We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Made our wedding A DREAM! Delicious doesn't do it justice!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand View Estate

The Grand View Estate
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jaffrey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grand View Estate
Ranked #3 of 4 Jaffrey B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Made our wedding A DREAM! Delicious doesn't do it justice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2010

Our wedding was this past New Years Eve [2009] and OH MY!
Kelly, Scott & everyone on staff were AMAZING!
Yes-the food was delicious, exactly what I wanted [& I was specific & a pain-:)]
& the guest RAVED. I mean RAVED!
But it was the atmosphere that truly made the evening....
Kelly & Scott were professional, flexible, honest, had a great sense of humor
& I wish I could get married there again NEXT New Years Eve. Seriously!
Did I mention how much guest RAVED about the food, but also EVERYTHING.
I love The Grandview and everyone who brings it to life.
I don't see the hotel OR spa here, but I took advantage of both & WOW!
The hotel was cozy, warm & perfect for a winter wedding.
The spa was the perfect spot to relax pre-ceremony.
As a New Yorker for the past 13 years, I can say with absolute confidence that if The Grandview plopped down into the middle of Manhattan, they would give restaurants, hotels & spas a run for their money. MOST of the establishments here wouldn't even be competition for Kelly & her team. Then again, if The Grandview were here in NYC, it wouldn't have the GORGEOUS views of Mt. Monadnock.
I realize that I'm laying it on thick,
but I mean EVERY single word.
If I could leave my phone# or email, I would do it.
Love you guys!
Kelly&Scott,
YOU ROCK!
xx

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caragoldrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    5
    0
    4
    4
See reviews for
2
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CONNECTICUT
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2010

My husband took me here for my 40th birthday. It was a wonderful weekend...the view was stunning and the room was lovely. The food was plentiful and delicious. We plan a return visit...when we can get away without children, as this is a romantic place.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ConnecticutCris40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2010

For Valentine's Day this year, I wanted to do something very special, so I looked at the Grand View Inn. I have been here several times in the past and have always had a great experience. This special weekend topped them all.

Grand View ran a special Valentine's Day weekend package. $300 got us the room, continental breakfast, dinner at their on-site restaurant Churchills, champagne in our room, a silver necklace and a 30 minute massage for two. This also included tax and gratuity.

We were greeted very warmly and shown to our room. The rooms are located in an old country mansion that feels like home, especially since we have been here so often. We were in room 6, the Wheeler Room, which is my favorite. It is isolated, on the third floor. The decorations remind me of a beach cottage on the Cape.

Dinner was beyond fantastic. I had risotto, a strawberry and field greens salad, filet mignon and creme brulee. I loved every aspect of dinner.

Back at the house, there was plenty to do in the evening. We played pool and board games and then retired to bed. During the evening, the owners even stopped by to make sure everything was okay.

The breakfast was somewhat disappointing in the morning. We got down to the kitchen with an hour to go until the end of breakfast and there was hardly anything left for us to eat. Breakfast was typical continental with cereal, pastry, oatmeal and toast. Some bagels and croissants would have been a nice addition.

Then we headed to the spa for our massages. I was able to steam and sauna while I waited my turn and had another nice chat with the owner.

All in all, this is always a great place to stay and I will always recommend it to friends and family. Scott and Kelly are invested in their inn and it shows. I have always found them to be pleasant and eager to please. I can't wait to plan my next trip!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny617777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

For a unique experience in fine dining you should take the time to visit Churchill's at The Grand View Inn & Resort. The cuisine is excellent! The waitstaff is friendly, upbeat, and extremely courteous and Chef always comes out for a meet and greet with the guests. The restaurant with it's rustic appearance, go hand in hand with the New England Vibe and the place settings are elegant with a romantic glow. This is a great place to start or rekindle a romance.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matador1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mass
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2010

the room was great, the service and food was amazing. but i come back from a day trip to find a man rushing out of my room, and my computer gone threw with pictures of me in my bathing suit open on the screen! if it wasn't for that total violation, then it would have been a perfect trip!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kityboop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottmitchell, Owner at The Grand View Estate, responded to this review, February 9, 2010
My concern with your accusations are that if you found your computer tampered with directly after you saw the gentleman leave the room, why did you not bring it to his or someone’s attention during your dinner service seeing as he was your server? If you were so violated I would think you wouldn’t have had an appetite. If you found that your computer was tampered with after dinner, why did you not bring it to anyone’s attention then? I would think if you felt violated you would not be comfortable enough to spend the night at the Inn. If you found your computer to be tampered with the next morning, this leaves a window of opportunity for anyone to have tampered with it. I find it convenient that your feelings of violation came upon check out time.
Our intentions are to provide a comfortable atmosphere with the highest quality products and services. The fact that you enjoyed your dinner and stayed until the maximum check out time, reveals that your feelings of violation only came upon payment. The compensation of money off your room would only admit to guilt for something we can prove we did not do. We take pride in our business and we hold our guests’ privacy in the highest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jaffrey hotels

New England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2009

We stayed here with family and loved it. The staff was attentive and nice, the food at Churchhill's was great.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewEnglandRooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2009

stayed here over the weekend. Beautiful old building with plenty of common spaces on first floor. The main inn is 100x nicer than the small side cottage which has zero of the inns charm. If you stay here I recommend staying in one of the rooms in the main building. Views of the property are all nice, breakfast was just so so (coffee, tea, toast, boxed cereals). Pool table and projection tv in basement was fun. No TVs in the room but we didnt mind...nice area for those who enjoy the outdoors hiking around , not much in Jaffrey but nearby peterboro has more ...

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dolsenator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaffrey
11.0 mi away
No photo provided
6.5 mi away
Benjamin Prescott Inn
Benjamin Prescott Inn
#1 of 4 in Jaffrey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
9.0 mi away
Jack Daniels Motor Inn
Jack Daniels Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Peterborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Woodbound Inn
Woodbound Inn
#1 of 1 in Rindge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
2.8 mi away
Monadnock Inn
Monadnock Inn
#2 of 4 in Jaffrey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
8.0 mi away
Little River Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand View Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand View Estate

Property: The Grand View Estate
Address: 580 Mountain Rd, Jaffrey, NH 03452-6040
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Jaffrey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Jaffrey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful historic property, originally an early 1800's tavern with a rich history as a working farm, seasonal vacation home, inn and year round residence. Property sits at the base of Mt. Monadnock with beautiful mountain and pastoral views. Our street address is 580 Mountain Rd., Jaffrey, NH 03452. One of several buildings on the estate, the huge 6 bedroom, 8 bath brick mansion was built with talent and craftsmanship from a bygone era. Tastefully furnished, this impressive home features elegant period details and country charm. In addition to 5 second floor bedroom suites and one third floor bedroom suite, the home has a large, lovely eat-in country kitchen, formal dining room with chandelier, cozy den, peaceful library and huge formal living room on main floor. A large furnished screened porch sits off living room. Basement has an additional bathroom and game room with fireplace, pool and foosball tables. Beautiful outdoor space includes a stone terrace off kitchen. The brick house stays comfortably cool through the summer months. This gem is a true vacation retreat. Internet WiFi access included; no telephone or TV. Cell coverage is good. Step back and enjoy a relaxing stay at this one-in-a-million country home. Offered as a private, fully functional home; flexibility in level of services available to meet your needs. Your party will be the only guests in residence during your stay. The caretaker lives next door to the estate and I live just down the road. Each of the spacious six bedroom suites has a king size bed and its own private bathroom. Activities on the property include: hiking the 333 estate acres, walking or biking the estate's internal road network, birdwatching / observing extensive wildlife, climbing Mt. Monadnock or just relaxing and enjoying the breeze and gazing at the mountain in your own expansive backyard. Monadnock is the most climbed mountain in the western hemisphere, extolled in the literature of Thoueau and Emerson. See Wikipedia for more about this fabled landmark. Unlimited scenic opportunities for artists and photographers. Patriot Farm at the Grand View Stables (look up online) is located across the street at 557 Mountain Rd., Jaffrey, NH. Horseback riding lessons and trail riding on Mt. Monadnock are available. For individuals interested in trailering in their own horses, boarding is available at nearby Mead Brook Equestrian Center. The estate is an outstanding venue for your wedding or other social event. Our vaulted-ceiling banquet hall comfortably seats 165 diners and more can be accommodated under tenting. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing