We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great family weekend away!”
Review of The Margate Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Margate Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Laconia
Lynn, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Had a great family weekend away!”
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Very happy with the Margate. For an older resort we thought the accomadations were nice. The Inn which is across the street was a nice place to stay even though you have to cross the street to get the the main hotel and waterfront. Our room was clean and spacious. We stayed in the "family" room with two separate bedrooms. The kids loved that they had their own beds and we were happy that we had our own king size bed. Even though the rooms are outdated the beds were very comfortable, airconditions worked fine and the room was nice and clean. We did request a small fridge that was in the room when we arrived. Each morning there was a continential breakfast served in the main building that was perfect before heading out for the day. The outside "gazebo" bar was a perfect place to have a cocktail or eat lunch or dinner. Our server, Andrea was great. She made us feel so welcome and went out of her way to serve us both days we were there. The view was perfect and being on the lake made it the right place to stay. We will be back again and will recommend this resort to our friends and family. Thanks!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyhor53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. With 15 different room types, we feel as though we can accommodate anyone. We will certainly pass your praises on to Andrea. Our staff takes pride in making sure that everyone has a great stay. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    214
    109
    48
    65
See reviews for
262
196
17
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lynn, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Always enjoy my stay at the Margate! Will go back again next year.. And, maybe an additional day. Enjoyed the Free Continental Breakfast.. Missed not getting the Beach Bar Coupon this year!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are glad you continue to enjoy staying with us. We strive to make a memorable stay for our guests to keep them coming back. We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winthrop, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

I had a three day stay I had to change to 2 day stay front desk said I would get a disct of 15 percnt in stead of 20 percent . They later informed me only the weekday could get any disct , clerk said manager could probley get disct for me to come down in the morning. I did and manager Brittny did not even come out of her cubicle to speak to us but sent a msessage through the front clerk That she could not help us ... not to mention sink leaked they put us in the part that we asked pacifically not to be in room was not worth 250.00 i had other family there that stayed 5 days and my mom stayed 3 days not the way to treat guests !!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
We are sorry that you were disappointed with the discounts we offer. At The Margate, we offer multi-night discounts, even during our busy summer season, to assist travelers in these tough economic times. This guest originally booked a 3-night weekend stay and was eligible for a 20% discount for the nights that she chose. The guest also received a confirmation letter which noted that if she reduced the number of nights on her reservation, logically she would no longer be eligible for the 20% discount. She changed her reservation to 2 nights (Saturday included), and was no longer eligible for the 20% discount. Although our 2-night discount is NOT available on weekends, we made an exception and gave her a 15% discount on her Sunday night, but informed her that Saturday night would still have to remain at the full rate. Brittany authorized this exception, but apparently this was still not acceptable to the guest who wanted to argue about it further. It greatly saddens us that a negative review had to be posted against our property even though we made an exception for this guest and saved them money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimac, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed at the Margate this past weekend and had a wonderful visit. The beach was great and the beach bar/restaurant was fabulous! We had lunch there twice and dinner once, and the service and food were both excellent. Our room was clean and spacious, with a view of the beautiful lake.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view. The sunsets are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliejyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you for posting a review. We are glad you enjoyed the Beach Bar. We will certainly let our Beach Bar staff know that you sang their praises. We look forward to you visiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We recently spent two nights here in the Inn Bldg. The kids loved the indoor and outdoor pools. The lakefront is beautiful with plenty of chairs and a great bar area. A great place for families. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydgriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are happy you and your children enjoyed your stay with us. We take pride in the amenities that we have to offer families, as well as our business travelers. We feel as though we have the right accommodations no matter what your travel needs are. We look forward to seeing you and your family in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Did not stay but had dinner/drinks at the Gazebo Beach Bar. Great time !!!!
Have to give it a 10 out of 10

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank corrinesdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you for giving us a 10. The Beach Bar is a great place, not only for our overnight guests, but also for our local customers to sit and enjoy lunch, dinner or just a drink lakeside. With daily entertainment, the Beach Bar is a fun place to be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed in the lakefront building with a great view ot the gorgeous lake. Everything met or exceeded our expectations. The beach bar was great. Loved sitting on the dock watching the boats go by. The sandy beach was clean and the water was crystal clear.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margate76, General Manager at The Margate Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We strive to exceed the expectations of all our guests. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We have the perfect setting, be it the view from our Lake Building, lounging on the beach or enjoying food and entertainment at the Beach Bar. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laconia
2.4 mi away
The Naswa Resort
The Naswa Resort
#1 of 13 in Laconia
465 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
323 reviews
2.6 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites at Lake Winnipesaukee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Summit Resort
The Summit Resort
#7 of 13 in Laconia
158 reviews
3.1 mi away
Grand View Motel and Cottages
Grand View Motel and Cottages
#2 of 5 in Weirs Beach
62 reviews
3.2 mi away
Weirs Beach Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Margate Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Margate Resort

Property: The Margate Resort
Address: 76 Lake Street, Lake Winnipesaukee, Laconia, NH
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Laconia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Laconia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Margate Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to The Margate and enjoy all the amenities expected of a first class lakefront resort and conference facility less than two hours north of Boston. Whether taking a dip in our indoor and outdoor pools, sunning on our 400 foot private sandy beach, relaxing in our whirlpool-sauna, or dining at our Gazebo Beach Bar for lunch or dinner, you are sure to find all the comforts of home.Beautifully decorated and maintained guest rooms, onsite event and dining facilities, and a skilled staff dedicated to making your stay a wonderful experience make The Margate on Lake Winnipesaukee the place to vacation in the Lakes Region.At The Margate Resort, we've gotcha covered. With 15 different room types from which to select you are sure to find accommodations that best suit your needs. All guest rooms are fully equipped with Keurig® K-Cup Coffee Makers, Green Mountain® coffee, free wireless internet, irons & ironing boards, and hairdryers. Lake and West rooms also include double-sized stainless steel mini-fridges!Choose a room in our Lake building for spectacular views of the lake and unparalleled sunsets. For convenience during inclement weather, the Lake building is connected to the amenities building by underground tunnel!For a motel style experience, choose our West building. West Beach guests enjoy quick access to our sandy beach, just steps away from your door. Many West Inland rooms have backdoors leading to our West Lawn area!Our Inn building units are generally larger than the other buildings, offer the lowest rates, and being located right next to our outdoor pool makes the Inn a great choice by most families during the summer season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Margate Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Margate Hotel Laconia
Margate Hotel Laconia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing