We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite Lakes Region restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tavern 27

Tavern 27
Ranked #2 of 83 Restaurants in Laconia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $41
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Tavern 27 is an Americana Farm to Table Tapas Restaurant and Piano Bar in Laconia NH that features all-natural, local and organic Deliciousness!! The restaurant is location on 20 acres in a 231 year old house. We maintain our own organic garden and feature many local New Hampshire and New England products on our menu. Our seasonal menu has something to please every palate, everything from steamed vegetables to grilled all natural tenderloin to crispy fried haddock from our dedicated gluten free fryer. We have an extensive Gluten Free and Vegetarian/Vegan menu, a beautiful wine list featuring very unique sustainable/biodynamic selections; our beer list includes mostly New England brews, we have a seasonal drink menu, and specials everyday. Tavern 27 is a MUST stop on your visit to the Lakes Region of NH.
Bristol, nh
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Our favorite Lakes Region restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We've been to Tavern 27 about 6 times now and each times are always impressed by the choice, quality, and presentation of the food. Everything is delicious an prepared with care. As a vegetarian who has to eat gluten free this restaurant has numerous choices - unlike most restaurants that do not have even one. My partner is carnivorous and can eat everything and always loves his selections too, The staff are really friendly and attentive, ambiance is great as are the portion sizes and pricing. I highly recommend this place and keep taking friends to introduce them to this gem.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank HikerBroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    67
    13
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Laconia, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top recommendation for restaurant in the Lakes Region”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We moved to Laconia from NY 6 months ago and have become regular diners and fans of Tavern 27. The owners and servers take time to understand each individual's preferences and allergies and work with the chef to prepare delicious and plentiful choices. The preparations are incredible for taste and presentation. Every item is creative and the portions are larger than a typical tapas. The specials are wonderful for the different days of the week. I think the prices are terrific for the gourmet fare and service they provide.

Don't wait to try this special restaurant! And definitely join their Membership Club - (amazing discounts for dining on the 27th of each month!)

We are lucky to have Tavern 27. Thank you, Ray and Leslie!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frieda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best meal in the Lakes Region”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

I can't say enough good things about tavern 27. I've lived in San Francisco and traveled the world, but I honestly think the food here is as good as anything I've had. In particular, the Cloud 9 shrimp is absolutely to die for. And I fell in love with brussel sprouts again after having them for the first time in a long time.

Seriously, if you are in the area you must stop by and check it out.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
129 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Date night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Went with the family after sking at Gunstock for the weekend. Food was very good and different. baked fish and poppers the best. Nice atmosphere for a date or adult outing. wasted on the kids. service was slow

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_OCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We came here for a new years eve special. I suppose this would be better on a regular night as most reviews rate it high. For the cost of the meals and drinks it was one of the most expensive meals and we left hungry. The waitress was very busy curt an rude as well. Service, portions and food were poor. I would not return nor recommend it- very expensive and a terrible experience.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Topping9977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eat_tapas, Owner at Tavern 27, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Quite surprised to read your expression of your New Year's Eve experience here at Tavern 27. The NYE Special you mention included the seating for live music, fireworks, a prix fix menu with additional ordering options, and a glass of champagne.

I will break down the pricing for you so that you may better understand the value of what you received for the $45/pp charge.

We had live entertainment at our Antique Grand Piano....on New Year's Eve, musicians charge a premium, we paid our musician double his normal rate.
The firework show was nearly $1000.
Plus a champagne toast afterward of Tattinger champagne.

These 3 items combined represented over half of the fee which leaves only $23 for the 5 course meal which included:
1-Mezze Cheese platter plate with Manchego Cheese, Baked Brie with Apricot Compote and Spinach and Artichoke Bites with Sea Salt Crackers.
2-Organic Brussel Sprouts with Vermont 1 year aged Grafton County Cheddar Sauce
3-Fried Oysters with Horseradish Aioli
4-All Natural Tenderloin with Black Peppercorn Sauce on Onion Haystack
5-Raspberry Cheesecake Chocolate Truffle with Fresh Raspberry

We use high quality, all natural ingredients that are not inexpensive.

Of the sold out house, there was only one table that had never dined here before. Our servers did report to us a number of belligerent incidents at this particular table to the point where one of the guests at the table initiated an altercation with another guest. This ongoing situation at this table did lend to a stressful situation for the staff, which may have been, in part, why our server may have seemed kurt. And yes, we were very busy, no denying that.

We have since received rave reviews from our guests for a great evening...emails the next day and posts thanking us for a wonderful evening of spectacular fireworks, enjoyable music and a great menu.

While we would much rather have you in the overwhelming majority of guests that recommend us, we understand, strive as we may, that we can not please everyone all of the time.

Glad to see you suppose we may be more to your liking on a regular night, we hope you will give us another try and reconsider your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavern 27 also viewed

 

Been to Tavern 27? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing