We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Keene
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Keene
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgewater, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mixed Experience”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I recent stayed here for five nights. I was pleasantly greeted and the room was comfortably furnished. The television in my room was not working properly, very dark picture. The first morning i asked to have it replaced or fixed. When I returned that evening nothing had been done. I asked again the second morning and when I returned that evening it had been replaced. You shouldn't have to ask two days in a row for a tv that worked. I was gone all day each day so could not keep on the staff on this nor should I have to.

Separately, I dropped something behind the night stand so had to pull it out to retrieve the item. Behind the night stand was filthy with spilled food I hope, and a long accumulation of dust? Lets say it looked like raisins or similar and general filth.. It had clearly not been cleaned/vacuumed in months if not more. I left a note for the cleaning person to vacuum behind the stand which I left pulled out which she did. By the way I had tipped the cleaning person daily as I normally do. I did not dare to check behind the other night stand.

Breakfast was good and pleasant. The evening staff was pleasant and had cookies made. If not for the lack of responsiveness on the television and the filth behind the night stand. It had been untouched a mighty long time, I would say it was good value. IF I stay again I will move all the furniture out in the room to check for cleaning. However all in all it was a disappointment for needless reasons. This is a management problem. Someone does not care enough.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 235KenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear 235KenB,

Thank you for your review. I am very delighted to hear that your experience during check-in as well as your room presentation were pleasent. I am however, disappointed to hear the challanges that you faced while you stayed with us in regards to your television and cleanliness behind the nightstand. You can be rest assured that I will be following up with my staff with these matters. We take great pride with our excellent guest satisfaction reviews and when we have a review that is anything less, we make sure that the problem is handled appropriately. If you have any additional comments or concerns you can reach me at jprentiss@colwenhotels.com or 603-352-7616. We hope to have the opportunity to have you back with us again.

Yours in Hospitality,

James Prentiss, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    86
    32
    7
    8
See reviews for
65
63
24
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

While taking a trip to Syracuse New York my family and I Stayed here. The rooms were very clean and spacious and the hotel was in excellent condition. I attend college in Durham and accidenteft my ID at the hotel. The manager was so kind to contact the school and inform them that I had lost my ID and sent it in the mail to them. I didn't just get my ID in the envelope but it was wrapped in a kind letter from Amy the Office Manager. This hotel is absolutely one I would stay at again because they know how to treat their guests well.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brandonn_mcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for the 5-star review on TripAdvisor. I'm happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your visit and that we were able to recover your ID for you. We're happy to help! Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to hosting your next visit to Keene.

Yours in hospitality,
James Prentiss, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saranac Lake, New York
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

My family and I stay here a few times a year. (our eldest daughter attends school nearby)

While all of our visits have been pleasant - clean room, nice pool, great breakfast - our visit this past weekend was an example of exemplary customer service.

Our youngest daughter became ill during the night. The staff let us stay in our room until late afternoon, giving our daughter time to rest and recover before beginning a 4.5 hour car ride back home.

No additional fees, no hassle, just "how can we help."

What an example of compassion, empathy and kindness.


Kudos!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DarraD9225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for your repeat patronage of our hotel and for the 5-star review of your most recent visit. I'm happy to hear that our staff helped to make a difficult situation a little easier for you and your family. Our number one priority is to make you feel at home when you stay with us and to make sure your needs are met. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to hosting your next visit to Keene.

Sincerely,
James Prentiss, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rville
1 review
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This hotel was not only very clean and comfortable but the entire staff at the location was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast provided at this location by Judy was FABULOUS.... good fresh hot food, great selection and a very clean seating area despite it being so busy. She is one fantastic lady to keep the breakfast cooked, filled and the area cleaned! I would definitely use this hotel again and would recommend it to others. The location is on a dead-end road, thus there really is little to no traffic or noise. Rooms were clean and comfortable. WIFI worked fantastic.

Room Tip: Hotel is two floors. We were on 2nd floor and had no noise issues or elevator waiting time issues a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Connie,

Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to review your experience. I'm happy to hear that you found our hotel to be clean and comfortable and our staff to be friendly and helpful. I will pass your compliments along to the staff (especially Judy) and we look forward to hosting your next visit to Keene.

Best,
James Prentiss, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed here with my 16 year old daughter on from Feb. 27 to Feb 28. We came from out of state for my daughter to interview at a nearby boarding high school. In the morning, my daughter was getting ready to for us to leave for her interview and trying to make herself look her best. She has very long hair and was blow drying it with a too-thin round brush and "emergency" ensued when her hair became hopelessly tangled in knots around the brush. It seemed hopeless and I was going to have to cut her hair short to remove the brush and it would be a disaster, right before her interview. I went to the front desk and explained the situation and asked if I could borrow a scissor. The AMAZING woman working at the desk offered to help untangle the brush from my daughter's hair before having me resort to cutting the brush out and chopping off my daughter's hair, and she then came back to the room with me and spent a LONG time very carefully doing the tedious job of separating each hair from the brush and carefully snipping off parts of the brush. Eventually the problem was solved as the brush was removed and my daughter's long hair spared. This SAVED THE DAY and perhaps saved my daughter's future by allowing her to attend the interview on time and composed. Likewise all other staff we ran into in this hotel were incredibly nice and looking to do whatever they could to make the stay enjoyable. The room was clean and the value good in general, but totally INVALUABLE for the help we received in our situation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 978LisaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear 978LisaC,

Thank you for sharing about your stay with us. I am very happy to hear how well the staff treated you during your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Keene. I did hear about the situation that Amy, from our front desk, was able to assist you with. I'm glad that everything worked out well and the interview went smooth! I will be sharing your review with all of our staff on property. Amy wanted me to share with you that, "she was glad she was able to help and save the day"! Hope to see you again the next time you visit the area.

Yours in Hospitality,

James Prentiss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northeast
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed here for one night this past weekend. What a pleasant surprise! The staff was super friendly/helpful, the rooms were clean and roomy enough for 4 of us (2 adults/2 children), and despite the hotel being pretty full, the room was quiet . The pool, while small, was big enough to be fun for the kids. Breakfast in the morning was the biggest surprise - the food was hot, tasty and there was a wide variety. The desk clerk even offered to get food direct from packages for one of my children, who has food allergies, since the food is served buffet style. We would definitely stay here again. Great value for the price.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank travelnortheast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay and for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. I'm happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your first stay at our hotel and that we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to hosting your next visit.

Yours in hospitality,
James Prentiss, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
246 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This hotel has been renovated since my last stay. -- It was clean and pleasant.
I have attached a photo of the rug in a corner of my room. As you can see, it is vacuumed and clean. I stay in so many hotel rooms where there is grime in the room corners or in the hallways where the rug meets the wall. This hotel was well maintained.
There were a few "cons:"
I unfortunately had a faulty heating system in my room. I could not read the screen on the wall monitor and the heat clanked. This was a big bummer.
Also, the internet was running slowly during my stay.
The exercise machines were old - one was rickety ... maybe those will be next in the round of renovations.
There were plenty of "pros" though and it was evident that the staff in this hotel are conscientious and working hard to run a good business.
The cleanliness alone showed great attention to detail.
There was plenty of towels and wash cloths.
The bed was relatively comfortable.
Also, good water pressure and hot water.
The parking lot was well lit and felt safe.
The location was good.
The front desk staff were pleasant.
There was an employee named Chyna who was busy, busy, busy taking care of everyone's needs. She should be commended. She was pleasant and professional and was running her butt off all night.
The hotel decor was nice ... I would stay here again.
: -)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eulalia_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Eulalia_3,

Thank you for you review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear that you stay was a positive one and take all feedback very seriously. I will be sure to share your comments with our entire staff on property. I will also review with our maintenance team the short falls that you experienced with us in regards to the in-room heating and internet speed. We hope to see you again at the Holiday Inn Express Keene the next time you visit the area!

Yours in Hospitality,

James Prentiss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keene
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Keene Hotel
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Keene Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
13.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 10 in Brattleboro
571 reviews
13.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 10 in Brattleboro
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Keene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Keene

Property: Holiday Inn Express Keene
Address: 175 Key Rd, Keene, NH 03431-3926
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Keene
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Keene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Keene 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new guest rooms in 2011! There are many reasons why the Holiday Inn Express Keene, NH is the favorite place for business travelers and vacationers in Keene, NH. Area businesses include National Grange Mutual, C&S Wholesale Grocers, Smith Medical, Markem, Timken, Corning Net Optix, Liberty Mutual, and Dartmouth-Hitchcock Clinic. We are located close to Keene State College, Antioch New England Graduate School, and Franklin Pierce College.Area attractions include the annual Pumpkin Festival, Mt. Monadnock, covered bridges, Colonial Theatre, Colony Mill Marketplace, and many award-winning local restaurants. Activities include skiing and tubing at Granite Gorge, hiking, biking, golfing and shopping. The Holiday Inn Express Keene, NH features 80 spacious guest rooms with everything you desire in your travel accommodations, from pet-friendly rooms to free WIFI. From the moment you enter, friendly and knowledgeable staff will remind you why you chose to Stay Smart. So whether you are in town for business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express Keene, NH is the place to be. We are Keene's finest hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Keene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Keene Hotel Keene
Holiday Inn Keene
Keene Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing