We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great old hotel with all the modern conveinences”
Review of The Wentworth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wentworth
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

What a great old hotel that has been keep it top working order. We spent two nights there and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff could not have been more helpful. We sat on the porch and listened to the rushing water from the stream in front of the hotel. Our room was very nice and clean with great furnishing. After a day of exploring it was great to relax,have a beer while shooting a game of pool with friends. this place is with out a doubt on the list of places to revisit

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guntherohrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you so much for your very nice review and we are very pleased that you enjoyed The Wentworth and our little village of Jackson. We are very lucky to live in such a beautiful place and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back very soon.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (889)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

464 - 470 of 889 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

Had a wonderful overnight at this hotel. Unfortunately the weather was very unsettled and it was either raining or misting. We did get to take a couple of leisurely walks around the area but hope to do more walking/ hiking next time. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast, which was included in the price, was delightful and delicious. We ate at the hotel restaurant for dinner and it was excellent! We plan to return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you very much for your recent visit and we are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay despite the weather. I am not sure if I ever remember such a rainy start to the summer.
We look forward to welcoming you back and we hope for better weather.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

"WOW" - Were we impressed! From the time we checked in til the time we checked out our time was a great experience. The staff was very accommodating from the owner Fritz to the bartender Tony and the Maitre 'D Josh all the way to the wait staff. The food was exceptionally good including the lamb chops and lamb sirloin steak that were excellent. We must mention that the dessert of crème brule and the calvados apple gallette was marvelous.

Our room was very comfortable and the added outside hot tub overlooking Jackson was a real hoot and very relaxing.

We will definitely plan a return trip on one of our next vacation getaways. We think anyone looking to enjoy some time in Jackson will find this inn to meet all of their expectations.

Don & Barbara Depault

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara60913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Mr. & Mrs. Depault:
Thank you so much for your very complimentary review and I will be sure to pass along your nice comments to Tony in the bar, Josh our Dining Room Manager and with Fritz my husband.
We hope to meet you again at The Wentworth very soon.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We enjoyed our room in the Fairlawn building. It was well appointed and quiet. The hot tub was a wonderful amenity! We were disappointed that smoking was allowed on the porch as well as outside the buildings. It made it impossible for us non smokers to enjoy the beautiful porch on a warm evening. We had the dinner and breakfast package. Dinner was just ok but nothing exceptional. The breakfast was very disappointing. The omelettes were overcooked and dry. The potatoes tasted as if they were cooked the night before.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for your recent visit to The Wentworth and for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. I do apologize about issue you had with smoking outside the building. I think you communicated this to us through our guest survey and as a result of your feedback we are going designate a specific area for smoking in an area that we feel will cause the least inconvenience to our other guests. I will also share your feedback regarding dinner and breakfast with our Chef.
Thank you again for this feedback and we were pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed in one of the condominium units that the Wentworth offers. Our unit was a two bedroom, that had a view of the Golf course. It was a nice unit with a full kitchen and 2 1/2 baths, yet the showers were tiny!! It had lots of closet space, and this unit did have AC. As with many rentals, the furniture is not top quality. It was nice looking and clean, but not very comfortable. The couch cushions sank when you sat down, and the pull-out bed was so awfully uncomfortable that it could not even be used to sleep on. The double mattress in the bedroom was also in need of replacement. It too was extremely uncomfortable.
It was a good size unit. It had a little seating area in the front. It was within walking distance to the hotel, and to restaurants in town.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlkkshic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for your visit to The Wentworth Condominiums and for reviewing the unit you stayed in on Trip Advisor. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit and the area. We will attempt to identify the unit you rented and pass along your comments to the owner of that unit and we appreciate this feedback. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

After receiving an email offer for reduced rates at The Wentworth, we made a last minute decision to book two days with another couple. We were very happy with our decision.

The main building, where we stayed in a standard room, is part of a complex of buildings that date back to the 1800s. We were warmly greeted by a smiling lady who quickly got us registered. Our rooms were on the third floor, which is fine with me, but there is no elevator and our traveling companions are a bit older and have difficulty walking up stairs. This is something that older people or persons with health issues should take into consideration when booking a room.

The lobby is big and finely decorated. Sitting areas are arranged throughout this lobby so it easy to find a nice place to relax, read a book or just converse. The large verandah offers similar seating arrangements and every morning my wife and I were out there with a cup of coffee enjoying the sunrise.

The included full breakfast was excellent. Though while we enjoyed our breakfast, I have to comment that we were served by a young lady who did not smile, did not greet us with any enthusiasm, and basically had no personality. If she wants to work in a customer service job, she really needs a few lessons in how to greet and serve people, especially if she wants to make money from tips. She acted this way on the two mornings we were there, so it wasn't a bad day thing. The other men serving other tables and refilling our coffee were smiling and friendly. This is just some constructive criticism for that young lady and perhaps management can provide some guidance to her.

Our room was small but bright and clean and the bed soft and comfortable. The bathroom has very little storage space, but for a stay of only two nights, this was not a problem. I know this was there standard room and I am not complaining at all.

The bottom line is that we had a wonderful time. We will definitely return to The Wentworth on future trips to the Granite State.

Room Tip: North side rooms face the mountains. There is no elevator, so keep that in mind if stairs are an is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chiefj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you so much for your nice and comprehensive review and we are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. Next time please make sure to let us know that you would prefer to have a room on the second floor of the main inn so just up one flight of stairs and we will do our very best to accommodate you. Thank you also on the feedback on the breakfast waitress and we will take care of that issue.
We look forward to your return visit.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is a typical New England experience. Very nice, pleasant staff (at front desk and in diningrooms/bar), helpful, courteous, and accomodating. The setting is unrivaled - across the street from the beautiful Jackson Falls (not to be missed). The condos are definitely a plus as far as additional accomodations - but they are not as close to the facility as one might think - some are 1/2 block - others are 2-3 blocks - but all within walking distance to the main Inn.
If you are visiting the area - this is definitely worth consideration as a place to stay! It has alot of character remindful of bygone times.

Room Tip: There is no elevator - although I did see staff carrying bags to an upper level room (3 levels in in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Admin929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for your recent visit to The Wentworth and for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
0.4 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
9.2 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
5.7 mi away
The Stonehurst Manor
The Stonehurst Manor
#5 of 25 in North Conway
1,324 reviews
14.9 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wentworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wentworth

Address: 1 Carter Notch Rd, PO Box M, Jackson, NH 03846-4208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range: $144 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wentworth 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the majestic White Mountains of Jackson, New Hampshire, The Wentworth is a charming, 50-room inn within close proximity to cross country skiing, a stunning golf course and an abundance of year-round, outdoor activities. Surrounded by the beauty of nature, this picturesque inn in Jackson, NH, enjoys a unique position among New Hampshire hotels. Our idyllic setting provides a temporary escape from life’s everyday stresses and allows guests the freedom to reconnect, rediscover, and recharge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Wentworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wentworth Hotel Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing