We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Wentworth
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa(Jackson)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New England Inn(Intervale)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (909)
Filter reviews
909 results
Traveler rating
627
185
52
27
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
627
185
52
27
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate hot tubpiano playerfairlawn suitesarden buildingsteam showermy husband and isurround sounddining roommeal planfonduenew englandmain buildingmeal packagebath saltsgas fireplacenorth conwayno elevator
Filter
Updating list...
451 - 456 of 909 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed at the Wentworth for 3 nights as part of a 3 week trip to the New England area. This was by far the worst hotel of our trip. The public areas of the hotel were very nice but some needed a lick of paint. We were allocated rm 321 on the 2nd floor of the main inn. The stairway carpet was grotty, stained and in need of hoovering. The paintwork on the bannister was discoloured with dirt and dust. Our room wasn't overly clean and we were horrified to find black hairs on the pillows! We assume from previous occupants. The staff on reception rectified the pillow issue and room cleaning although it still wasn't to our standards. I was disappointed to note that when we checked out the stairway etc was still dirty with no attempt having been made despite our comments. I again mentioned it when we checked out and was assured it would be sorted. I'm afraid I had lost faith of it being sorted for the next guests.

Our room was a standard double with a tiny very dated bathroom, the carpet needed replacing in the room. The room looked out at the front of the hotel which was ok but we did get road and parking noise. The room was very hot so I rang reception to ask how to work the air conditioning to be told that it had been turned as it was out of season, I should mention that the weather was unseasonably warm in the mid 70's. I did ask for a fan which was provided.

The hotel definitely needs a full refurbishment if all the rooms were like ours.

We ate breakfast in the hotel and we found service to be very hit and miss constantly asking for tea, milk etc. On the first morning it was far from a relaxing experience as the bar adjacent to the dining room was having a new bar top fitted so lots of banging and drilling. Surely this could have been done after breakfast service?

The one positive thing about the hotel is dinner in the restaurant which was fabulous with great service from our waiter Leo. I think the success of the restaurant is due to the dining room manager Josh who was absolutely excellent.

We would not stay here again, nor would we recommend until the decor and cleanliness is brought up to standard of other quality establishments we have stayed on our trip.

Despite our issues, the inn seems popular although I did note a couple of other guests complaining and actually witnessed one couple who after seeing their room left.

It's a shame as the hotel is in a lovely village location with good access to the North Conway and white mountain area.

Room Tip: Do not have a room on the second floor of the main inn.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for your review and I am sorry to read that you were disappointed. It is hard to travel from so far and have hotels choosen for you by your agent to find them not what you were expecting. We did listen to you and we did make several attempts to rectify your cleanliness issues to the best of our ability. I was glad to read that you did enjoy some aspects of your stay and your kind words will be shared with Leon and Josh in the dining room.
Thank you again and I hope you are enjoying the remainder of your New England trip.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Just had two nights at the Wentworth and this place would be hard to beat. It's situated in a small scenic village close to the Jackson covered bridge and Jackson falls which are just up the road. We had a hot tub to chill in and after travelling around all day this ideal for us. The food quality in the restaurant was top notch and the service in the restaurant was friendly and attentive. What a place!!!

Room Tip: Get a hot tub
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davidc1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank you so much for such a complimentary review and I am so pleased that you enjoyed everything about your stay. We hope that the remainder of your New England trip was just as enjoyable and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back some day.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is a lovely comfortable hotel. The bar area and outside space was very good and so was Tony the barman....Good at mixing cocktails! We ate in the restaurant....This had top class service, top class friendly staff and superb food. Our waiter Ian was especially friendly, courteous and efficient. We unfortunately didnt have the best of weather while staying here..but we sat out on the front porch and watched a fantastic thunderstorm. We were also humbled to be part of the 9/11 parade through the town.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you so much for your visit to The Wentworth and for taking the time to write such a nice review. I will be certain to share your nice comments with Tony our bartender and with Ian in the dining room so that they may be recognized for their efforts.
Thank you again and I am so pleased that you felt so welcome in our little village.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Disappointed . We were very surprised at the standards of service given . Firstly no help in carrying cases up the stairs ( just told we were lucky to be on the first floor !!!!!) we know we were in a standard room , but it was very pokey and dark, and as for the en- suite well the basin could not have been any smaller. When the central heating came on it stank so we turned it off immediately. Then came breakfast- what an experience , 10 minutes wait to get in , then a long wait to have our order taken . We chose hot oatmeal and a cooked breakfast. We wish we had gone for the continental as it took about 40 minutes for it to arrive and then both courses came together !!! How ridiculous was that , one course getting cold whilst you ate the other !!!!!!!! The evening dinner menu was uninspiring so we decided to eat elsewhere. Having stayed in a few hotels in New England one of which was the Harraseeket Inn in Freeport ( I think you could learn a few things from them ) this establishment was a disappointment .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veronica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Thank you for your review and we were very sorry to read that you were disappointed in your stay; we do like the title of your review though. We have done so many recent upgrades to our main inn rooms, new windows, curtains, carpet, bedding and bathrooms, but certainly yes some of the bathrooms in our standard rooms are small. I also apologize about breakfast, it was a very busy weekend and we should also have communicated to you that the continental breakfast was also available to you. Thank you again, and I do hope you enjoy the remainder of your New England trip.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My family of 4 stayed in one of the condominium units at the Wentworth Inn. It was great. Very comfortable living room, full kitchen, and three bathrooms. Perfect for a family with two young children. We had breakfast at the inn and it was great. We will be back!
If you have a larger family, I would also highly suggest the Armister building of the main inn. Four guestrooms connected by a massive fireplace and living area. There is also a courtyard with 8 person hot tub!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roxyMassachusetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you so much for your nice review and I am glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay in one of the condominiums. They do make very suitable accommodations for those traveling with young children. I was also pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast with us and had an opportunity to see the Amster Cottage - what a great history that cottage has.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews