We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lousy customer service”
Review of Donna Jean's Diner - CLOSED

Donna Jean's Diner
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $15
Cuisines: American, Diner
Restaurant details
Californai/New Hampshire
Level Contributor
83 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lousy customer service”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I have a food allergy. I can't eat egg yolk. I asked our server to give me the breakfast, but to please fry the egg white & remove the yolk. She returned to tell me the kitchen refused to honor this simple this request. Rather, they wanted to scramble the whites. I had already informed her that I only wanted it fried, not scrambled. She refused. I then asked her what I could subtitute for the egg in the breakfast since they refused to cook it as I requested. She hen informed me that she wouldn't subtitute anything & that I should order something else. I asked her to just leave out the egg. When the breakfast arrived it was cold & tasteless,
Normally I would just get up & leave a restaurant that refuses to grant such a simple request by a customer. But we had already waited for 30 minutes to get a table. This brings up another issue...there is nowhere for customers to wait for a table. We were required to wait inside the door, causing all of us to be in the way of busboys, etc.
Frankly, our server couldn't have cared less if we were satisfied with our meals. Employee training is definately in order, as is an understanding of customer service. There are far too many great breakfast places in the Lakes Region to return to Donna Jean"s & be treated In this awful manner!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Porsche_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna R, Owner at Donna Jean's Diner, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for advising us of your recent experience at Donna Jean's. It is important to all of our employees to create a pleasurable dining experience for each and every customer and we take pride in doing our best to meet each individual's needs. Your input is important to us and has been addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    47
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best place for breakfast”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

If you've ever traveled to a small town and seen a small unasuming restaurant with loads of people waiting out front, you'll recognize Donna Jean's Diner right away. When visiting the Weirs Beach area you have to give Donna Jean's a try. They serve an outstanding breakfast that includes everything from eggs to pancakes. Be sure and try the bacon and cheese omlet, the pancakes or the French Toast and you won't be disapointed. Add a side order of sausage patties and you'll be glad you did. The service is friendly and efficient so you usually won't have to wait too long for a table. A great place to eat and a great place for kids too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenbush, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“good food fast!”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Every morning we went to Donna Jeans for breakfast. Always packed, great food, friendly staff and great atmosphere! The staff works very hard to turn the tables over, it is our 2nd year and we never go anywhere else for breakfast, see you all next year!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tammy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
281 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Took my parents here while I was I town for Mother's Day breakfast. We had the pancakes, French toast and corned beef hash. All were very tasty. Great diner food! I am sure it is packed in the summer time...with good reason. The driveway is a bit hard to get out of because of the traffic circle so make sure you really pay attention when leaving.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stagetek23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upton, Massachusetts
1 review
“Great Family Restaurant”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

My family has been coming up to the Winnipesauke area for at least 25 years and we always include a stop at Donna Jean's Diner. Great food, great location. I have found it to be a nice family breakfast spot as well although we have gone there many times as a couple too before we started our family with 3 children in tow now.
Kerry
Upton, MA

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donna Jean's Diner also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing