We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would be happy to return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Keene
New York, U.S.A.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Would be happy to return”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The Lane Hotel was great value, nice space in a central location. Staff was very friendly and helpful (especially Zachary). Good-sized rooms, well-laid out. This will be our first choice when we return to Keene!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimitravels456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    94
    29
    15
    12
See reviews for
95
120
19
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

This newly refurbished, smaller hotel is reminiscent of the more urban, hipster hotels springing up in many metro areas. It incorporates a comfortable, yet trendy ambiance that is in line with our personal style. This made the property appealing to us. Although located in downtown Keene, on Main St, there was parking only a few feet off property for our vehicle with clear instructions on how to access.

The room was extremely aesthetically pleasing, as we found out immediately upon entering the spacious, clean, eclectic style room. As we had already read through other reviews, there was a slight issue with what sounded like music and conversation, loud enough to warrant concern if it were to continue later in the evening, Upon calling the front desk, we were offered a quiet, corner room after the front desk attendant confirmed the noise but couldn't determine its origin. Our new room was just as pleasing as the first, with a slightly different layout. There were no further incidents with noise.

Affordable luxury- We were able to reserve the room online for a bargain price perfect for our one night getaway without the children, after dropping a mint on Christmas :) Michelle's restaurant, just a few doors down from the hotel-with their newly unveiled menu, was amazing, as well. We spent more for dinner than we did on our room :)

We weren't expecting much for breakfast, based upon other reviews, but considering the price of the room, we were willing to accept it. Yet, we should not have been surprised with what we found, after experiencing the style and professionalism with which everything thus far had been approached. Stepping off the elevator, I was greeted by a beautiful display of warm cheese and apple croissants, amazing banana chocolate chip muffins, cranberry and orange juice, fresh fruit, and a coffee and tea bar.

Impeccable service- Every staff member we encountered was friendly, professional, and helpful. We enjoyed two complimentary drinks at the manager's reception. And to my amazement, when awaking parched and craving a cold, carbonated beverage, upon calling the front desk they delivered a Diet Pepsi to our room at five o'clock in the morning.

A wonderful experience, that we are certain to do again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sherry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Stayed here for one night on 13 September 2011 on the way through to The Trapp Lodge in Vermont. The room was large and tastefully decorated. Very nice. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful with restaurant suggestions. It was a shame that the hotel does not offer much in terms of food but as mentioned pointed us in the direction of a good mexican restaurant. Despite the briefness of ur visit, I loved the town of Keene and its huge main street which was beautiful. I imagine that it would look quite something at Christmas. Must stay longer next time.

Room Tip: Unload baggage via the front entrance as bringing bags via the car park at the rear is awkward and n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDugster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

We stayed at the Lane Hotel in November for 2 nights while visiting friends who live outside of Keene. The hotel is very nice and the central location is great. The staff was friendly, but didn't seem to go "that extra step" in order to please their customers.

When we were there a men's college sports team of some sort was also staying at the hotel. They were extremely loud and not very curtious of other guests. While coming back to the hotel one night we saw that some windows were opened (in November!) and we could see people and hear very loud music coming from the room. It was like we were walking into a dorm. I stopped at the front desk (as it was almost 11 pm) and told the gentlemen there about this. Their only comment was that if it bothered us to call down to the desk. I told them that I already knew it would bother us as it was almost 11pm and we would hear the music when we got out of our car nearly a block away. We stopped by the room ourselves. But this is something the hotel should have stopped before it got to this point.

The free Wi-Fi was nice, as well as the coffee maker in the room.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelma0326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Our stay at the Lane Hotel was a mixed experience. The recently refurbished hotel was excellent in terms of decor & fittings, very upmarket, nice, but other little things stopped it getting a top rating.

Firstly, the noise of the in room air con units. We were given a street facing room with resulting streeet noise. However it was the room air con was that was so noisy we thought that it was faulty so asked for another room. Got a back room this time and the room air con was only slightly quieter. However it was still too noisy, so much so, that my wife went and slept on the floor near the door, just to get away from the noise. Now, you shouldn't have to do that when you pay top $.

The room price included breakfast, however it was extremely poor, so the hotel lost points on that. Recommend eat breakie in one of the several cafes close by.

Staff were nice and pleasant, however, not being locals they did not have any knowledge of local points of interest.

Room Tip: Ask for back room away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacko582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Great hotel in a perfect location right in the heart of a beautiful town. Staff very professional and rooms were modern and spacious.
However, we couldn't help feeling that this wasn't the ideal hotel for a family.
For a start there was no bath in our room and the beds were really high. Our younger daughter (aged 3) actually fell out of bed one night and we were lucky she didn't seriously hurt herself.
The complimentary breakfast of coffee and pastries went down well with mum and dad but there was no juice option for children and most of the seating available was of the high stooled variety.
We also suffered an unfortunate incident with our daughters' dolls. They were tucked up in bed while we wandered around the Pumpkin Festival and when we returned (post-maid service) two were missing - presumably folded up with the dirty sheets and sent to the laundry, but this was no consolation to a pair of little kids!

Room Tip: Probably best to look elsewhere if travelling with small children
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mart291076968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

We're happy we stayed at The Lane Hotel. We loved our room, and the hotel's location can't be beat. The staff was friendly - we met at least 4 different front desk clerks during our 2-night say and they were all prepared to help when we had questions.

We had a 2-level room - the first level was a very nice sized living room with a large television, full bathroom, closet and desk. The second level had the bed, a second large television, a second bathroom with shower and closet. There's a Keurig on the desk, which is a nice touch, since I've heard horror stories about in-room coffee makers. I would have used it if I'd had a takeout cup or my own mug.

The reason I've only given The Lane 4 stars, however, is noise. We were lucky to be on the second floor, away from elevators and stairs, but we could hear the hotel guests staying in the rooms on both sides of us. In one room, the guest talked nonstop until after 2AM (I felt badly for her companion who only replied with one-word answers - and yes, I could hear him, too.) The guests in the other room had a big gathering around 5PM, but went out after about an hour and we didn't hear them again after we returned that night. We didn't complain because we really did like everything else about the hotel and we were only staying 2 nights. If we were set to stay for a longer period, we probably would have said something about the noise.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whiskeyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keene
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Keene Downtown
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Keene Hotel
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Keene
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Riverside Hotel, an Ascend Hotel...
#2 of 2 in West Chesterfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
Hampton Inn Brattleboro
#1 of 10 in Brattleboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
12.6 mi away
Chesterfield Inn
Chesterfield Inn
#1 of 2 in West Chesterfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown
Address: 30 Main St, Keene, NH 03431-3732 (Formerly The Lane Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Keene
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Keene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come discover the contemporary new character of the Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown, one of the most unique and interesting hotels in Keene, New Hampshire. Located within a historic one-hundred-year-old building in the heart of downtown Keene, our completely refurbished boutique hotel offers a splendid bridge between past and present. From its coveted position overlooking Main Street, this treasured gem has been updated with the full complement of modern perks and amenities today's traveler expects. Choose your pleasure of accommodations from our 40 uniquely styled guest rooms, each reflecting the beauty and history of our century-old building. Our well-appointed features and amenities creatively deliver on all your expectations. True to our boutique style, no two rooms are alike, but all share one common trait - every modern comfort imaginable and outstanding guest service. The Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown unfolds something new around every corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Keene Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
e f Lane Hotel
e f Lane Keene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing