We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“incredible”
Review of The Wentworth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wentworth
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Just returned from a wonderfull weekend at the Wentworth. It was incredible. We stayed in the Arden building, with our own hot tub. Our room was beautifull and very clean. The staff was very nice and always helpfull. The food was out of this world. Our room and meals came as a package deal. Well worth it. If you are looking for a romantic Inn in New Hampshire this is the place. You can't go wrong. INCREDIBLE.

Room Tip: pick a hot tub room. you will love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonEllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Thank you so much for your recent visit with us and for taking the time to share your experience and recommend us to others on Trip Advisor. It is very much appreciated and I hope that we will be able to offer you another incredible experience very soon.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (879)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 879 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013

My fiance and I had just got engaged and we had planned this trip as a Christmas Present to each other instead of gifts. What an amazing and incredible weekend we had. We were in the Arden building with a gorgeous 4-poster bed, cozy gas fireplace and a private hot tub! We were so relaxed and just enjoyed each other's company and celebrated our engagement :)

Our package included dinners and breakfasts and the food was absolutely savory and beyond incredible. Everyone was so nice and friendly! I didn't want to leave and definitely want to go back next year!

We were able to enjoy the room, the ambiance and all of the amenities that the Wentworth offered by going when the weather was very cold out. We did venture into North Conway for a few hours but couldn't wait to get back to our room and the hot tub!

I would absolutely recommend this to anyone looking for a quiet, relaxing and extremely romantic weekend away :)

Room Tip: The Arden Cottage Room 409 has a beautiful hot tub with a turret and lights inside the hot tub. So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 739sarag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review and congratulations to you both on your engagement. What an honor for us to have been chosen as the location this very special occasion in your lives. On the off chance that you are looking for a location for your wedding we do have one weekend open for 2014 (October 25th) and 2015 is starting to fill up also - so just give us a call if you are interested, we would love to be a part of this very special day.
Thank you again and wishing you both the very best for your future lives together.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We have been going to the Wentworth for about 15 years. It truly is a lovely inn. The rooms have recently been redone. The dining is always excellent. There is a new chef, Dinner was fabulous. The open reception area with the fire place is quite charming. We also had fondue at the bar which was very good. We can't wait to go back

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor and for your continued loyalty to our hotel which we truly appreciate. I am pleased to read that we continue to meet your expectations and I am glad you appreciated the recent improvements we have made to our rooms. It is loyal guests like you that make this possible.
Thank you again and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

i honestly cant belive i havent reviewed this place sooner. My husband and i went on our honeymoon here in april 2013. we stayed in a room with a private hottub. It was absolutely amazing we loved everything the food, the staff and the decor. it was like walking through a time warp. One of the things we loved the most was a public radio station that played blues and jazz from 6-10 pm it was so nice to relax in the hot tub have a few drinks by candle light and listen to that station that played all throughout our rooms. we definitley plan to go back. i honsetly dont think we could have picked a better more relaxing and romantic honeymoon spot in jackson. did i mention the food was amazing! also the staff took an extra step to make sure we got a special decoration on our dessert plates and that are room was exactly what we wanted. Plus if u walk around the building it gives you a little jackson history lesson. My husband and i enjoyed looking at the old photographs and reading about the bnb;s history. although if you try to carve your name in the bridge with the millions of other carvings the locals do get upset and the sheriff tells you to stop, but he was nice about it. Of course if we thought anyone would have had a problem with it we wouldn't have done it, but the jackson bridge is known for lovers carvings, its even in a few tour guide pamphlets.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review on our hotel and for choosing us to celebrate such an important event in your lives. We were so pleased to read that you enjoyed everything about your stay and we hope that this will become an annual tradition for both of you.
Congratulations to you both and we hope to welcome you back very soon.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

The only disappointment about staying at The Wentworth is that we only had one night. We stayed in the Fairlawn Cottage, Room 705. The room was spacious and very well laid out. The hot tub on the balcony was amazing. We could see the stars at night and feel the cool breeze, but no one could see us. We were provided with thick, terry robes. Perfect for before and after you were in the tub. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom is large, including a vanity and a separate toilet room.
We did not have dinner at the Inn because honestly we didn't want to leave the room. There is a mini fridge so we brought our own evening snacks. Breakfast the next morning was delicious. We sat in front of the fireplace. The menu had plenty to choose from. Two specials were also offered.
The staff was friendly from check in to check out.
We would stay again and would recommend The Wentworth to anyone.

Room Tip: I'm sure all the rooms are beautiful...but if it's the cooler months I would highly recommen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhonda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you so much for your nice review and we too wish you could have stayed for more than one night, hopefully next time!
We look forward to your next visit and thank you for recommending us on Trip Advisor and to others.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

On arrival this is a lovely looking hotel in a beautiful setting with a lovely open reception Hall with a roaring fire … very inviting. Check in was friendly and helpful, until they tell you your room is on the 3rd floor. 3 flights of stairs, no lift or offers of help with our luggage!. It was very disappointing as with struggled with our suitcases.
This hotel has such potential to be really lovely, but sadly falls short. The carpets are tired, rooms dated and lacking of any style or character. We are well aware it’s an old building, but coming from the UK we have been to many buildings this age, or older, where they have been able to pull off, style, character and attention to detail without losing the old world charm. The Wentworth is a sort of “faded glory”
The restaurant was excellent, but expensive, and the breakfast was lovely. The general level of service was excellent, the hotel just needs some sympathetic improvements - it feels as though you are staying in an aged relative’s attic rather than an expensive hotel in a lovely area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OneCotswoldCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you so much for your recent visit and for overall rating us with four out of five stars. The main part of our hotel does offer only standard rooms but we have done so many upgrades to those rooms recently, new carpets, bedding, bathrooms and drapery it is disappointing to read that they were not to your taste. I think perhaps you probably would have been more satisfied in our deluxe rooms in our surrounding cottages that we have had the chance to completely renovate from floor to ceiling.
We do take your review to heart and there is always room for improvement so thank you again for your feedback, it really is very helpful.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

The Wentworth is called a hotel but really seems more appropriate to call it an inn for it has all the charm and ambiance of one.

We stayed two nights for a great price as it was a bit off season (after leaf-peeping and before skiing). We had wanted to do some serious hiking in the White Mountains but a downpour had us changing our mind to save the hike for a later date. But, that afforded us the opportunity to take advantage more so of the lovely amenities of the Wentworth.

We started the morning with breakfast. A continental style buffet was 10.00 but for only two dollars more you could have both the buffet and a hot breakfast. We had the homemade cornbeef hash which was quite good and the pancakes. I must say the pancakes were some of the best I've had in any restaurant.

For lunch we had requested boxed lunches to take on our hike so we sat on the covered porch and ate our sandwiches. They had thrown in a decadent apple croissant, as well, which was very tasty.

During the day, we drove to nearby North Conway (check out Cathedral Ledge if you're in the area) and also checked out nearby Jackson Falls, a short walk from the hotel.

Before dinner (reservations are available), we sat in the bar and enjoyed a glass of wine. The only downside to the whole visit is that they offer very few selections. Note that a piano player was playing later in the evening.

For dinner we brought our dress-up clothes instead of having to dine with our usual hiker attire. I'm so glad we did. The ambiance and decor is most worthy of being gussied up a bit with table linens ad soft lighting. And the food and service is most worthy of the effort. We opted for the fixed-price meal of soup, entree, and dessert for 38.00, I believe. Both of our meals were exquisite and top-notch.

Our room was quaint and cozy but roomy and comfortable enough, No complaints there.

The lobby has a wood-burning fireplace and the dining room has a gas fireplace that were both going the entire stay. Nice touch to the old world charm of the place.

The entire staff was quite pleasant and efficient and the entire experience was romantic. I definitely want to come back..

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snowbettyxxoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Thank you so much for such a nice review and for having such a positive outlook on your stay when in fact you came to hike the White Mountains during a day that rained very profusely. It is great to see that people still can switch plans mid stream and go with what The Wentworth offers and enjoy beautiful Jackson even in the rain.
I think you captured what we offer at The Wentworth very accurately and we thank you for that and I hope that we can welcome you back in some better weather for some great hiking.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
0.4 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
8.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,437 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
0.7 mi away
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wentworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wentworth

Address: 1 Carter Notch Rd, PO Box M, Jackson, NH 03846-4208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range: $149 - $433 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wentworth 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the majestic White Mountains of Jackson, New Hampshire, The Wentworth is a charming, 50-room inn within close proximity to cross country skiing, a stunning golf course and an abundance of year-round, outdoor activities. Surrounded by the beauty of nature, this picturesque inn in Jackson, NH, enjoys a unique position among New Hampshire hotels. Our idyllic setting provides a temporary escape from life’s everyday stresses and allows guests the freedom to reconnect, rediscover, and recharge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Wentworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wentworth Hotel Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing