We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a weekend in Keene”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Keene Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Keene
Hollis Center, Maine
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“a weekend in Keene”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

1st visit in many years. Received a nice goody bag for being a Rewards club member. Pool was under repair. Bfast was good. Room generally clean but in need of cosmetic upgrade and deeper cleaning. Rest/pub nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank khconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTBESTWESTERN, Owner at Best Western Plus Keene Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate all of our loyal Best Western Rewards members and show our appreciation at every opportunity we get. We are excited you enjoyed our Full Hot Breakfast Buffet included for every guest seven days a week. We hope to see you again soon at the Best Western Plus of Keene.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    161
    81
    48
    27
See reviews for
191
155
34
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We drove 38miles out from our children to stay here because of the good reviews and the indoor pool for our grandson to use on spring break. We were told the pool would be repaired by the 8th and we were not scheduled to arrive till 13th. Upon arrival told would be ready on 16th and then on 17th. Not finished when we checked out. The facility is old, there was a huge hole in the carpet, bathroom measured a whopping 3.5 by 4.5 feet and I fought spiders, note I said plural, spiders when I went to the bathroom. Coffee in lobby was cold left overs from breakfast. I will say that the breakfast was good and the same as all the breakfast now offered by motels. Very disappointing dark and dirty facility, the pictures posted certainly don't reflect accurately.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcintyrerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTBESTWESTERN, Owner at Best Western Plus Keene Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
I am sorry to hear you were not 100% satisfied with your past stay. As you mentioned, our guests continuously applaud the experience we provide at the Best Western Plus. I am confident my personal elucidations will convince you to return to our hotel. I assure you we will provide a pleasurable hotel experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
388 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The hotel is dated, the rooms are musty and the service is terrible. Came into the hotel to find the girl at the front desk texting on her phone. During the check in process she kept talking to another employee rather than giving her undivided attention to her guest, me. Checked into the room and found it to be musty and over all not clean. Dust in the tracks of the sliding glass doors and a bent metal bar instead of lock that works to secure it. Went to the front desk and told the girl of the issues with the room. She didn't say a word to me, just huffed and moved me to another room. This room was as bad as the first. Went back to the front desk and told them I was not going to stay. Still got charged for the room.

Both rooms faced the highway and you could easily hear the cars passing by.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawaiiantraveler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTBESTWESTERN, Owner at Best Western Plus Keene Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
We appreciate your critical review and welcome criticism to assist us in creating the perfect hotel experience. Any stay at the Best Western Plus of Keene that is deemed unsatisfactory buy our guests will be given imperative compensation. We implore you to stay at our hotel upon your next visit to Keene, and we guarantee a wonderful hotel experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Keene, NH doesn't have many options for a traveler that needs to stay within a government per diem allowance, but Best Western is one of them. This hotel had 2 floors and no elevators. The 2nd floor corridors were not contiguous like the first floor, so if you go up the wrong staircase, you won't get to your room unless you go back to the 1st floor and find the right staircase. They are well-labeled to avoid confusion, however.
The AC didn't appear to be functional, and it was quite loud. I had to open the sliding door to get cool air in the room. In closing the door for the nite, I realized the lock was kind of cheesy (worn?) and the security bar was missing, so I slept with one eye open.
The hotel only has foam pillows and the towels were fairly thin. The bathroom faucet nozzle was a spray type like you would find in a kitchen sink, and really didn't have sufficient pressure. Which probably was a good thing, because the sink drain was clogged and drained very slowly.
There was a love seat in the room that had a pull out bed, but the frame must have been damaged, as it wouldn't close completely. This resulted in the sofa cushions having a downward slope making it tough to sit on without sliding off.
On the up-side, the room is equipped with a dorm size refrigerator that has a mini freezer. I would have to say that it was better than sleeping in my car.

Room Tip: There was a lot of road noise, so you may want to get a room on the back side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james_the_walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTBESTWESTERN, Owner at Best Western Plus Keene Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed 3/30/13 for one night.
The room smelled awful. At first thought it was just stuffy from not being used. It got worse by the hour. In the room from 9pm and left at 5 am for Easter service.
We both had headaches and congestion. I think it is mold or mildew in the room, ? heater.
The staff at the hotel was nice but I would never stay there again.
They offered us a 50% off night to give them another chance. Seriously, they thought I would pay to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AetuRn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTBESTWESTERN, Owner at Best Western Plus Keene Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your views. We welcome your constructive feedback to help us to deliver the best service for our guests.I am very disappointed to read that you did not have a satisfactory experience during your past stay with us. We hope you give another chance upon your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Wentworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2013

They have a great hotel here and the bar next door is nice to have too, they have great food and service and huge selection of beers. We have stayed here for work twice already and we will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattcyree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTBESTWESTERN, Owner at Best Western Plus Keene Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We are delighted to read your review on TripAdvisor. As you mentioned we accommodate all types of travelers. A family vacation, or a business trip we have the amenities to make you feel at home. Thank you again we appreciate your business and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stay at a lot of Best Westerns, and this was one of the best we have stayed at. Room was very comfortable, service from the front desk was great, and we very much enjoyed our overnight there. Great value for the money.


  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank W Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KTBESTWESTERN, Owner at Best Western Plus Keene Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for writing the fantastic review. As you mentioned our staff goes above and beyond for all of our guests. We pride ourselves on leading the industry in superior customer care, and being the best value in the area. We hope to see you soon, thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keene
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Keene Downtown
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Keene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 10 in Brattleboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
13.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel...
#2 of 2 in West Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Keene NH
Days Inn Keene NH
#5 of 6 in Keene
3.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Keene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Keene Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Keene Hotel
Address: 401 Winchester St, Keene, NH 03431 (Formerly Best Western Plus Sovereign Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Keene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Keene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Keene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Plus Keene Hotel! Enjoy four distinct seasons at our Best Western Keene, NH hotel, so whenever you visit New England, you’ll be assured a fantastic time. For an extended stay in Keene, NH, you deserve a property that’s gorgeous and a staff committed to making your stay pleasant. Our full service hotel features an indoor heated pool, an onsite restaurant, incredible fall foliage and a full, free hot breakfast to start every morning right. The generous buffet spread features sizzling waffles, fresh fruits, sweet pastries, yogurt, juices and 100% Arabica coffee. Hotels in Keene are known for hospitality, but we break the mold with the best service in town. Whether its sports tournaments or the Pumpkin Festival that brings you to this part of New Hampshire, rest assured you’ll be treated like royalty here. Keene State College is a big draw, and we welcome students, their loved ones and visiting professors year-round. From football games to graduation, where you stay plays a big part in how much you enjoy your vacation. If you’re looking for motels in Keene that combine value with quality, that’s exactly what we promise. Sports are a way of life here, and we welcome players and fans alike of soccer, baseball, lacrosse, softball and basketball. Our Keene hotel can accommodate groups, so traveling together has never been easier. When you stay with friends and family, your trip is easier and more fun. Business travelers are also on the lookout for hotels in Keene that provide a quiet space to take care of work duties. We welcome employees of NGM, Cheshire Medical Center, PC Connections®, C&S Wholesale Grocers and many other local businesses to our Keene hotel. With convention and banquet facilities, we are proud to host blood drives, weddings, business meetings and other events. A superior location means getting to work is easy, and there will be plenty of time left over for leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Best Western, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Keene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Keene
Keene Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing