We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to Attraction”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jefferson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lantern Resort Motel and Campground
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jefferson
Certificate of Excellence
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Close to Attraction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed at motel while relatives stayed at campground. Lots of activities and pleasant staff . Any issue quickly solved. Close to Santas Village within walking distance. Available buffet breakfast for campers and motel patrons for fee. Swimming pools and hot tubs are for motel and campground. Laundry area available.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Next2cruze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    34
    7
    6
    5
See reviews for
112
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Foster, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

this property is so well maintained, extreamly clean and the family and staff that run it are VERY pleasant. we have stayed there 4 times, and will continue to stay there for years to come.they have 2 pools,so it is never crowded at the pool.we have tented and have stayed in the motel also. the sites are wonderful and the room are immaculate.plenty of activities for the kids and the community fire pit with smores every night is always fun! Santas village is close enough to walk to and you can purchase your ticket right at"The Lantern" , which makes it ultra convienient. I cant imagine anyone not enjoying their vacation here!! thanks for another fun filled family trip!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 13lisa25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanternResort, Owner at The Lantern Resort Motel and Campground, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to send us such kind words. We have many families come visit us year after year and we work hard to keep up with expectations. I'm glad your family took advantage of our nightly activities and explored our property. Hope to see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrill, meon not found.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

This campground became our family's annual tradition. We've returned here four years and already have our 2014 reservations. It offers clean facilities, two pools (plus a kitty pool), two hot tubs, playground, animal petting area, and lots of fun activities. There is always something for children to do. This year we camped during the Luau and had a great time dancing. No other campground in the area can compare to this one. It is the cleanest one I've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aneokley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanternResort, Owner at The Lantern Resort Motel and Campground, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to let us know how your vacation went at our Resort. Having had a young family, we know how important vacation can be in creating wonderful memories. Our goal is to create wonderful memories for our families that will be remembered for years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Going to Santa's Village?... then stay at The Lantern. Kitty-Corner across the street from Santa's Village.

I grew up camping and this is the cleanest campground I've ever seen. With 2 pools and a great playground for the kids. Our family of 4 did the trailer rental with all kitchen and camping supplies provided. Just bring your food & clothes. Camping at its easiest.

Our 5 year old cried when we left. We hope to return next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanternResort, Owner at The Lantern Resort Motel and Campground, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
So glad you enjoyed one of our camper rentals. It truly is a great way to spend some time together with the family. You have your own space along with all the amenties. If you are looking to reserve a rental unit for next year do not wait too long as they are very popular.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleboro, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

We camped at The Lantern last year, and because we had such a positive experience we returned this year. The staff is friendly and accommodating, the grounds are beautiful, but most important my kids love the pools and the playground (especially the rotating swing - they call it the "pizza swing"). We tent camped again this year, but after a few days of sweltering heat, I stopped by the office and sheepishly asked if there were any motel rooms available. The staff gladly changed our reservation to a motel room (oh, and mind you this was at 8PM). The rooms were clean and comfy. Good coffee and helpful lady at the little store onsite, kids liked the hayrides and evening activities. We'll be back again next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripton VT
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

I brought my family to visit Sants'a Village across the street and we stayed in the motel. it took a half hour to check in. Neither of the keys they gave us worked well, but after a half dozen or so tries, I got one to work and we moved our bags into the room. We went to Santa's village for a few hours and were unable to get the keys to work again. When my wife went to ask for help, the woman at the desk turned to another employee and told her to "show her how to use the keys." This other woman was nice and tried to be helpful, but she was unable to get either key to work after trying several times. The woman from the desk came and got one of the keys to work after 3 or 4 tries, and was very condesending the whole time. She then had me come outside and try the other key. It would not go in all the way and did not work. She kept telling me to push it in all the way, but it would not go in. I'm not a small guy, and I doubt I could have pushed the key in with a hammer. After repeated tries, she got it to seat correctly and opened the door, obnoxiously telling me I needed practice with keys. She acted like it was totally acceptable to have to fight with a defective lock in a rented room, and was very rude and childish the whole time.
A bit later, a nice man named John came by and said he was there to fix the lock. He did so politely and professionally.
The room and linens were acceptably clean. The decor was fine, though a bit outdated. The coffee maker had coffee grounds in it. There were a dozen or so flies in the room. The smoke from the nightly campfire comes in the back window if you don't shut it. The alarm clock was set to go off at 11:30 at night.
This is almost directly across the road from Santa's Village and nearby is Six Gun City, so everyone who stays there has kids. Obviously you can expect a lot of noise. The people above us left their alarm clock on from 6:00 - 7:00 in the morning. Sound travels very well through the floors here, and we could hear them talking and moving around the room. If you do stay here, request a room on the second floor.
The pool we used was OK, but again, everyone here has kids, so don't expect a relaxing soak.
The playground has a new play structure surrounded by old play equipment of varying levels of safety. The "petting zoo" is 3 goats in a 15' square pen. They have a hay ride, but the hay wagon is pulled by a deisel tractor. The motel was obviously overtaxing their leach field, as between the pool and the playground/"petting zoo", there is a wet area that stinks of sewage fenced off with caution tape. I could not smell it from the pool or playground area, just when passing between areas
I did not see their tent sites, but the RV sites were jammed in like sardines.
There are no stores in the immediate area, but they do have a small convenience store open a few hours in the morning and a few hours at night. Prices are as high as you would expect for a small campground convenience store.
Overall, the place is pretty average, and I would not stay there again. I think the owners have good intentions, but the execution is lacking and they try to stuff as many people as possible in while the nearby theme parks are open.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TimRiptonVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at the campground for a few nights. Overall, it was a great experience. Staff was friendly and polite, grounds were well maintained and unbelievably clean. Great place for kids and adults alike.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbd1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jefferson
6.4 mi away
Cabot Inn & Suites
Cabot Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
8.4 mi away
Coos Motor inn
Coos Motor inn
#1 of 3 in Lancaster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
13.7 mi away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
18.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
6.6 mi away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lantern Resort Motel and Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lantern Resort Motel and Campground

Property: The Lantern Resort Motel and Campground
Address: Route 2, Jefferson, NH
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jefferson
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jefferson
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
The Lantern Resort Motel And Campground Hotel Jefferson
Lantern Hotel Jefferson
Lantern Motel Jefferson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing