We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful stop in Keene, New Hampshire”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Keene
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Keene
Certificate of Excellence
san francisco
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Restful stop in Keene, New Hampshire”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Clean, friendly, pet friendly restful find on my roadtrip through New England. Tucked away near a shopping center in Keene, this Hotel was so comfortable on my first pass through this area, that I made a 50 mile detour to rest there again on my way back west. When I couldn't find any agreeable hotel in Springfield, Mass., I drove to where I had stayed before and was glad I did. The next morning I drove the Mohawk trail through Vermont, which I never would have seen if I hadn't taken this detour to NH.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear N G,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. Wow! I am so pleased to hear that your stay with us was so positive that you made the trip back to see us again! I will definitely be passing along your kind words to our staff and hope that you come back and see us again soon in the future.

Yours in Hospitality,

James Prentiss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    85
    31
    7
    8
See reviews for
64
61
24
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Recently had a one night stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Keene.
As others have noted the location is a bit odd - off the main road at the end of a dead end street. Did not see a sign until you got to the property. If you don't have GPS make sure to ask for directions!
Room was very clean and well appointed. Bed and pillows very comfortable.
Breakfast was above average IMO. Nice hot coffee, sausage and gravy w/biscuits, egg, pastries, breads, pancake maker, cereal.
We did not use the pool (indoor) but did check it out. Its small so I would imagine it gets crowded easily on busy days.
Best part of the hotel was the staff. Always had a smile on their faces and ready and willing to help.
We would stay here again and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: The pool is on the first floor and there are 2 rooms directly across from it - i can't remember...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear vter,

Thank you for sharing your comments! I am delighted to hear how well your experience was with us. I will be sharing your review with everyone here on property. We hope to see you again the next time you visit Keene, NH!

Yours in Hospitality,

James Prentiss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Away from the Downtown area results in a quite nights stop off.
Room was a tad cramped although clean and well presented.
Breakfast was fine, with reasonable selection, and plentiful coffee.
What made the place was the Staff, great reception on arrival, and the next morning, with some good advice on places to go.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HMCSpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear HMCSpy,

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that the staff really made your experience a positive one while staying with us. I will be sure to pass along your positive feedback to everyone here at the Holiday Inn Express. Hope to see you again soon.

Yours in Hospitality,

James Prentiss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
267 reviews
246 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This hotel was nice and clean.
The desk staff said that it used to be a Comfort Inn.
The location was a bit odd ... down a winding road.
I would imagine that hotels are happy for GPS...that helps people find "off the beaten path" properties for sure.
: -)
Lonnie at the desk was very nice.
The lighting in the room was good. Bed was comfortable.
There was construction going on when I was there in May. (Not much you can do about that....the hotel handled it pretty well.)
There was a funky/interesting waterfall decoration in the lobby.
Bathroom counter/sink was very small and "outside of the bathroom." That is a Comfort Inn design. Makes sense with the takeover. If I had not been on business (IE..with my husband), I would prefer the sink in the bathroom.
2 washcloths, hand towels, and towels. (adequate)
Fridge and micro in the room.
All and all, a nice hotel -- I would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eulalia_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Eulalia_3,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. As we are tucked off the main road, we enjoy the peace and quiet that it brings! I will be sure to let Lanie know that you enjoyed her company. Hope to see you again the next time you visit the area!

Yours in Hospitality,

James Prentiss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia, vt
2 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We were long overdue to find a hotel as we'd driven too long for one day. We found Holiday Inn Express in Keene and they had 2 rooms available. Very clean, and well outfitted for a basic hotel. We'd stay there again but make a reservation in advance! The staff was very pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank webs4298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear webs4298,

Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted to here that your experience with us was such a positive one. I will be sure to share you comments with all of our staff on property. Hope to see you again then next time you visit the Keene area!

Yours in Hospitality,

James Prentiss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I highly recommend . Very friendly staff, clean comfortable room, high count sheets and comfortable mattress, delicious fresh breakfast, newly redone gym
Location was perfect for visiting friends and family

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Marilyn B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. I am glad to hear how well your stay was with us. I will be sure to share your review with all of our staff on property. We hope that your come to visit us again, the next time you visit Keene!

Yours in Hospitality,

James Prentiss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois
Level Contributor
217 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I spend 50-60 hotel nights a year on the road. The Keene HI is fine. Want the GM to know Amy/front desk is exceptional. Excellent employee in all respects. When you become the regional, may I suggest she would be a good replacement candidate.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kasey1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear kasey1945,

Thank you for your review. Amy is a great asset to our front desk team, she truely understands the meaning of great customer service. I will be sure to keep and pass along your comments to our executive team. Hope to see you again soon!

Yours in Hospitality,

James Prentiss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keene
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Keene Hotel
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Keene Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
13.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 10 in Brattleboro
564 reviews
11.6 mi away
Chesterfield Inn
Chesterfield Inn
#1 of 2 in West Chesterfield
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Keene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Keene

Property: Holiday Inn Express Keene
Address: 175 Key Rd, Keene, NH 03431-3926
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Keene
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Keene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Keene 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new guest rooms in 2011! There are many reasons why the Holiday Inn Express Keene, NH is the favorite place for business travelers and vacationers in Keene, NH. Area businesses include National Grange Mutual, C&S Wholesale Grocers, Smith Medical, Markem, Timken, Corning Net Optix, Liberty Mutual, and Dartmouth-Hitchcock Clinic. We are located close to Keene State College, Antioch New England Graduate School, and Franklin Pierce College.Area attractions include the annual Pumpkin Festival, Mt. Monadnock, covered bridges, Colonial Theatre, Colony Mill Marketplace, and many award-winning local restaurants. Activities include skiing and tubing at Granite Gorge, hiking, biking, golfing and shopping. The Holiday Inn Express Keene, NH features 80 spacious guest rooms with everything you desire in your travel accommodations, from pet-friendly rooms to free WIFI. From the moment you enter, friendly and knowledgeable staff will remind you why you chose to Stay Smart. So whether you are in town for business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express Keene, NH is the place to be. We are Keene's finest hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Keene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Keene Hotel Keene
Holiday Inn Keene
Keene Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing