We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little hard to get to, but worth the trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Keene
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Keene
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis,Mn
Level Contributor
90 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Little hard to get to, but worth the trip”
Reviewed June 10, 2011

The motel is close to shopping, places to eat and even movies theaters. what more could you ask for. The staff is friendly and will go out of their way to make your stay pleasant. The only down side is it is almost at the end of the access road. There does not seem to be much parking until you go around the back of the building, Every one will take all of the places in the front. The breakfast cover cereals, hot rolls, pancakes, muffins, coffee and juices. It can get a little crowded in the morning, but seating never was a problem. Did use a sound conditioner to cover up the noise during the night

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank business-traveler-Mn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpresskeene, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
I want to thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay at the Holiday Inn Express. The hotel has just finished a $1 Million redecoration of all guestrooms, hallways, and recreation areas of the hotel and we love to hear positive feedback. I was happy to see you enjoyed our breakfast as well. We work hard to make our breakfast as fresh and high quality as possible. We would love to have you stay with us again!

Frank LaGrande
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    84
    31
    7
    8
See reviews for
64
61
23
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Howell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Our stay included 4 quiet, calm, relaxing weekdays & 2 not-so-great weekend nights thanks only to the deluge of 30+ kids, parents & their dogs. (No wonder pool was closed "due to a chemical imbalance" the Monday they all left). Nothing like stepping over wall-to-wall p.j-wearing, barefooted adolescents in the breakfast room, which is why we opted to breakfast in our rooms those two mornings.

The clientele aside, the hotel itself provided great amenities. It's set well off the main road on dead-end street. Very quiet - from traffic that is. Walls tend to be a bit thin, but screaming kids can penetrate anything. :(

Hotel staff/engineer immediately obliged when I asked if a.c. could be jacked up in fitness room (which I did use every day). I just wish someone would clean the soot & mold from the vanes on the air vent in the fitness room. Not very healthy to breathe that stuff in especially when you're exercising. And it would be a real improvement if they could either replace or fix the heat/ac units in rooms or at least the one in the room where we stayed. Extremely, extremely noisy to the point that we had to keep it off most of the time.

Other than that, they immediately replaced a broken lamp in our room and were overall very attentive, responsive, obliging and professional at all times. Spot-on wake up calls. WiFi initially sporadic, which may have been due to high-wind conditions. But they had it back up to speed within the day. Would definitely stay again. Rates were excellent. Make sure to ask if the booking agent can offer you a better deal than the quoted rates or a "manager's special".

Thanks to this and another pleasing stay at a HIE in N.J., I now make it a point to seek out HIE wherever & whenever I travel because I know it will provide all the necessary amenities, a clean, more-than satisfactory stay, good sleep and reliable staff.

**Traveler's Tip: If you're planning on staying here or any hotel for that matter, I think, don't book the first floor. (A) too close to chlorine-scented pool; (B)that's where the hotel usually books families w/kids & or pets; and (C) speaking of kids...try and find out if hotel has booked large groups w/kids for time you're requesting. If at all possible, book another date.**

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hikinghag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpresskeene, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
Thank you for sharing the good and not so good parts about your stay. We love to hear when we get it right , but we also want to know when it's not right . It's then when we can identify the issues and work with our staff to improve. That was a particularly busy weekend with youth hockey groups and their families and it was also school vacation here in NH. The pool had been used so much the entire week that we were constantly trying to keep the pool at safe levels for swimming. By Monday, we had to close pool to get it back to normal. Thanks for your patience, understanding, and willingness to share!

Sincerely,

Frank LaGrande
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Nice place, clean, friendly staff and great breakfast. The pool could have been better as they had 2 birthday parties on Sunday with 30 kids. The pool was cloesed Monday becasue it was not swimable.

I would return.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westportfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpresskeene, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
We appreciate your kind words are very happy you enjoyed your stay. The weekend you stayed was the end of school vacation here in NH and there were 2 birthday parties on Sunday. The pool got a lot of use that day! We love to host pool parties, but we may try not to schedule any the week of school vacation again. Thanks and we would love to see you again in the future.

Frank LaGrande
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, NY
1 review
Reviewed December 13, 2010

Traveling as I do, often, for business I see a lot of hotel staff that vary in kindness, helpfulness and competence. Some hotels with so called, "four-star" ratings, such as the Hilton I recently stayed at in New York must be just based on the quality of carpeting, fixures, etc., because the staff was threadbare to say the least.
However, in booking a more economical room in the Holiday Inn in Keene, I was treated like a decent human being should be: with respect, attention to detail, and kindness. The room was clean and well furnished; I also enjoyed the breakfast spread. Overall, a much better experience than I usually expect.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleek_shades26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexpresskeene, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this review, January 13, 2011
Thanks! Our staff is committed to provide the highest quality service, and like you said, treat guests like real people. We take the time to listen to and anticipate guest's needs and wants and make sure to follow through. We look forward to having you visit the next time you are in Keene!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell Junction, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2010

I have stayed at this location several times, most recently for the Pumpkin Festival in Keene. It's a great location! When I realized I'd forgotten to pack socks for the trip, I was able to run practically across the street to Walmart to pick some up. The staff was very friendly, and my room was spotless. You can tell the management has a real attention to detail. I will definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna71775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keenehie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this review, December 15, 2010
Thanks for your kind words, Joanna. We love to hear when we get it right. We work hard to please all guests and love to hear the positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2010

Every year, my husband and I stay at the HI Express in Keene for the Jaffrey fireworks festival. Whenever we stay, we find that the rooms are clean, comfortable, and the staff is super friendly. My husband loves the cinnamon buns in the morning!
I always get a good nights sleep whenever I stay here, and the staff is usually able to give us a late check out. Downtown Keene is a good time, too.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dansquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keenehie, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this review, November 23, 2010
Thank you so much for your review! The Jaffrey fireworks are one of the many great events in the area. It is our pleasure to accommodate you anytime you visit Keene!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed November 12, 2010

This hotel was in a great location -0ffered superb service clean room and was pefrect for my business trip. The room was bright, clean and spacious. Tbe business center allowed me to meet a deadline that I had. I enjoyed the breakfast the next morning. The Holiday Inn Express is in a great location- near shops and restaurants. The parking was great. This hotel was perfect for my business trip. I will be back!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMbusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keenehie, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Keene, responded to this review, November 15, 2010
Thank you so much for your feedback. We really appreciate your business and we would love the opportunity to accommodate you again for future business trips to the Keene area. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keene
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Keene Hotel
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Keene Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 10 in Brattleboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
13.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel...
#2 of 2 in West Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
11.6 mi away
Chesterfield Inn
Chesterfield Inn
#1 of 2 in West Chesterfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Keene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Keene

Property: Holiday Inn Express Keene
Address: 175 Key Rd, Keene, NH 03431-3926
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Keene
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Keene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Keene 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new guest rooms in 2011! There are many reasons why the Holiday Inn Express Keene, NH is the favorite place for business travelers and vacationers in Keene, NH. Area businesses include National Grange Mutual, C&S Wholesale Grocers, Smith Medical, Markem, Timken, Corning Net Optix, Liberty Mutual, and Dartmouth-Hitchcock Clinic. We are located close to Keene State College, Antioch New England Graduate School, and Franklin Pierce College.Area attractions include the annual Pumpkin Festival, Mt. Monadnock, covered bridges, Colonial Theatre, Colony Mill Marketplace, and many award-winning local restaurants. Activities include skiing and tubing at Granite Gorge, hiking, biking, golfing and shopping. The Holiday Inn Express Keene, NH features 80 spacious guest rooms with everything you desire in your travel accommodations, from pet-friendly rooms to free WIFI. From the moment you enter, friendly and knowledgeable staff will remind you why you chose to Stay Smart. So whether you are in town for business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Express Keene, NH is the place to be. We are Keene's finest hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Keene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Keene Hotel Keene
Holiday Inn Keene
Keene Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing