We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful spot, great place for skiers”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wentworth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Wentworth
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot, great place for skiers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Wentworth and went skiing the next day at Black Mountain. We had a great time - the Wentworth is a great value and is a charming older New England inn. The food at the restaurant is surprisingly excellent - we were expecting a good but not great meal, but were pleasantly surprised - it was fantastic. The Wentworth also provides discount lift tickets at local ski areas - and we got our lift ticket to Black Mountain as part of our package. We will definitely stay at The Wentworth again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackdogggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice review and we were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, your meal and your skiing at Black Mountain. We are able to offer discounted ski tickets to all of the local downhill ski areas and also for cross country and it is very convenient to simply put the ticket on your ski jacket and hit the slopes with no waiting in line.
Thank you again and we hope that you will be able to make another trip to visit us before the winter is over.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    165
    47
    27
    16
See reviews for
97
538
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The South
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

The Brits and Canadians met again at the beautiful Wentworth Inn to see in the New Year together and enjoy some great food and good company.
As always we were made to feel very welcome and our rooms in the main inn were charming.
Here's hoping we will make it back again at the end of the year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Southerner2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice review and it was our pleasure to have all of you return to The Wentworth to ring in the New Year with us. We also hope that we will be able to welcome you back to ring in 2014.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We decided to take a quick pre Christmas trip and havie some fun poking around Jackson and North Conway. We stayed in the Arden Suites (room 410). The room was very nice, and we enjoyed the hot tub on the enclosed balcony. We took advantage of breakfast only on this trip, but our last visit also included dinner. The meals were good, and the service was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pghtransplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for your nice review of The Wentworth and for your continued loyalty to our hotel which we truly appreciate. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your pre Christmas getaway and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Wentworth very soon.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I'm not just throwing in all 5's the crew at the Wentworth are well deserving of it the in is a fantastic place to go a beautiful old inn and cottages with beautiful rooms the staff is extremely friendly and make the stay that much more enjoyable. And the food is fantastic. We've been back time and time again.
Happy return patron.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Motocyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your five star review and it is our honor to have you as a happy returning patron. Your review will be shared with all of our staff and we look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

After many years of staying at the wentworth, my husband and I decided to stay for 2 nights , and enjoy the New Year's Eve festivities
We drove from Toronto some 10 hours.
It was a black tie event, beautifully decorated,a
Wonderful meal, a live band, dancing, and champagne to bring in the new year.
The owners Ellie and Fritz made a point of speaking to all the guests and wishing us happy new year.
All in all, a wonderful way to bring in 2013
For those who have never visited this area it is truly a spot.
Eileen and Brian

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fleuvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Eileen and Brian:
Thank you so much for your nice review and for visiting us from Toronto. We do not get to see you often enough now that you have moved so far away. As loyal customers for so many years we value your opinion on our New Years Eve Dinner and Dance, it being your first with us and we were very pleased that you enjoyed the evening. Your kind review will be shared with all of our staff.
Thank you again and we hope to welcome you both back very soon. In the meantime, enjoy the grandkids.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartford
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

After staying in Jackson for many years at my family house i had an oppurtunity to stay at the Wentworth. Check in was easy and we were assigned a room in the main inn on the third floor. Very clean room and nice bathroom. A bit small but we basically just slept there. Really nice housekeeping staff. breakfast was inclulded and excellent. The chef is incredible for the dinners he makes. there is always a fire going in the main room and they serve hot cocoa after 4pm. also buy your lift tickets at the wentworth for down hill skiiing for all the resorts. You save about $20 a ticket. I will definitely be back to stay and eat dinner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davediam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit to The Wentworth and for your nice review on Trip Advisor. I was pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us in one of our main inn guest rooms and that you enjoyed your breakfast and dinner. Your nice comments will be shared with all of my staff so that they may be recognized for their efforts. I hope you had a great time skiing, it is very convenient for our guests that we sell discounted ski tickets for all of the local ski areas and for the cross country also so I am glad that you were able to take advantage of that.
Once again, thank you for your nice review and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Wentworth again before the winter is over.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at The Wentworth for 3 nights. We stayed in the Main Inn, in a room over-looking the beautiful Wildcat River. It was the perfect size for the two of us.
For Christmas Dinner I had the turkey, which was exceptional. It was perfectly cooked, and came with lovely stuffing, cranberry sauce, and vegetables. My husband had the ham which was also outstanding. It came with vegetables, potatoes, and yams. The service was excellent. Our waiter was attentive, and although extremely busy, pulled it off, and brought our food out in perfect time.
The atmosphere has an old fashioned, elegant feel to it, at a great price.
We had a phenomenal stay, and are most definitely they coming back here. I strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBlarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your nice review of your stay at The Wentworth and of your Christmas dinner. It was a beautiful Christmas here in Jackson and at The Wentworth with all of our recent snowfall and it was great to see so many familiar faces over the holidays.
Thank you again for your nice review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
0.4 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
8.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
5.7 mi away
The Stonehurst Manor
The Stonehurst Manor
#4 of 24 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
14.9 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wentworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wentworth

Property: The Wentworth
Address: 1 Carter Notch Rd, PO Box M, Jackson, NH 03846-4208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wentworth 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the majestic White Mountains of Jackson, New Hampshire, The Wentworth is a charming, 50-room inn within close proximity to cross country skiing, a stunning golf course and an abundance of year-round, outdoor activities. Surrounded by the beauty of nature, this picturesque inn in Jackson, NH, enjoys a unique position among New Hampshire hotels. Our idyllic setting provides a temporary escape from life’s everyday stresses and allows guests the freedom to reconnect, rediscover, and recharge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Wentworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wentworth Hotel Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing