailed report of any trouble or special request calls, even if you just request a box of tissues to be brought to your room, it is logged. I tried to research this guest, but we have no record of anyone complaining about bathroom mildew as far back as I checked for at least the last month. Our housekeeping staff comprised of an executive housekeeper, four inspectors, and 15 housekeepers are responsible for maintaining the cleanliness of our hotel rooms. With 141 rooms on property, the ratio is 1 housekeeping employee per 7 rooms. This ratio allows us to have rock solid control over the quality of each room. As the General Manager, I personally inspect several random rooms each week, and I can tell you I have never seen uncontrollable amounts of mildew in any of our showers. Sure once in a while the grout may need to be repaired, and we have a maintenance staff on property who work diligently through repair punch lists every day. The Margate Resort is the largest hotel in Laconia, and one of the busiest on Lake Winnipesaukee. With this level of business it is a challenge to stay ahead of the upkeep, but our staff does a tremendous job. We welcome anyone to scroll down through the pages of reviews we received from this summer, during our busiest and most challenging season, and we look forward to seeing those customers again next year. As I mentioned in our responses to the last few negative reviews below, I wish this guest had sought out a manager when they were here, so that we may have helped them directly. I would love to know which room this guest is speaking of, and I invite them to contact me either by phone, or by using the contact web form on our website, so that I can find out the room number and investigate this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laconia
11.7 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
319 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Naswa Resort
The Naswa Resort
#1 of 13 in Laconia
440 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Landmark Inn
The Landmark Inn
#13 of 13 in Laconia
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Summit Resort
The Summit Resort
#7 of 13 in Laconia
154 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites at Lake Winnipesaukee
2.0 mi away
Lazy E Motor Inn
Lazy E Motor Inn
#5 of 5 in Weirs Beach
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Margate Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Margate Resort

Property: The Margate Resort
Address: 76 Lake Street, Lake Winnipesaukee, Laconia, NH
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Laconia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Laconia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Margate Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to The Margate and enjoy all the amenities expected of a first class lakefront resort and conference facility less than two hours north of Boston. Whether taking a dip in our indoor and outdoor pools, sunning on our 400 foot private sandy beach, relaxing in our whirlpool-sauna, or dining at our Gazebo Beach Bar for lunch or dinner, you are sure to find all the comforts of home.Beautifully decorated and maintained guest rooms, onsite event and dining facilities, and a skilled staff dedicated to making your stay a wonderful experience make The Margate on Lake Winnipesaukee the place to vacation in the Lakes Region.At The Margate Resort, we've gotcha covered. With 15 different room types from which to select you are sure to find accommodations that best suit your needs. All guest rooms are fully equipped with Keurig® K-Cup Coffee Makers, Green Mountain® coffee, free wireless internet, irons & ironing boards, and hairdryers. Lake and West rooms also include double-sized stainless steel mini-fridges!Choose a room in our Lake building for spectacular views of the lake and unparalleled sunsets. For convenience during inclement weather, the Lake building is connected to the amenities building by underground tunnel!For a motel style experience, choose our West building. West Beach guests enjoy quick access to our sandy beach, just steps away from your door. Many West Inland rooms have backdoors leading to our West Lawn area!Our Inn building units are generally larger than the other buildings, offer the lowest rates, and being located right next to our outdoor pool makes the Inn a great choice by most families during the summer season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Margate Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Margate Hotel Laconia
Margate Hotel Laconia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing