We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Cookin, reasonable prices”

Timoleon's Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 96 Restaurants in Keene
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
107 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Home Cookin, reasonable prices”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We were traveling through with our two kids in tow, hunger struck and my wife saw a sign that said "family restaurant". We were pleasantly surprised by the friendly atmosphere, and could tell right away we were in a place the locals love and trust. I had the Sunday Special- a truly homemade chicken pot pie, and it was as delicious. The side dish was beets (as one would expect in such a place), and they were terrific. This place is like eating at a favorite Aunts. My wife took a risky chance and ordered a Gyro, but was not disappointed. The homemade pies were terrific. I felt very safe ordering strawberry rhubarb pie in a place like this and was not disappointed. Timoleon's epitomizes the concept of comfort food. If there was any knock at all, the bathrooms could be cleaner or at least updated, but I'm sure we'll be back on our next trip through Keene. And now the best part- full dinner for a family of four with two deserts for less than $40.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    48
    22
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swanzey, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Inexpensive breakfasts”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Good value for breakfast. Have been there many times- sometimes with extremely slow service (2 hrs.) with not so much as a free coffee.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fine cafe”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

I used to dine at Timoleon's often, the menus is reasonable and the food very good. Nice atmosphere, breakfast lunch ans early dinner.
The reason I don't go there anymore is the stupid parking situation in downtown Keene. Whoever thought it was a good idea to carve up Main Street to install those idiotic money grubbing machines should be jailed....

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ernesto F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hot Coffee, Good Food”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Diner atmosphere. Went here twice during our stay in Keene. Coffee hot and fresh both times, food was very good.

Helpful?
Thank Barb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level Contributor
343 reviews
284 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,017 helpful votes
“Comfort Food and Plenty of It”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We discovered Timoleon's about 16 years ago on a day trip to Keene. We have been back dozens of times since. The enormous quantities and quality of the food has never varied.

There is no haute cuisine here--just good New England standards. Clam chowder. Tomato soup covered with shaved cheese. Pot roast. Chicken breast sandwiches. Hearty and hot chili in season. Fruit pies. Monstrous Greek salads. Pasta and meatballs. Breakfast pancakes with real maple syrup. They feed you like family and at a reasonable price. I can remember working in Massachusetts on a special project years ago and detouring through Keene on my way home on weekends so that I could get a bowl of chili there or some other home-cooked meal. We live about one hour away and frequently plan day trips around a stop at Timoleon's.

We recognize staffers who have been there the entire 16 years we have dined there, and they will probably be there long after we depart the area. They know all the locals. The clientele is a great mix of locals, Keene State College students, and tourists passing through.

Truly one of the classic diners of New England.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank StarWeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Timoleon's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Timoleon's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing