We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have done renovations Is better than some old Reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Keene Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Keene
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Have done renovations Is better than some old Reviews”
Reviewed October 3, 2008

We received a fairly good price for this hotel from the website for the hotel. ($116) I was worried about staying here from the reviews but it really wasn't that bad. In fact, it was fine. I can tell that they have a little moisture problem but they try hard to take care of it. I have alot of allergies and I wasn't bothered here. Mold is the worst for me but like I said, it wasn't bad. The breakfast was hearty but kind of boring and not the best I've ever had. Coffee was good .. The rooms were clean and I liked the bedding. It wasn't that crappy polyester bedcovering you get at some hotels. Ugh! It was nice cotton stuff. Overall, not a bad place. I know that Keene has limited places to stay so there is not much competition but I felt like they were trying.

  • Liked — Good bedding. Good servers in dining room.
  • Disliked — boring breakfast
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hellomotto23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    167
    84
    51
    28
See reviews for
207
161
37
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Waynesboro, Va.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2008

My wife and I have stayed at other motels in the area. This is by far the better. NEVER a problem even thought they were doing renovation. We will be staying there this fall as well. We live in Va. and try to visit every other year atleast. New Hampshire and Vermont are a pleasure to visit and I tell everyone I know, that they need to visit atleast once. I'm sure they would want to visit again.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VagentWaynesboro_Va_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Shore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2008

I stay here at least once a month while on business in Keene. They are still doing renovations, which is a major bummer, but the rooms that are done are decent. The free breakfast is average, but you can order a delicious omelet for just a few dollars. The people who work there are VERY friendly and accomodating; I'm always impressed with that. My only problem is that the hotel is ALWAYS busy--they have events every weekend, and for some reason every time I've been there there are groups of children/teenagers staying that same time. The hallways are EXTREMELY loud--you can hear the door next to you slam like it's right next to your head. Aside from that, the hotel is fine--except I am always surprised they charge so much for their rooms!

  • Liked — Great location--close to food/business; fridge and microwave
  • Disliked — Loud children running in halls every time I've been there.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Actrss16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary NC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2007

Guest rooms were recently renovated, with new bedding, carpets and fixtures. Large room with refrig. Wireless Internet connection worked fine. Staff was helpful in locating places around town. Restaurant served hot breakfast in the morning with a decent amount of choices. Restaurant service was friendly and prompt. I would stay here again if returning to Keene.

  • Liked — Good service, renovated rooms, quiet
  • Disliked — Location was not convenient for pedestrian access to restaurants, etc.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank supertheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, New York
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2007

Went to the Nascar race...and after we drove until we got tired....and we happened to decide to pull into this place. We got a rate of $99....which the guy at the front desk said he was cutting us a break since the place wasnt very full. I wouldnt pay anymore than that.
They are doing some remodeling....and it needs it. I know it is a major undertaking to remodel several rooms....but there is construction equipment all over the place...piles of sheetrock, mattresses, and other things in the halls. Piles of dirt covered with tarps next to our entrance. None of which was a problem...but I would of cared a little more if I was paying their "regular price" ....whatever that is.
The halls do smell of some damp, mildewy odor.
Our rate did come with the free breakfast buffet.....very basic. There was a sign by the food that you are only allowed 1 trip through the line...and if you wanted more, then you pay........and you almost get the feeling that they are actually watching. Again, I dont care....but if I was paying good money, this would of annoyed me alot more.

  • Liked — convenience
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ELMny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level 6 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2007

We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting friends in town. The hotel is improving all rooms. I asked for the second floor and was given that. The room had a king size bed (the holiday inn express down the block only has queens and doubles). The room looks like it was redone recently. There was a micro, small refrigerator and free wireless internet in room. There were also 3 laptops in lobby for general use. The hallway on the first floor has a slightly damp smell, but not in the room. The breakfast was a buffet was just ok, but the service for coffee is slow. This was a Nascar weekend, so the hotel had many people there. The hotel was a nice alternative and half the price of the Holiday Inn Express. The rate went down 2 weeks prior to stay, so I booked and cancelled my previous rate. I did not use the pool.

  • Liked — The price
  • Disliked — The dank smell on the first floor lobby
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hills
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2007

This hotel is on the edge of the town, well set back from the highway, and therefore reasonably free of traffic noise. It has no particular features to recommend it, but it proved adequate for our one-night stay, albeit a bit pricey.

We were unfortunate enough to be placed in a smoking room (not the hotel’s fault; we arrived without a reservation late in the evening, and got one of the last rooms available). The room reeked of tobacco, even after we had opened the large window. If this sort of thing bothers you, be sure to get a non-smoker.

The complementary breakfast was above-average, with a well-stocked buffet and plenty of good hot coffee.

If you are passing through Keene and are not fussy about your lodgings, you’ll find this hotel perfectly acceptable. But if you are prepared to shop around, you’ll probably find better elsewhere in the town.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottieTheHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keene
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Keene
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Keene Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 10 in Brattleboro
410 reviews
11.7 mi away
Chesterfield Inn
Chesterfield Inn
#1 of 2 in West Chesterfield
306 reviews
13.7 mi away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#4 of 10 in Brattleboro
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Keene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Keene Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Keene Hotel
Address: 401 Winchester St, Keene, NH 03431 (Formerly Best Western Plus Sovereign Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Keene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Keene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Keene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Plus Keene Hotel! Enjoy four distinct seasons at our Best Western Keene, NH hotel, so whenever you visit New England, you’ll be assured a fantastic time. For an extended stay in Keene, NH, you deserve a property that’s gorgeous and a staff committed to making your stay pleasant. Our full service hotel features an indoor heated pool, an onsite restaurant, incredible fall foliage and a full, free hot breakfast to start every morning right. The generous buffet spread features sizzling waffles, fresh fruits, sweet pastries, yogurt, juices and 100% Arabica coffee. Hotels in Keene are known for hospitality, but we break the mold with the best service in town. Whether its sports tournaments or the Pumpkin Festival that brings you to this part of New Hampshire, rest assured you’ll be treated like royalty here. Keene State College is a big draw, and we welcome students, their loved ones and visiting professors year-round. From football games to graduation, where you stay plays a big part in how much you enjoy your vacation. If you’re looking for motels in Keene that combine value with quality, that’s exactly what we promise. Sports are a way of life here, and we welcome players and fans alike of soccer, baseball, lacrosse, softball and basketball. Our Keene hotel can accommodate groups, so traveling together has never been easier. When you stay with friends and family, your trip is easier and more fun. Business travelers are also on the lookout for hotels in Keene that provide a quiet space to take care of work duties. We welcome employees of NGM, Cheshire Medical Center, PC Connections®, C&S Wholesale Grocers and many other local businesses to our Keene hotel. With convention and banquet facilities, we are proud to host blood drives, weddings, business meetings and other events. A superior location means getting to work is easy, and there will be plenty of time left over for leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Best Western, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Keene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Keene
Keene Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing