We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER NEVER NEVER”
Review of The Naswa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Naswa Resort
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Laconia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Ugh!!! What's up with this place?!?! Dirty old rooms, over-priced food and drinks, LOUD music at the supposed "beach" - tiny strip of land packed to the gills with chairs and roudy people - and angry, snappy servers, desk staff, and management. THe lady who was supposedly in charge kept glaring at my husband because he said something to the waitress about waiting for our food for 45 minutes, then she brought the food herself to our table and hissed when she put it down.

We will NEVER go back again and neither should anyone else. Horrible experience.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
6  Thank KittyB32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

468 - 474 of 498 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2011

We needed a place to stay for just one night and The Naswa was very polite since making the intitial phone call. We did not have to have a two night minimum and the room and view were great. The price was perfect but I do think the prices increase in the month of July. My husband and I went without the kids and enjoyed the staff at the beach bar but we will definitely come back with the kids to enjoy. Thanks to the entire friendly, helpful staff at the Naswa!!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joannabrdly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

I have to agree with the review below...it really seems like the Naswa is more about making money than truly satisfying its customers. Whether in the restaurant upstairs or the bar on (what the owners mislabel a) "beach," there are two many rules and so much dissatisfaction. NO free refills on soda. NO shots. NO shooters. NO doubles. "NO you cannot get onion rings with your turkey wrap, NO you can not get french fries either." NO you cannot smoke at this table. NO you cannot feed the ducks. NO drinks on the docks. NO table chairs in the water. NO you cannot have that on the rocks. NO your granddaughter cannot drink out of the tropical cup.

The service was ok, our waitress apologized for not being allowed to give us want we wanted. Things took a little while to get to the table, which can be frustrating in the sun. And nearly everything on the menu seemed extremely overpriced. $13 for three shrimp. $10 for seven wings. $ 8 for six mozzarella sticks. My burger came with a tiny amount of undercooked fries and my husbands fish and chips was smaller than expected and cold inside.

The worst part was returning to our over-priced room with a "beautiful view" of a Marina....awesome. When they say "cozy" they mean exceptionally small. And like another individual wrote below...everything seems outdated.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank detroitmcneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naswa, Manager at The Naswa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2011

To “Disappointed”

We are sorry that you do not agree with or like the NH State Liquor Commission Laws. One drink per person is the NH State Law not the “Naswa Rule”. You are right; we do not serve shots, shooters or doubles for the well being of our guests. It is clearly stated on our drink menu and on signs posted all along the bar, grill and in front of the ladies and men’s room. This gives everyone an opportunity to see our house policies and choose not to stay if they find them unacceptable. Liquor can never be taken out of a bar in NH i.e. “on the docks”. We have 140 feet of tents that have become non-smoking sections because people asked for them. You can certainly smoke on the rest of the beach and the docks.
NH State law also says you cannot feed the ducks. Yes, we know it sounds silly but if you do the ducks go poo poo in the lake and people end up in the emergency room with a terrible, painful scurvy all over their body. There is a medical term for this but on Lake Winnipesaukee it is referred to as “duck itch”. Since we are a family resort we try hard not to have the children end up in the hospital with this terrible malady.
As for all of your food issues, we sell baskets of onion rings and fries. The wraps come with Pasta Salad, Burgers with fries. Everything doesn’t come with everything. The tropical cups are for alcoholic drinks only. It would set off an alarm if the server had given your granddaughter a drink in one of those cups, this again is to ensure the safety of our guests and their children.
We pride ourselves on running a business that cares about the safety and well being of others for the last 76 years. We are not a wild party place and we realize we may not fit into everyone’s idea of a good time. We truly are so sorry that you were “disappointed” with every aspect of The NASWA. We would invite you back to experience The NASWA on us but unfortunately we know we could never do anything to make you happy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

We had a great time at the Naswa during motorcycle week! the rooms were clean and neat and the service was good and the food was great! The atmosphere was fun although there were some people at the bar who were rowdy -- but they were flagged and then asked to leave so they quit being annoying. Anyway... we all decided to try to get back there again before the end of the season.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElizabethR123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Apparently this place is run by people that dont like to laugh or have fun. We started off with a drink at the beach bar and one of the group spilled his beer. The waitress would not bring another drink until he finished off the spilt drink because the management here has decided that no one can have more than one drink at a time in front of them. Then someone asked for a shot of some type only to be told that they are not allowed to serve shots. Never been in a place like and this was supposed to be a biker ralley? .

Later that evening we had dinner in the resturant. We all had drinks (which they did not mind serving) so we thought it would be the wise thing to get a ride to another place instead of driving ourselves. They did help us out however when we returned at 11PM we decided to have another drink in their bar. At this time some female manager decided we had enough to drink. And there really was no explination but just an air of indiference.

No we were not causing any problems so this was totally uncalled for. . We are all adults and were not driving but in fact staying on one of their run down cabins so we could not understand their thinking. When we challanged them they treated us like we were on a high school trip. I can understand their thinking if we were driving but we were not. At this time we all felt very unconfortable about staying here and we fully expected them to come knocking on our door later to check up on us.

The whole experience was one that I personally have never experienced. It was not a very comfortable place to stay and the feeling we all got was lets get out of here. So bright and early we left as we did not want to spend one more dime of our money here.

We would not come back to this place as it is not very friendly and the people that run it have an attitude that doesnt make you want to come back! With prices of $350 per night my money is good anywhere!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank industrialdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naswa, Manager at The Naswa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2011

It’s such a shame that people do not know the liquor laws are different in every state. New Hampshire has strict liquor enforcement laws which many out of state visitors find unbearable. We just accept them as the way we have to do business in the State of NH.
The NH law states you can serve one drink to a person at a time. It also states that you cannot have an intoxicated person in your establishment. The fines are immense and the end result is losing your liquor license.
Unfortunately, many people never think they have had too much to drink. It is up to our employees to monitor this. They will get a fine of up to $2000 and possible criminal action against them for not following the NH State Liquor Commission Laws.
For the safety and well being of our guests we have not served shots, shooters or double drinks for the past 30 plus years. There are many establishments on Lake Winnipesaukee that also have this same policy.
We understand this may come across to some that we lack the ability to “laugh and have fun”, we hope to the majority of our guests for the past 76 years that it shows great care and concern for their well-being.
Our hospitality, of driving you to a bar a couple of miles away and then being called to go pick you up after you were refused entry, seemed to be lost. Yes, we did refuse you re-entry in to our lounge for the same reason another location that has a famous bar in Sturgis refused you.
We cannot compromise the safety of guests ever.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The people who run this place will glady charge you $5-6 for a beer, and the restuarnt had decent food but the service was terrible, my freind is still waiting for his fish dinner. suppose to have wireless connnection throughout property, but only works in their lobby, overcharge for hotel during bike week $350 a night, no thanks,

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank workingmom48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naswa, Manager at The Naswa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2011

The Makris Family and managers are sincerely sorry that your visit was unpleasant and unsatisfying. We do not recall anyone during the time motorcycle week has started be this unhappy with their stay as we were not made aware and given a chance to rectify that dissatisfaction. We would not be here for 76 successful years if all our guests felt at any point in time they were not welcomed enough to talk to a manager.
We addressed every wireless concern and every time we checked the network was very weighed down with usage but in proper working order. We do not charge for wireless and we always address it immediately as business travelers do depend on the service and we understand the importance. This week we have had so many people logged onto the network its requiring more bandwith than available.
We hope all our guests feel welcomed enough from the moment they walk into the office at check in that during their stay they can know we will address any concerns at anytime!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

We stayed at the Naswa for NASCAR weekend we had a blast! The location is beautiful the staff was friendly and accommodating. We stayed across the street at the "Inn" and had a balcony with view of lake. The room was comfortable and clean. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naswa, Manager at The Naswa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2011

We are so happy you enjoyed your Nascar weekend with us. We still have units available for this years race in September and would love to see you again! Bands are booked and ready also!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laconia
12 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
337 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#4 of 13 in Laconia
770 reviews
3.1 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites at Lake Winnipesaukee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Summit Resort
The Summit Resort
#9 of 13 in Laconia
160 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lazy E Motor Inn
Lazy E Motor Inn
#5 of 5 in Weirs Beach
122 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand View Motel and Cottages
Grand View Motel and Cottages
#1 of 5 in Weirs Beach
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Naswa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Naswa Resort

Address: 1086 Weirs Blvd, Laconia, NH 03246-1625
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Laconia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Laconia
Price Range: $79 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Naswa Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full Service Waterfront Resort w/ Hotel Rooms, Studio Suites & Cottages. Family run resort for over 75 years. Located in Paugus Bay on Lake Winnipesaukee. 1000ft of beach frontage w/ dock space and swimming areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Naswa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Naswa Hotel Laconia
Naswa Hotel Laconia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing