We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Keene Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Keene
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Best Western for the Keene Pumpkin Festival. We have been attending the festival for many years and have stayed in most of the chain hotels at one point or another. Best Western was by far our favorite. The staff was very accomodating, understanding we would be in town for the day, they provided are key to use at 11:00am, so we did not have bother with it when we got home. The room was clean and updated. We had a very comfortable king bed and the hotel had multiple shuttles running to downtown. They also provided a complimentary breakfast in the morning and it was not just muffins, it had eggs, french toast, sausage and potatoes as well as muffins and bagels, while it was not restaurant quality, it did the job.
The restaurant/pub was great, we got a late dinner after the fest, the food was decent and the place was crowded with TV's, pool tables and a band playing.
Most hotels in Keene are marked up about 4x the normal price for PumpkinFest, this is common practice, but overall we found this one to be the best for an overpriced weekeend and we will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JR123connecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSKeene, General Manager at Best Western Plus Keene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2011

Thank you for your review.It is wonderful to read that you found our customer service outstanding. I am very happy that you were completely satisfied with your stay with us and we hope that you will return one day in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (612)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Keene Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

573 - 579 of 615 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed at the best western for. The pumpkin festival. The rooms were fine. We were very disappointed the pool was closed as this was one of the reasons we chose the hotel. The breakfast area is very dated. Breakfast was adequate. Overall experience was good not great. The bar was recently redone and had live music. It seemed to attract a big crowd. We have stayed at 3 hotels in Keene. I would say it's much nicer than super 8(I think this is a days inn now) and not as nice as holiday inn.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the bar if you want to go to bed earlier than the bar closes due to noise.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puffingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Overall, the hotel was dated and dirty appearing. The carpets were the same from my last stay ~10 years ago and they were stained throughout the hotel and the smell of cigarette smoke permeated everywhere. The beds were the worst I have encountered in all my travels - I think it would have been more comfortable sleeping on the floor, but what was on the floor was questionable. You cannot control the room temperature as it was done "remotely". The room was stuffy/smelly and the sliding glass doors to outside were so old with broken tracks that it was almost impossible to get it open and even more difficult to close it. As a result, I checked out a day early wishing I had stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPT52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSKeene, General Manager at Best Western Plus Keene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to convey your views. We welcome your constructive feedback to help us to deliver the best service for our guests.I am very disappointed to read that you did not have a satisfactory experience while staying with us. We hope you choose us again when visiting the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

First, the pluses- Good location close to practically everything in Keene, a bit of a long walk to the center though. Nice lobby area with direct access to Waxy's and free coffee. The people that work there are very nice. It's pet- friendly. All rooms have sliding glass doors to outside. The bathroom was spotless and the beds were crisp, very clean and comfortable. The TV is pretty nice too. There is a fridge and coffee maker.

The minuses- Even though the rooms have recently undergone a renovation and everything is "new", it's still pretty dirty and old. The carpets were gross- my socks were filthy after just a few minutes of walking around. The light fixtures hadn't been dusted in a very long time. And the ceilings were popcorn, old and crumbly. I killed 4 spiders during our one night there and there were webs in the curtain valence. And the walls were paper thin- We could hear our neighbors, the vacuum upstairs, and everything happening in the hall. The breakfast was free, which is nice, but not very good. I'd much rather pay for a good breakfast somewhere. Oh, and the indoor pool was closed.

Overall- OK for a night, but I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Racegirl219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPLUSKeene, General Manager at Best Western Plus Keene Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2011

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to convey your feedback, which without we would be unable to move forward in terms of service delivery.It is regretfull to read that you did not have a satisfactory experience while staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Room was nicely updated and appointed except the sliding glass door was extremely difficult to open and nearly impossible to close. The a/c stopped working at midnight and we were told to hit the reset botton the power plug which worked but it took a while to cool down. We were awoken at 2 am buy some people partying either in the parking lot or next door which went on until 4 am. The room hade an unpleasant odor but it's pet friendly so maybe it was leftover from a prior pet visit? The beds were comfy, the breakfast was good and the free coffee in the lobby was great especially as the coffee maker in the room didn't work. Waxy O'Connors was extremely hot, the service was very slow. They were out of corned beef. We had to order an appetizer of handmade chips because the food was taking so long and they were gross. We had to ask for the dessert that came nwith the kids meals.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraS328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Linda checked me in, and assured me that, although my room faced the highway, it would be quiet. Not only was she perfectly right about the room's quietness, but, also, when I next made an extraordinary request for a tool to tighten something in my car, she provided it 10 minutes earlier than she'd promised it. Linda saved me from gong to - and paying - an auto-repair place, the next morning.
The next morning, though, I had to complain twice to the 'morning manager,' about BW's breakfast room, before a guy showed up - to clean up tables and re-stock a couple of empty bowls in the buffet.
Overall, I WILL stay here, next time I'm in Keene, NH

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Stopped here on the way to the White Mountains. Loved the motel, very convenient to town. Friendly staff. The bar scene was great, stopped for a few drinks before heading back to the room. We liked it so much we stopped again on the way back to NJ. Highly recommend this motel

Room Tip: loved the room near the back door.. very convenient
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank njersey8229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keene
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Keene
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Keene Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 10 in Brattleboro
413 reviews
13.7 mi away
Colonial Motel & Spa
Colonial Motel & Spa
#4 of 10 in Brattleboro
284 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 10 in Brattleboro
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Keene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Keene Hotel

Address: 401 Winchester St, Keene, NH 03431 (Formerly Best Western Plus Sovereign Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Keene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Keene
Price Range: $110 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Keene Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Plus Keene Hotel! Enjoy four distinct seasons at our Best Western Keene, NH hotel, so whenever you visit New England, you’ll be assured a fantastic time. For an extended stay in Keene, NH, you deserve a property that’s gorgeous and a staff committed to making your stay pleasant. Our full service hotel features an indoor heated pool, an onsite restaurant, incredible fall foliage and a full, free hot breakfast to start every morning right. The generous buffet spread features sizzling waffles, fresh fruits, sweet pastries, yogurt, juices and 100% Arabica coffee. Hotels in Keene are known for hospitality, but we break the mold with the best service in town. Whether its sports tournaments or the Pumpkin Festival that brings you to this part of New Hampshire, rest assured you’ll be treated like royalty here. Keene State College is a big draw, and we welcome students, their loved ones and visiting professors year-round. From football games to graduation, where you stay plays a big part in how much you enjoy your vacation. If you’re looking for motels in Keene that combine value with quality, that’s exactly what we promise. Sports are a way of life here, and we welcome players and fans alike of soccer, baseball, lacrosse, softball and basketball. Our Keene hotel can accommodate groups, so traveling together has never been easier. When you stay with friends and family, your trip is easier and more fun. Business travelers are also on the lookout for hotels in Keene that provide a quiet space to take care of work duties. We welcome employees of NGM, Cheshire Medical Center, PC Connections®, C&S Wholesale Grocers and many other local businesses to our Keene hotel. With convention and banquet facilities, we are proud to host blood drives, weddings, business meetings and other events. A superior location means getting to work is easy, and there will be plenty of time left over for leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Keene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Keene
Keene Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing