We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel...delightful ambience”
Review of The Wentworth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Wentworth
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 days - and three nights at the Wentworth. Everything about the hotel was great. Our room, a suite with our own outdoor hot tub was superb. Everything worked perfectly, including the steamer in the shower....The restaurant was first-class and the breakfasts were really great. The lobby area was perfect - cosy and comfortable. The beds in our room were super comfortable...It was also extremely quiet during the night and we slept very well. The whole White Mountain area was gorgeous. The outlet shops, 15 minutes away in North Conway were lots of fun. my wife and I heartily recommend the Wentworth.....

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
5  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Thank you so much for your three night stay with us and we are so pleased to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay so much that you have taken the time to share your thoughts with the readers of TripAdvisor.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (870)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

460 - 466 of 870 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

..into the quieter, less hectic post-Victorian era, perhaps. This old hotel is a gem, somewhat secluded from the beaten track of the commercial White Mountain region, but convenient to everything. In the little town of Jackson, it's a lovely location. Formerly a vacation community, the hotel has everything from basic rooms up to luxury suites. We chose a smaller, less ornate room,a and found it clean, comfortable, pleasant. There's a lovely huge porch across the front to relax on.

Breakfast is served daily, and it's delightful--continental or hungry-man style. Dinner is available also: the restaurant is small, elegant, and very good! The meal we ate there was definitely of the gourmet variety, interestingly cooked, beautifully presented. Many other options for eating are available in the are if you wis h to go out, however.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cutthroatbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Thank you so much for your nice review and we are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your accommodations, dining and the village of Jackson itself.
Sharing your experience with the readers of Trip Advisor is very much appreciated and we look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Another wonderful couple of stays at the Wentworth. We were there in March, and again over Memorial Day weekend - and stayed in three different rooms. In March we stayed in 504 (one of our favorites) then moved downstairs to 502 (we made last minute reservations). Both rooms are exceptional. Memorial Day we stayed in 410 - with its brand new hot tub - overlooking the river - we didn't mind the endless rain/cold at all! The staff continues to be exceptional (shouts out to Caryn (housekeeping) and Josh (dining room manager). Having stayed at a five star hotel the week before I can say without reservation, the Wentworth is a 5 1/2 star establishment when it comes to service, rooms and atmosphere!

Room Tip: Any of the suites are exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Thank you so much for your nice review and for your many visits to our hotel. We always love to see you and chat with you both. I will be sure to share your review with Caryn and with Josh so that they may be recognized for their efforts.
Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

My Husband and I had stayed at this hotel for a winter getaway. It was a pleasant surprise. We booked online, from their website, which I'm always a bit nervous doing. Well, the pictures of the place were better in person. The hotel is a perfect location to the town of North Conway as well as just up the road from another adorable place to check out called Nestlenook Farms. The hotel was cozy, clean and the staff accommodating. The restaurant is a wonderful casual breakfast place similar to a Bed and Breakfast feel, but dresses up for Dinner and both food experiences were delicious! It was perfect for a romantic getaway(hot tubs outside on balcony) with fireplaces inside, or for a group because they have a common area and large hot tub to accommodate 2-4 rooms. Cant wait to get back there! Check out the website...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hdr83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Thank you so much for your nice review and I am very happy to read that you felt our website represented our property well. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your accommodations, our dining and the area and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Best wishes
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We came across the Wentworth during an amble through the White Mountains. I was taken by it's character and charm plus the facilities I saw (golf) and used (including the outdoor pool and indoor pool table) were well set up.
Fine room, good value fine dining meal - and right next to some spectacular scenery. The staff were all friendly and despite being out of wither summer or winter season it was a smart call to stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kennego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you for your nice review on Trip Advisor and we were very pleased that you stumbled upon us. We hope you had as much success in finding your other accommodations on your New England Trip.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I had a very nice stay here. The only reason sleep quality is rated average here is there was a wedding party on our floor and they were a tad noisey. The hotel did say up front that a wedding was taking place that weekend so we do not fault the inn. Other then that the room was great. Although in the future I would pick the southside of the inn as it tends to be quieter anyway.

The meals were very good and service was as well. Staff was very personable and polite.
A great get-away for a romantic weekend. We plan to visit again in the winter as we understand that Jackson is quite picturesque decorated with Christmas lights.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesB766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you for your visit to The Wentworth and for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor and we were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and plan to return to visit us in the winter. It is a beautiful place to visit also in winter and we are so lucky to have different seasons to offer.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We just cannot imagine spring without a two night package at Jackson's Wentworth Inn. This year we chose room 311 on a third floor corner -it was charming and had a great view of the river rapids. Another room to check out is 219 -spacious and elegant. There were many signs of hard work on the part of staff. Painting has been done. New and efficient windows have been inserted, maintaining the architectural integrity of the historic inn.The pool has been replaced with one that is larger and a change hut was being built nearby last week when we were there. The dining room remains elegant/casual. Service was a bit slow during our stay but we only had to go upstairs so lingering by the fire was not a hardship. It was still the off-season so some service staffing might not have been at its peak. There are other buildings at this property -modern condos, suites in smaller historic buildings, a lovely golf course, etc. This review is the main inn, itself
The liquor store on route 16 is a gem for wine selection and a 20-30 minute drive beyond offers a short, easy walk into Sabbaday Falls. Very pretty. Have the front desk folk give directions. Of course, there is serious hiking throughout the whole area, shopping, little cafes and free mountain air.
So, once again next spring!

Room Tip: Rooms on the front allow you to be lulled to sleep listening to the river rapids. Jackson is VERY qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarieinHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

Thank you again for your annual visit to The Wentworth and we are always so pleased to welcome you back. We appreciate your recognition of the improvements we have made and are continuing to make. Maintaining and restoring a building built in 1869 is a labor of love for us.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Wentworth next Spring.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
0.4 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
8.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,435 reviews
0.7 mi away
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
14.9 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wentworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wentworth

Address: 1 Carter Notch Rd, PO Box M, Jackson, NH 03846-4208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range: $139 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wentworth 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the majestic White Mountains of Jackson, New Hampshire, The Wentworth is a charming, 50-room inn within close proximity to cross country skiing, a stunning golf course and an abundance of year-round, outdoor activities. Surrounded by the beauty of nature, this picturesque inn in Jackson, NH, enjoys a unique position among New Hampshire hotels. Our idyllic setting provides a temporary escape from life’s everyday stresses and allows guests the freedom to reconnect, rediscover, and recharge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Wentworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wentworth Hotel Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing