We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A winner!!!!”
Review of The Wentworth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wentworth
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Carmel, California
2 reviews
“A winner!!!!”
Reviewed June 23, 2009

We have stayed at the Wentworth a number of times. All were fabulous experiences. This time we were with nine college friends celebrating our 50th class reunion. We all selected different acomodations. All were superior.

Our breakfasts and dinners together were memorable. If you want the best,The Wentworth provides that experience.

Jerry Sullivan

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryS37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    169
    48
    27
    16
See reviews for
100
548
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachussets
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It is like a home from home, tastefully decorated, classy and comfortable. The food is outstanding. We totally recommend this hotel to everyone and we plan to spend a weekend there again soon as there is plenty to do and see, and we loved it. Staff and owners very welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Selaginella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2009

Dirty, creepy, and way overpriced. Some friends had given my wife and I a gift certificate for a night at the Wentworth. We forked up the other $165 for a room to make it a 2 night stay. When we got there the lobby was nice, sort of an old hotel feel to it, lots of brass - I liked it. When we got to our floor and walked into the hallway it reminded me of the Overlook Hotel...when we got into our room it was in shambles. The bed felt really hard and the sheets were stiff and smelled bad. The bathroom was tiny, and there were fragments of the ceiling in the bath tub that had rotted off and were just left there. It was like no one had stayed (or cleaned) in our room for years. The toilet was directly under the slant of the roof so in order to stand and use it, you had to lean sideways. Needless to say we called the front desk for a new room. Next we were sent to one of their cottages which were separate from the hotel. It looked a little nicer, but smelled like mold. My wife used one of their white washclothes and wiped it across the tub, only to find that there was ALOT of black residue on it. It was really disgusting. After complaining about this room we were set up in one of their honeymoon suites which was much nicer. it was almost like people had actually stayed there and it had been cleaned! We still found a large spider in the hot tub, but other than that it turned out ok. Dinner on the other hand took way too long. The restaraunt area was very hot and uncomfortable and the portions of food were minute. Overall it was an awful experience and definitely not what we were expecting for our romantic getaway weekend.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — The dirty rooms, and the runaround we were put through.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank JoshRobbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta ME
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2008

Having stayed at the Wentworth before we were excited when we were invited to spend Thanksgiving in one of the condos behind the inn. I have to say that the condo lived up to our expectations from previous visits to the hotel.
We had a 3 bedroom unit that was furnished with comfort in mind. The master suite was on the top floor with a king bed, it's own bath with a jetted tub and shower. The main floor had a formal dining, room full kitchen, powder room, living room, breakfast area and deck looking out over the golf course. The lower floor had two more bedrooms, one queen and one with twin beds, a bath with tub/shower and a family room with fireplace with access out to the golf course. We enjoyed the Thanksgiving dinner in the main dining room but ate some other meals in the condo using the well equipped kitchen or getting takeout from the general store a short walk down the street.

  • Liked — Room to strech out and availability of Wentworth amenities when wanted
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Yankee_Biker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west greenwich, ri , us
2 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2008

Stayed w/brother & sister inlaw for one evening late November,. The hotel was wonderful, dinner great and piano bar lots of fun. My only problem was the bed. The 1st room given, the bed was hard as a rock, the staff transferred us and the 2nd room was crushed rock.. If you like a hard mattress this is for you!! If you desire to be a bed & breakfast, the bed is important! Breakfast wa fine the next am, would go back again however would require a better bed

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lola1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2008

In fall 2007, my dad said, "I want to see the leaves in New Hampshire next year." Since my parents don't often leave Washington State to visit me in NH, I wanted to treat them to some very special accommodations (besides my house, of course!). I'd been to The Wentworth once before and thought that it would be just the thing.

It takes a very special property to handle with aplomb the onslaught of leaf peepers on Columbus Day weekend during the nicest foliage season in recent memory. By and large, the Wentworth lived up to expectations. My spouse and I were very happy with our spacious suite furnished with beautiful carved furniture and an oversized jacuzzi tub. My parents wanted a room with two double beds, which meant their only choice was a regular room in the main building. Their room was large and pleasant, although it did not have the same luxurious furnishings of the suites. Elderly travelers should also beware that there are no elevators and the long hallway on the main building's second floor has so many dips and valleys that it can throw unsteady walkers for a loop.

The Wentworth normally includes breakfast and dinner in the room prices. We enjoyed all meals in the dining room, which were accompanied by friendly yet impeccable service. Although the inn was bursting at the seams and dinner became a leisurely affair, the food quality was excellent and our wine and water glasses were promptly refilled. After dinner, we listened to a pianist who played everyone's requests. Especially for those who elect to stay in a suite, the inn lives up to its promise of elegance and service.

  • Liked — Beautifully furnished suite
  • Disliked — Regular rooms
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr-Jill-from-NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2008

My wife and I stayed here as part of our New England tour. We were surprised by some of the negative reviews so perhaps it depends which of the buildings you stay in, We were in the main building and while he room could not be described as spacious it was not really small and did have a large bed and was clean and comfortable
As someone else remarked dinner is a little slow which they sell to you as a leisurely dining experience! Menu is fine but a little fussy but it depends on your tastes. Breakfast was good,
Our only real criticism wasthe absence of tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Admittedly coffee is provided in the lobby from 6am but no tea or decaff coffee which my wife and I drink
We were on a room/dinner/breakfast package which at USD179 plus taxes per night for both of us was great value

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No in room tea/coffee making faciolities
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MuppetKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
0.4 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
8.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
14.9 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,460 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wentworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wentworth

Property: The Wentworth
Address: 1 Carter Notch Rd, PO Box M, Jackson, NH 03846-4208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wentworth 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the majestic White Mountains of Jackson, New Hampshire, The Wentworth is a charming, 50-room inn within close proximity to cross country skiing, a stunning golf course and an abundance of year-round, outdoor activities. Surrounded by the beauty of nature, this picturesque inn in Jackson, NH, enjoys a unique position among New Hampshire hotels. Our idyllic setting provides a temporary escape from life’s everyday stresses and allows guests the freedom to reconnect, rediscover, and recharge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Wentworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wentworth Hotel Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing