We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting brunch! (buffet)”

Kingston 1686 House
Ranked #9 of 14 Restaurants in Kingston
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Hampstead, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“Disgusting brunch! (buffet)”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The buffet on Sunday mornings is the worse buffet I have ever had. Food is cold and not tasty at all. The manager could care less, they have had many, many complaints, but do nothing about it!!! My family spent $100 for a lousy breakfast and would never ever go back or recommend this place to anyone. I don't understand how they stay in business.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chickie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    14
    7
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitefield, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Family Celebration at a Historical Location!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Celebrated Dad's 90th surprise birthday party and it was a huge success. Us "kids" settled on a light lunch buffet which included hot and cold sandwiches, chips, salad, and tea/coffee at a set price per person inclusive of the tip. A cash bar was available. We sat in the outer-closed patio dining room and explored the entire historic building. Service was great and we didn't feel rushed when our reserved time had passed. I can't wait to go there again! Thanks ladies for such a wonderful memory!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The atmosphere was terrible”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The food was cold, and very expensive, very small portions for the amount of money they charge. no draft beer only bottle beer and not a variety

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank janetplanet04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimac, Massachusetts
1 review
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We have been to the Kingston House in the past the food and service was always very good. I was disappointed this time and will not go back. The menu was deceiving the meal I ordered said it was served with mashed sweet potatoes when asked what side I would like I asked for season veggies. When my order came the veggies were in place of the sweet potatoes. When I asked she said you only get 1 side with your meal. Why does the menu say it is served with something when in reality it is not.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoy A Colonial Experience At Kingston 1686 House”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Recently I took a friend to the Kingston 1686 House in Kingston, NH and was very pleased with the quality of the food, the prices and the service received. I have always felt very welcomed there when I have dined and would recommend it worth the visit to anyone in the area. They are know for having a massive wine cellar collection. When dining there I usually order the Prime Rib on the rare side and have never been disappointed. Would definitely go back again and again and I have never been disappointed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluestreak46195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingston 1686 House also viewed

 

Been to Kingston 1686 House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing