We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stuck in a time warp”
Review of The Wentworth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wentworth
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Stuck in a time warp”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Service was very friendly, the hotel was clean, but it felt like being in a time warp from the 50's. the place seemed to be without any soul or buzz. Maybe it's where old Golfers go to wait for the heavenly call.
We did not eat in the dining room as it too looked soulless and sterile so cannot comment on the food. We were disappointed by the croissants at breakfast which were cold and stodgy.
Rooms were small and dated.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for your review and for your recent visit to our hotel and we were sorry to read that it was not to your taste. You must have been here at a very quiet time perhaps as normally our restaurant and lounge are nice and busy with good energy and our lobby is a great area for relaxing in. As for our guest rooms I think you probably would have enjoyed our deluxe accommodations more. Thankfully today all of the guests I checked in that were heading off to play golf looked like they could last a few more years and were not waiting for a heavenly call.
I hope your trip home was uneventful and thank you again for travelling from so far to visit us.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    169
    50
    27
    16
See reviews for
102
555
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boisbriand
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We booked 5 nights at The Wentworth through SniqueAway (now Jetsetter). Our first impressions were of a beautiful Inn with friendly staff. These were confirmed during our stay. Our room was on the second floor and very charming (we had the corner room with windows all around). Comfortable bed and amenities; Keurig coffee maker with coffee pods, flatscreen TV with a DVD player alongside. The bathroom was not very big but sufficient, good water pressure for showers. This is not a boutique hotel/inn rather an older style hotel with old-country flare but with modern conveniences; you feel you’ve been transported back in time.

Our plan had the daily breakfast included which is so worth it. The food was delicious, prepared and served with care. The hash and eggs as well as the bacon, hmmm, so good.
The outside pool was very clean and secluded enough that it wasn’t seen from the road. It was never crowded during our stay.

The A/C did turn off a couple of times but was quickly remedied to when we informed the front desk (very accommodating staff).

We did not eat at the hotel restaurant but the menu looked quite inviting.

We stayed Sunday to Friday, which was a good scenario as there are weddings every Saturday during the summer (they have a big white tent out back).

Suggestion to Hotel would be to include a mini-fridge in room which is lacking.

Definitely would come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Manager at The Wentworth, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice review and we were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your Snique Away vacation. That program did introduce us to a lot of new guests and we were pleased with it. We hope now that you have been introduced to us we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.
Thank you again.
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of Boston
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

On the road to Jackson, one needs to travel through the traffic jams and hectic world of North Conway. As you drive closer to Jackson and round the curve to The Wentworth, you start to feel that you are in another world. This hotel, just a one night stop for us, was a perfect place to start a vacation.

Check-in was flawless, and Deb at the desk gave us a card for a free appetizer to eat at the restaurant. In addition, she made reservations for us that night. I just completed a very favorable review on our dining experience, but on to the hotel:

1. Our room in the Arden Building was a king suite that was expansive and well appointed (fireplace, small sitting room, jacuzzi and a great walk-in shower). we were on the 2nd floor, so take note that no elevators are in this building.The king bed was extremely comfortable. Wifi was easy to connect, and it existed thoughout the facility

2. The grounds - there is an outdoor pool that looks in great condition. We didn't use it for our stay.

3,. The Main Building - great porch seating throughout the inn, There is a small bar (Tony, the bartender was very friendly), and they will also serve drinks on the porch

4. Breakfast - This was included in our very special rate that I secured for the night, and it consisted of a substantial continental breakfast, along with a host of choices from the full menu. I had pumpkin pancakes, and they were great.

5. Checkout - The checkout went fine, except I was billed for somebody else's drinks onto my bar tab. While at first it was a bit annoying, they were able to confirm that fact in a few minutes, and I was on my way with the corrected bill.

I would strongly recommend this inn for a more upscale stay in a beautiful part of New Hampshire.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jfs0529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent visit to The Wentworth and for posting such a comprehensive review of our hotel. We are very pleased to read that you loved everything about us. Your kind words in particular will be shared with Deb at the Front Desk and with Tony at the bar so that they may be recognized for their efforts.
Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back very soon.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medway, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Arrived late Saturday and happened upon a small wedding. Regardless the staff was welcoming and encouraged us to have a drink in the bar along with the wedding which was great all around. The bartender brought us a plate of crackers and cheese and we had some engaging conversation. The room was spacious and lovely. My only suggestion would be to provide a way to turn down the water pressure which anywhere else would seem ridiculous. I would highly recommend this b&b and plan to go back again. One of the best places we've stayed at in white mtn area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your experience on Trip Advisor. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and your plan to return and recommend us to others is very much appreciated. I appreciate also you letting us know about the strong water pressure in your shower and we will check into that.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

I absolutely loved it here!! Very romantic atmosphere. My fiance and I chose the wentworth for our first trip together since we've been together. We left the kids with a family member and drove out. I love how the staff give you your space and if they are needed you can just call or go see them. Everyone was very respectful. We only had breakfast there and my gosh that was amazing! I wish we had dinner there. The jacuzzi in the room was used the whole stay! After a four hour drive to get there I was totally amazed and happy that our room was so calming, clean, and beautiful. After 30 mins of being there we crashed on the bed and was gone for hours.( the bed is very comfortable) I will be recommending this place to everyone who wont mind the drive in.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent visit and your nice review on Trip Advisor. I was very pleased to read that we provided that relaxing and romantic getaway you and your fiance needed. Your kind comments will be shared with my staff so that they may be recognized for their efforts.
Thank you again and we hope that you will be able to make a return visit very soon.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

You don't see too many reviews from people who stayed in the Main Inn (most stay in the Deluxe Accommodations). We stayed in the Main Inn Superior with 2 double beds (no King was available). The room was very nice and really big. It was on the 2nd floor right above the main entrance. Beds were really comfy. And for $125.00 a night (stayed in early June) which included a huge breakfast this was a real deal! The hotel is charming; nice lobby, nice little bar area, pool table. Wildcats was a great place also for dinner and drinks; and for more casual fare try the Red Fox Grill & Pub (we had to eat there one night after a microburst hit and all the electricity in town went down but they had generators). Take a drive to North Conway for shopping & also a very nice golf course there by the train station.

Room Tip: Main Inn rooms were a really good value - pay a little more for a superior for a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColCat86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your visit to The Wentworth and for your review on Trip Advisor. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your accommodations in our main inn rooms. We have completed a large amount of work to those rooms in the past year and they really are very comfortable and offer great value. While our deluxe rooms are spectacular, many of our guests prefer the convenience of the main inn rooms and of course the price.
Thank you again for your visit and for this review and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Wentworth in the very near future.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed a night mid-week so there was an extra quiet feel to the property. Check-In was friendly and efficient. The room was clean and well appointed. I especially liked the multi-channel receiver that allowed music out in the hot tub area. The tub was clean and comfortable. The main room was air conditioned with a quiet ventilation system. The bed comfortable. Nice hardwood floors. The main building was also comfortable with nice chairs on the porch. The loung area is small, but there is plenty of lobby, porch and a common/billiard room to relax with your drink.

My only complaint is the very low water pressure in the shower. That was a disappointment.

Check out the falls up the road, past the hotel.

Room Tip: Explore the hotel's website for floor plans when you are choosing a building and room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EducatedandTravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice review and for your recent stay with us. We were very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and and that you had the opportunity to explore the beautiful Jackson Waterfalls across the street from us. I apologize for the lack of shower pressure in the bathroom and will look into that immediately. Thank you for letting us know.
We hope to welcome you back very soon.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
0.4 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
8.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
0.7 mi away
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
6.5 mi away
White Mountain Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wentworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wentworth

Property: The Wentworth
Address: 1 Carter Notch Rd, PO Box M, Jackson, NH 03846-4208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wentworth 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the majestic White Mountains of Jackson, New Hampshire, The Wentworth is a charming, 50-room inn within close proximity to cross country skiing, a stunning golf course and an abundance of year-round, outdoor activities. Surrounded by the beauty of nature, this picturesque inn in Jackson, NH, enjoys a unique position among New Hampshire hotels. Our idyllic setting provides a temporary escape from life’s everyday stresses and allows guests the freedom to reconnect, rediscover, and recharge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Wentworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wentworth Hotel Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing