We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Keene
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Keene
Certificate of Excellence
Karatu, Tanzania
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A fine place to stay.”
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Our family group stayed here for a weekend as we were attending a reunion nearby. The hotel was clean and the service, provided by friendly staff members, was very good. We didn't use the pool but did use the small fitness centre. As mentioned in other reviews the breakfast room was busy but we always managed to find a place and never saw anyone standing waiting for a table. True, HIE are bog-standard basic mid range properties and it does niggle to pay a premium rate. This hotel completely met our needs.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keenehie, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Thank you Auroraafrica for your review of the Holiday Inn Express Keene! We work hard to insure that our guests enjoy themselves while staying with us. We pride ourselves on cleanliness and friendly service. We greatly appreciate your business and look forward to the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    86
    32
    7
    8
See reviews for
65
63
24
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tarrytown, New York
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I was there July 4th weekend. I was visiting relatives in Putney VT. I usually stay at the HIE in Brattleboro, but this location was a lot cheaper. A bit further than Brattleboro, but worth the savings. The room was just refurbished and it was beautiful. New carpet, modern furniture, flat screen TV, nice... As usual, great breakfast, and friendly staff. The cookies weren't bad either....

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keenehie, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Ray55,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Keene for your family reunion. We know that you have many accommodation choices in the area and we greatly appreciate your business! We are glad that you enjoyed our newly redesigned rooms and our breakfast. We are very proud of the property. Thank you again! We look forward to accommodating you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templeton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Very helpful and friendly staff! Nice pool/hot tub. In a town with several other nice hotels you get a lot of bang for your buck here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KurdtLives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keenehie, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Dear KurdtLives,

Thank you so much for your review and your kind words for our staff! We work hard to ensure that you find excellent value, cleanliness and service at the Holiday Inn Express Keene. Please feel free to contact hotel management directly if we can be of any assistance to you in the future! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Setauket, New York
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Keene on an overnight visit to the Keene, NH area. The hotel was clean, easily accessible with friendly staff. My daughter and I stayed in a room with double queen sized beds that were very comfortable. A large television and good air conditioning were definitely a plus in our stay here. Perhaps the best thing about the hotel is that they offer a FREE breakfast each morning. This is not just rolls and coffee, but a FULL breakfast of pancakes, eggs, sausages, cereal, biscuits, muffins etc. Definitely an advantage to the weary traveler. The price I paid was very reasonable, I thought, given the included meal. There is a pool for patrons on the first floor and a gym as well. The only drawback to the hotel was the location. It is outside of the main area of Keene, in an spot that looks like recent retail development on what must have been open land. I was without a car for the day, and there was really nowhere to walk except to the stores about 1/2 mile down the road. The hotel offers no outdoor seating where I would have liked to sit in the nice weather and read. At one point, I sat on a most uncomfortable rock to relax somewhat unsuccessfully. I suppose, however, that most people who stay at the Holiday Inn are on the go and not looking for a leisurely stay. I recommend the hotel very highly despite this.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susangill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Yep, Holiday Inn Express. What's more to say? Same old, same old, overpriced for what you're really getting, just like every other HIE.

Some people we paying $169/night. Wow. We happened to find a little blurb on the internet mentioning $99/Night (and then getting the clerk to give us that rate), so it wasn't as painful as the rack rate. I'm sorry, but there's just no way this hotel is worth $169/night. Even at $99/night, I felt a bit overcharged, but what the heck.

Yes, it was clean, everything worked in the room, and I slept well. Was it $99 worth? Not really. Certainly not $169 worth. The place was packed, however, so in the morning, the breakfast area became annoyingly crowded quickly.

Inexplicably, all lodging seems to be overpriced in Keene. I didn't find it much of a town, really. Not bad, just not a place you'd think should be so pricey.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadside_US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keenehie, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this review, July 18, 2011
Dear Loungelistener,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback received. We hope that your next trip to Keene will be more enjoyable. Please feel free to contact hotel management for specials and promotions should you find yourself in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

The hotel is in a quiet location. We were given a goody bag at check in of water, pop corn, and health bar. It was very nice. They had out cookies in the evening. Breakfast was good. The woman who hosted in the morning took great care and everything was just right. The scrambled eggs were terrific. The muffins were also good and better than you usually find.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshine60820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpresskeene, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
We think it's great and are glad you agree. We made a few changes in staff and our new breakfast server Judy is fantastic! We have gotten so many compliments on her and the food when she works. We also have a brand new automatic pancake machine which guests love as well. Thanks for taking the time to write your words of praise.


Frank LaGrande
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

The folks at this hotel are very nice and friendly, and the property has recently been updated. Would I stay here again? Only if I had to stay in Keene again. That being said, you will most likely be satisfied if you stay here, but you won't be impressed in any way.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank No_junkmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keenehie, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this review, June 25, 2011
Dear No_junkmail,

Thank you so much for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express Keene. Thank you for giving us 4 and 5 stars on value, cleanliness, service and sleep quality! We constantly strive to insure our guests are comfortable and happy. We have recently completed a full, million dollar guest room redesign to bring our rooms into the 21st century. If there is anything we can improve upon we would love to hear about it. Please feel free to contact us any time. Thank you again for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keene
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Keene Hotel
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Keene Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 10 in Brattleboro
413 reviews
13.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
13.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 10 in Brattleboro
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Keene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Keene

Property: Holiday Inn Express Keene
Address: 175 Key Rd, Keene, NH 03431-3926
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Keene
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Keene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Keene 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new guest rooms in 2011! There are many reasons why the Holiday Inn Express Keene, NH is the favorite place for business travelers and vacationers in Keene, NH. Area businesses include National Grange Mutual, C&S Wholesale Grocers, Smith Medical, Markem, Timken, Corning Net Optix, Liberty Mutual, and Dartmouth-Hitchcock Clinic. We are located close to Keene State College, Antioch New England Graduate School, and Franklin Pierce College.Area attractions include the annual Pumpkin Festival, Mt. Monadnock, covered bridges, Colonial Theatre, Colony Mill Marketplace, and many award-winning local restaurants. Activities include skiing and tubing at Granite Gorge, hiking, biking, golfing and shopping. The Holiday Inn Express Keene, NH features 80 spacious guest rooms with everything you desire in your travel accommodations, from pet-friendly rooms to free WIFI. From the moment you enter, friendly and knowledgeable staff will remind you why you chose to Stay Smart. So whether you are in town for business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express Keene, NH is the place to be. We are Keene's finest hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, IHG, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Keene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Keene Hotel Keene
Holiday Inn Keene
Keene Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing