We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time Experience”

Muddy Paw Sled Dog Kennel - Day Tours
Ranked #2 of 6 things to do in Jefferson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Muddy Paw Sled Dog Kennel is the premier dog sled touring operator in New England. We offer year round dog sledding adventures that range from 2 - 50 miles (including overnights). All of our dog sledding experiences are designed to be hands on to the comfort level of the guests. Participants ages 2 and up are given the opportunity to meet and greet our rescue and second chance sled dogs, help harness and hitch their team and even help drive the sled (at musher discretion for guests and dog safety of course)! As always, the proceeds generated from our kennel based tours go directly to covering the expenses involved in taking in these incredible canine athletes and providing them with a home and job for life.
Belmont, New Hampshire, United States
2 reviews
“First Time Experience”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was one of the best hands on experience that I could give my daughter and her friend Erika who we had brought along to enjoy this as well. We were made to feel at home as soon as we got there. The girls got to spend quality time with all of the dogs. Everyone that we encounted along the way through this experience were so knowledgeable and very friendly. This is definitly something we would love to do again in the future.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen T, Front Office Manager at Muddy Paw Sled Dog Kennel - Day Tours, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent dog sledding experience. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed not only the ride portion of your experience but also the hands-on component (personally, we feel this is always the best part). Our staff strives to maintain a laid back atmosphere so guests like yourself feel comfortable asking questions and immersing themselves in the experience. We always encourage our guests to be hands on to their comfort level. If you join us again in the future be sure to ask the musher if you can help drive the sled (or inquire about our clinic where you can really be hands on and learn to drive your own team)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    2
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great adventure”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We did a ride titled Mush-In, which included a stay at the Mahoosuc Inn 45 minutes from the kennel. Our host at the Inn, Mark, drove us to the kennel where we met up with our guide, Neil and another gentleman. We took an active part in hooking up the wonderful team of 12 well behaved, trained and energetic dogs and spent the next 48 miles on a cool dog sled built for 3. Our guide was well qualified as he did dog sledding in Alaska. Two of the dogs on our team ran the famous Ididerod (spelling?). We enjoyed beautiful vistas of Mount Washington while our team tirelessly pulled our sled. There was fresh snow on the ground, but the weather was warm making the snow stickier. Those conditions did not deter these hounds, though. They love to work. It was so fascinating to watch the pack interact with each other and with our guide (who clearly loves his animals). We were dropped off at the Mahoosuc where we helped unhitch the dogs and place them back into their transport vehicle. Mark the owner had a snack of wine and cheese ready for us, then cooked a steak dinner to perfection for us with home made strawberry shortcake for dessert. It was an amazing experience and my husband and I highly recommend it!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MommaPoppaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen T, Front Office Manager at Muddy Paw Sled Dog Kennel - Day Tours, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Our staff appreciates you taking the time to write about your recent Mush-Inn dog sledding experience. Our all-inclusive Mush-Inn trip was designed for adventures guests who are not afraid to go deep into the woods like yourself. We are glad that you enjoyed the experience as it is one of our favorite trips to conduct. The dogs as you mentioned love exploring the trail that we cover and our mushers love soaking in the great views along the way. Mark - the owner of the Mahoosuc Inn - adds a wonderful element to this experience as well with his rustic lodging accommodations and wonderful home cooked meals! Again, we thank you for coming out and appreciate you taking the time to share your positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Going to the Dogs--WONDERFUL”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Here's the review of this I posted on my blog (http://2newcantabrigians.wordpress.com/2013/02/24/going-to-the-dogs/), but the gist of it is:
"Between the thrill of seeing a team of twelve dogs leap forward at your command, the beauty of New Hampshire’s White Mountains and Presidential Range (more photos at the end), and the humor of our musher, it was an amazing weekend. If you love dogs or winter sports or fun, this is definitely a trip to attempt at least once."
The blog post includes video, photo, and a description of the exact trips we did.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen T, Front Office Manager at Muddy Paw Sled Dog Kennel - Day Tours, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Wow is all our staff can say! We are truly humbled (and very appreciative) for the review of your recent dog sledding experience that you included on your blog. You really captured the true essence of dog sledding which is having a love for: sled dogs, the outdoors and adventure. I love all of the photos you included; especially the ones of Ray (who is a new rescue addition) and our Musher Chase holding Aragon like a baby! Again, thank you for taking the time to provide such an extensive review of your recent dog sledding experience at Muddy Paw Sled Dog Kennel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dog sledding at Muddy Paw is an absolute must!!!”
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

I was just up in NH for a weekend getaway with my boyfriend and dog sledding was by far the best thing we did. The staff was incredibly knowledgable and very welcoming. Being a dog lover, it was great to be able to interact with the dogs as much as we did. We did the half day drive your own team clinic which was definitely worth the money. We could have been out there all day with those amazing dogs! Truly a really fun, fantastic experience that I would recommend to everyone!

Helpful?
Thank Coryselena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, ME
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Muddy Paw Sled Dog Kennel- Drive your own team!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Just got back from the most amazing experience at Muddy Paw Sled Dog Kennel! My 14 year old daughter and I took the half day "Drive your own team" clinic and had the best time. Ian was our teacher and he did an excellent job of teaching us how to hook up the dogs, give commands to the dogs and also what our job was on the sled. We learned o much and had a blast playing with the dogs. I think one of the best parts was that Ian took so much time with my daughter who tends to be shy and to hear her yelling out commands enthusiastically and having so much success mushing her own team was a very proud moment for both of us.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alyson R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muddy Paw Sled Dog Kennel - Day Tours also viewed

Jefferson, White Mountains
Gorham, White Mountains
 
Bretton Woods, White Mountains
New Hampshire, United States
 

Been to Muddy Paw Sled Dog Kennel - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing