We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Wonderful Hotel"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Keene
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Keene
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We attended an all-day event nearby and wanted to stay in the area overnight. It was too late and we were too tired to drive to our home over two hours away. We were very glad to find availability at the Holiday Inn Express in Keene, NH. The check-in process was smooth and the clerk was very friendly.
Our room was extremely comfortable, the shower worked very well and the refrigerator came in handy. Everything in the room seemed fresh, clean and recently updated. The hot breakfast the next morning was varied and delicious. The woman who handled the breakfast set-up and clean-up was wonderfully warm and charming. My husband and I gave her a hug when we left. She felt like an immediate friend!

Room Tip: Choose a top-floor room because we heard the people above us too clearly in our first-floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear Anita G,

Thank you for your kind review. I will be sure to share your stay with our staff here at the Holiday Inn Express Keene. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Yours in Hospitality,

James Prentiss

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 219 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Service with a smile! When travelin I like to stay were I feel wanted. Everyone here was super nice! Especially Amy, as I was leaving she loaded me up with bottled water before I left. It was almost 99' degrees today.

Definitely will stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atravelingbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Atravelingbear,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience with us on Trip-Advisor! We are delighted to hear that you stay was positive and I will be sure to share your kind words with Amy. Hope to see you again in the future.

Yours in Hospitality,

James Prentiss

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I was here for one night on business. It was so bad that I decided to drive 10 hours home after working at a customer site rather than stay one more night! The place was dirty. The room smelled, and I requested a new one. It was dirty still, but at least didn't smell. The AC / heat unit was noisy. There is not enough parking. It's on a dead end street in a bad area. In general, it's a place to sleep if you have to, but I wouldn't do it again. I rarely complain about anything, but this place was just bad.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Steve G,

Thank you for your feedback. I have shared your review with our management team on property and will be looking into the challanges that you pointed out. As you probably noticed, our hotel was going through some renovation to the parking lot and has since been completed. My sincerest apologies for the parking situation for one of your nights, as we did have additional spaces in our neighboring parking lot. As for your rooms I have brought these concerns directly to our housekeeping supervisors and they will be looking into this. If you ever find yourself back in the area we would be more than happy to welcome you back and I can personally assist you with your reservation. Please feel free to contact me personally if you have anyfurther feedback at jprentiss@colwenhotels.com or at 603-352-7616. I know we are much better from how your review sounds and would like the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Yours in Hospitality,

James Prentiss

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

we stayed at the end of june 2013 the hotel was under major renovations at the time. we were not aware of this so there was no pool fitness center and many carpets were torn up. we were with a lacrosse tournament so the kids were upset that there wasn't a pool . our room was very nice and the breakfast was good. I would probably recommend this hotel if you needed a room in keene.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lDLCNMEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear lDLCNMEE,

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us in TripAdvisor. I wanted to share that our major renovation work has been completed and the amenities are all available for guest use. I apologize that you did not receive word before arriving that the pool and fitness center were closed for updates. However, I am pleased to hear your room accomodation was pleasant and hope to see you again soon the next time you visit the Keene area.

Yours in Hospitality,

James Prentiss

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Holiday Inn Express in Keene may not be located in the heart of downtown, but it is a great hotel. Very clean, and the staff was very friendly. Called for extra towels and they arrived in under 5 minutes. Breakfast was great. The AC worked like a charm, and the pool is now open. Just what we needed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeTraveler038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear CapeTraveler038,

Thank you for your kind words. We were all delighted to hear about how well your stay was with us. I have passed along your comments to our entire team and are looking forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Yours in Hospitality,

James Prentiss

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The HI Express is located in a run down industrial side street a few minutes from charming foentown Keene. The hotel is being renovated, and that means some things just look awful, but will eventually be nice. For example, the old carpeting, the pulled up tiles in front of the elevator. The room had a funny odor, the safety lock had been broken off, ac was loud, beds are soft and lumpy as are the pillows. Staff is kind and pleasant and free wifi is nice. Worst night's sleep I have ever had at a hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rundeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear Rundeep,

I am disappointed to hear about your stay with us and the challanges that you faced. Our renovations have since been completed and we are pleased that our guests are enjoying all the amenities of the hotel. I know that we are much better than how your review sounds. Please feel free to reach out to my personally at jprentiss@colwenhotels.com or at 603-352-7616. Looking forward to speaking with you.

Yours in Hospitality,

James Prentiss

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed for two nights, two rooms: king and double-double, connecting, Friendly and helpful staff – they seemed to suffer from the construction that was going on to upgrade the public areas.

Once finished the place will look nice and will be good value if prices do not creep up - but will have major drawbacks from the basic poor quality of the bulding and resulting noise from neighboring rooms

The rooms were comfortable. Fridge was too loud.
Wifi was free, reliable and fast – rare in any grade of hotel these days.

We moved rooms after the first night – from ground floor to second floor – as the noise from guests walking above us was unbearable and made for a very short night.
The second floor was better – but there was still noise from the neighboring rooms – creaking floors and bathroom/water noise.

Room Tip: stay only in top floor and ask for end of hall (as long as it is not by ice machine!) to minimize no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newbay415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear newbay415,

Thank you for your comments. I am glad that you found our staff helpfull and accomodating. With our renovations set to be completed by the end of this week, we are pleased that our guests can experience brand new amenities while on property. I hope to see you again next time you visit the Keene NH area, and if you have any further questions or comments please do not hesitate to call me at 603-352-7616 or email at jprentiss@colwenhotels.com.

Yours in Hospitality,

James Prentiss

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keene
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Keene Hotel
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Keene Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#4 of 10 in Brattleboro
300 reviews
13.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Brattleboro
13.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 10 in Brattleboro
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Keene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Keene

Address: 175 Key Rd, Keene, NH 03431-3926
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Keene
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Keene
Price Range: $115 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Keene 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new guest rooms in 2011! There are many reasons why the Holiday Inn Express Keene, NH is the favorite place for business travelers and vacationers in Keene, NH. Area businesses include National Grange Mutual, C&S Wholesale Grocers, Smith Medical, Markem, Timken, Corning Net Optix, Liberty Mutual, and Dartmouth-Hitchcock Clinic. We are located close to Keene State College, Antioch New England Graduate School, and Franklin Pierce College.Area attractions include the annual Pumpkin Festival, Mt. Monadnock, covered bridges, Colonial Theatre, Colony Mill Marketplace, and many award-winning local restaurants. Activities include skiing and tubing at Granite Gorge, hiking, biking, golfing and shopping. The Holiday Inn Express Keene, NH features 80 spacious guest rooms with everything you desire in your travel accommodations, from pet-friendly rooms to free WIFI. From the moment you enter, friendly and knowledgeable staff will remind you why you chose to Stay Smart. So whether you are in town for business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express Keene, NH is the place to be. We are Keene's finest hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Keene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Keene Hotel Keene
Holiday Inn Keene
Keene Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing