We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Mother's Day Brunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunflowers Cafe & Catering

Sunflowers Cafe & Catering
Ranked #2 of 13 Restaurants in Jaffrey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $26
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leverett, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
57 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful Mother's Day Brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Seeking a relaxed spot for breakfast near where we planned a short hike, we spotted Sunflowers online and drove an hour from western Mass to Jaffrey, NH. What a great find! A small cafe facing the town common, open kitchen, full bar. Service was welcoming, professional, speedy but we never felt rushed, though it was clearly a busy Mother's Day for the restaurant. Starting with mimosas and Bloody Marys, we enjoyed immensely everything we ordered: salmon omelet with home fries, blueberry pancake (German style, crepe-like, with powdered sugar, topped with real maple syrup) and two large sausage patties. Delicious hot chocolate with fresh whipped cream. No room for dessert but the possibilities sounded great. Guests were diverse and intergenerational, including small, well-behaved children and retirees like us. We'll definitely come back soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RedSoxFan100341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    28
    6
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rumford, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Delicious food, pleasant staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

A friend and I enjoyed a short stay at Woodbound Inn in Rindge, but were not there when their dining room was open. Sunflowers was one of the restaurants recommended to us by the staff at Woodbound. We arrived slightly under an hour before they were due to close, yet the staff asked where we wanted to sit and cleaned the table we selected that had just been vacated. Since we did not want a large meal we each chose one of the entree salads and had grilled chicken added to it. The salads were served with warm rolls and butter. They were certainly very fresh and the grilled chicken was done to perfection. My friend who had the garden salad could not finish all of hers and though I did (mine was the New Hampshire Salad and was so delicious, I was determined to eat every bite), we definitely had no room for dessert or drinks. I would definitely return to this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Loretta69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great staff, hidden jewel in the mountains!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Had Easter dinner here for six- lamb was most delicious, duck was perfect, swordfish was so tasty, prime rib was huge and tender, and the Hendricks gin martinis were top notch. My son had the chocolate ganache dessert and it was spectacular. A very nice family owned premiere restaurant with excellent atmosphere, staff and food!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beachcomber39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious food in a delightful atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

This review is long overdue because we have enjoyed Sunflowers, our favorite Monadnock area restaurant, for years. We often celebrate special occasions and bring guests as well. The food is always fresh and well prepared. We particularly appreciate the interesting salads, and my husband loves the French onion soup. We don't usually order dessert, but for Valentine's Day, we shared the chocolate truffle cake, which was heavenly--worth every calorie. The service is accommodating without being intrusive. The prices are reasonable given the quality of the food.

The space is small but attractively arranged with warm colors and interesting artwork from the many area artists. Frequently local musicians provide lovely, varied music that does not overwhelm the diners. (I give extra credit to restaurateurs who support the arts.) Because there is limited space, calling ahead for reservations is advised.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AquaPar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hancock, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
173 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, service very slow”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We had a brunch meal. The food was good, although they forgot the hollandaise on my eggs Benedict. The live performer was too loud in the small place but very talented. The service was slow... Took 15 minutes for drinks. We will try it again based on friends experiences but we were less than enthused.

Helpful?
Thank varneykr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunflowers Cafe & Catering also viewed

 

Been to Sunflowers Cafe & Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing