We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great First Camping Experience”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jefferson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lantern Resort Motel and Campground
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jefferson
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk County, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great First Camping Experience”
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Great family experience. My kids had a great time. My parents stayed in the motel. We rented a trailer. The trailer had everything. Nice size frig, all the plates and pots you need and plenty of utensils. A gas BBQ grill. Plenty of pillows, towels and sheets. Every morning they dropped off clean sheets and towels. About the only thing you need to bring is food. Super Walmart is only a short drive away. Santa's Village is walking distance from the camp ground. Almost across the road. My sister, brother -law and two kids also stayed in the camp ground. We all had a great time. The kids enjoyed it the most.

Room Tip: Reserve way in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pgwvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    34
    7
    6
    5
See reviews for
112
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tunbridge
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2011

The Lantern is a great family vacation spot for those looking to camp or stay in a room. It is a friendly atmosphere with a great staff. You are walking distance from Santa's Village and minutes from other well known attractions. However, you can stay on site and enjoy the clean beautiful pools, childrens hay rides, games and activities, relax in 1 of 2 hot tubs, play in the arcade, enjoy the camp fire, and even catch up on laundry while traveling. Whether you stay in a room or you camp all of this is offered to you.
This is the fifth year we have stayed at the Lantern and we are registered to return next year also!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abogardus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morrill, meon not found.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Not only is this campground/motel a stones throw from Santa's Village but the owners are friendly and they ensure lots of family fun. As part of our stay we enjoy hay wagon rides, bed time stories, fun activities, (2) clean swimming pools + hot tubs, and a family friendly atmosphere. We've been camping with our daughter here for 3 years, made friends and now make reservations a year ahead because we know this campground offers a LOT for the $$. The bathrooms are super clean. Our daughter's grandparents who don't camp visit us staying in the motel. We've seen the rooms. They aren't modern but they meet a family's needs and are very clean. The staff is friendly very helpful. Each time we pack to leave, our child is sad because she doesn't want to leave.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aneokley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, NH
Level Contributor
74 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We again rented the same 2 campers with our friends and had a wonderful time. Everything is very clean, the owners could not be friendlier, and the staff is wonderful as well. The campground has loads of stuff for families to do, with planned activities on the weekends. We're especially fond of Candy Bar Bingo.

We've been going to the Lantern for countless years - first starting in the hotel, then tent camping, then pop-up camping, and now renting the spacious and clean campers they offer.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KBTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

After 25 years of camping with tents, rv, pop-up, etc. the Lantern never ceases to amaze me with its cleanliness, well manicured lawns, and freshly painted buildings. For the past three years we have been making an annual early season trip to the Lantern and it is always a joy. The staff is friendly and the place truly has a family feel! The past two years we have stayed at the motel and while simple we have always been happy with the clean and comfortable rooms. We were pleasantly surprised this year by the new LCD TVs to watch some playoff hockey! We always have a great time here and see us continuing our tradition for years to come!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shtupnski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

When our son was young, we went to Santa's Village every year and stayed at the Lantern Inn. Although the room was simple, it was clean and comfortable (they did have the Disney channel though). What impressed me the most was all the activities they offered. We loved the hay rides, and the swimming pools were wonderful. They had a craft night too. My favorite was a campfire at night, explaining the history of the town and folklore. They have a little store, didn't open until I think 8 am though. They also offered to come in to your room and read your child a bedtime story, which was cute (we didn't do that though). They have beautiful grounds and would highly recommend it to families.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ARuschp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngsville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

I had this hotel recommended by a friend and was not disappointed. My wife, son and I traveled here from Louisiana to take in the fall foliage and to get away from the rush of cities and traffic. This property suited our purposes perfectly - quiet, clean rooms, comfortable beds, large well maintained property for strolling, helpful staff and at a price that was very reasonable. We particularly liked the solitude and view of the night sky that was unbelievable - thousands of stars in a jet black sky. We laid on the grass undisturbed for hours watching the heavens above. The Manager recommended a place for dinner (Scorpio's - pizza) and breakfast (Water Wheel) - both had a lot of local character and great food. This hotel was a perfect location for viewing the beauty of the White Mountains and taking in local activities - we all participated in the zip line experience at nearby Bretton Woods and had the time of our lives.

Two tips: (1) leave your city attitude behind when you come here or you'll miss the gems along the way and (2) obey the speed limit signs when driving to nearby Lancaster - New Hampshire's finest are serious about keeping the roads safe.

Give The Lantern Resort Motel and Campground a shot when you head to northern New Hampshire - you won't be disappointed (unless you can't leave your city attitude behind).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chase52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jefferson
6.4 mi away
Cabot Inn & Suites
Cabot Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
8.4 mi away
Coos Motor inn
Coos Motor inn
#1 of 3 in Lancaster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
13.7 mi away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
18.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Littleton
Hampton Inn Littleton
#1 of 5 in Littleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
6.6 mi away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lantern Resort Motel and Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lantern Resort Motel and Campground

Property: The Lantern Resort Motel and Campground
Address: Route 2, Jefferson, NH
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jefferson
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Jefferson
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
The Lantern Resort Motel And Campground Hotel Jefferson
Lantern Hotel Jefferson
Lantern Motel Jefferson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing