We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!!”
Review of The WaterWheel

The WaterWheel
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Jefferson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: We are known for our more than adequate portions at a very reasonable price. Our more popular menu choices include pancakes as big a dinner plate and Omelets made with 6 eggs. Along with a variety of New England made products we have maple syrup, 12 varieties of fudge, and whoopie pies in our Gift Shop.
Hopewell, New Jersey, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food!!”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Good country food and great service. Beautiful ride to the restaurant. There is a great store to browse through if you hit at a very busy time. Try thr plate size pancakes. Awesome . .

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marge P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    48
    25
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dedham, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Don't leave Jefferson without eating here!”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Great food and huge portions! You will either bring some home or leave stuffed to the gills!!!! The pancakes are the size of the plate! Great gift shop with the best fudge! The owners are always there and really nice!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank coppaswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“This will not be the last visit”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Omni Mount Washington Resort for two evenings. Not wanting to spend $40.00 plus on a breakfast buffet, we inquired about Monroe's Family Restaurant down the road, but instead was recommended that we try The Waterwheel. (about a 20 minut drive) We were not disappointed.

The friendly waitress asked us if this our first time visiting and we told her it was. She then warned us that the omelets were not skimpy and 6 eggs were used per omelet. She also mentioned that the pancakes were large plate size as she delivered our coffee. (It's rare to have such wonderful coffee at a breakfast stop, but the coffee was great...free refills as well)

We each ordered a breakfast sandwich with a side of homefries and my husband ordered an extra side of sausage patties. Everything was cooked to perfection and delivered to our table in record time. We enjoyed the breakfast so much so that we went back the next day. This time my husband ordered a special including one of those huge pancakes. Wonderful!

We'll be booking again next year for the Mount Washington Hotel and we will be sure to go back to the Waterwheel Restaurant.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Adorable Breakfast place!”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

The food is great, service is always on point, and the prices can't be beat. If you go on a weekend, expect to wait! They ONLY serve breakfast, so get there before the rush!

Helpful?
Thank Slick_Tracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

This restaurtant and gift shop was a wonderful find on a trip out from the Grandview Mountain Resort. Friendly service, great food and cozy environment made our morning cup of joe even better!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Erica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The WaterWheel also viewed

Whitefield, White Mountains
Whitefield, White Mountains
 
Jefferson, White Mountains
Whitefield, White Mountains
 
Bretton Woods, White Mountains
 

Been to The WaterWheel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing