We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected Better Service From The Wentworth”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wentworth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Wentworth
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expected Better Service From The Wentworth”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

It was our first time staying at The Wentworth. We stayed two nights in the recently renovated Fairlawn building Sept. 29th & 29th 2012. The rooms were very nice and comfortable. However, there seemed to be a constant fan noise running. It was about 74 degrees in the room and the cooling system wouldn't cool the room down. My wife tried to shut off the heat/cooling system on the thermostat and it wouldn't go off so we opened some windows but still didn't cool down. That was Friday night. So on Saturday about noon time I called the front desk and they sent maintenance right over. It was now 77 degrees in the room. The gentleman said he was going to go downstairs and check the circuit breakers and never came back. When I went to supper at the main building I checked with the front desk to see what the maintenance man found and they seemed unaware. The desk said they would send maintenance over again while we ate. I also asked if they could get the radio working. We returned to the room about 9PM and a staticy radio was playing and you couldn't get a clear station to come in. The fan noise was still running. I called the desk and again got the same reply, "We'll send maintenance over". A gentleman from the kitchen crew came over and checked the 3 outside air conditioning units and came back to report only 1 out of the 3 seemed to be working but that he would retrieve some fans for us. That may explain why the cooling system did not kick in to cool the room down but it didn't explain why the system fan kept running. He did return with some large fans but the noise from the portable box fans were louder than the heating/cooling system fan. We did feel cooler with the fans but again had to deal with the noise. When I checked out Sunday morning I asked the lady behind the desk if the hotel made any adjustments if we were not satisfied with the room. She apologized and said that they could take $30 off the bill. I took that as an insult. For about $400 a night that included the meal plan (inc tax) the rooms were very nice but we expected alot better service from The Wentworth. JW

Room Tip: The Fairlawn building is the most recently renovated building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rokaj3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for your visit to The Wentworth and for your review on Trip Advisor. We are very sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations although we appreciate considering your experience the three star rating and in some areas four star ratings. Unfortunately when you reported your lack of air conditioning at breakfast on Saturday morning the person who went to your room and to the air conditioning units of the Fairlawn Cottage and worked on the issue did think he had the problem fixed. When you came back later that evening we were not able to get the the air-conditioning company in until Sunday morning. I also realize now that some of our staff thinking that it was quite cool outside did not follow through with resolving the issue with as much urgency as they could have.
Please contact me directly at ellie@thewentworth.com so that I can make up to you in some way for this experience as it is our goal at The Wentworth to make all of our guests happy.
Thank you again for your visit to The Wentworth and I look forward to hearing from you.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    165
    47
    27
    16
See reviews for
97
538
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Spotless, comfortable room. Service was very friendly. Loved the warm cider and cookies, a really welcoming touch in the afternoon. Loved the variety on offer at breakfast. Lovely spot opposite the falls.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CavaChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your recent stay at The Wentworth and for your nice review on Trip Advisor. This time of year is my favorite time, not only the beautiful colors but all the things that go along with the Fall - hot apple cider being one of my favorites.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, NH
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

I have been going to the Wentworth for over 10 years. Every 2nd Monday of January I compete in the annual Invitational ice Carving Competition held at The Wentworth. I have won 1st and 2nd prize, but my girlfriend likes it best when I win 3rd, which is a stay in a deluxe suite at the Wentworth. We have stayed in Arden and Fairlawn, we like Fairlawn best, well appointed and resplendent in amenities that make us feel like royalty. There is a warm and cozy feeling through out the hotel, from the moment you check in to our reluctant good bye. The dinning room is small and quaint, my girlfriend is from Jamaica so we like it best by the fireplace. The food is fine cuisine and always something interesting, last visit we tried sweetbreads. The owner, Fritz, made a point of visiting our table to ensure that our stay was enjoyable. Lastly, I would like to mention the continuous improvements that I have seen over the years at the Wentworth as they upgrade the hotel and the luxury suites.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your nice review and it is always our pleasure to welcome you to The Wentworth. This coming January will be our 18th ice carving event!
It is an amazing to watch you and your fellow ice carvers transform 300 lb blocks of ice into extraordinary creations. In the 17 years that we have been hosting this event we have seen these ice sculptors last from a week to six weeks and it has become part of our winter celebration.
We look forward to welcoming you back next year which is scheduled for Monday, January 7th. Kathleen will be contacting you soon to sign you up for this event.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, Vermont
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

This was our second stay at The Wentworth and we had another fantastic stay. The 4 course dinner included in the rate is to die for. It is a gourmet dinner. We have found all the food we have had to be delicious. Compliments to the chef. The full breakfast in the morning is also wonderful. You won't leave hungry or unhappy. :) The restaurant is beautiful and comfortable.This year we stayed in Arden room 409 because it had a lower rate than the Fairlawn suites (where we stayed last year). Overall it was a very nice suite. Our only complaint is that the hot tub is small and uncomfortable and just not fit for two people unless of course you are both tiny. We won't choose this suite again because of this. It is worth it to pay the extra money for larger hot tubs and larger Fairlawn suites. I would have scored this 4.5 if given the option. But because of our experience last year, I gave it a 5. I highly recommend this hotel for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Takeme2theCaribbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for your review and for your second visit to The Wentworth, both are sincerely appreciated. We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and your compliments towards the Chef will be shared with him and his crew in the kitchen so that they may be recognized for their efforts.
We hope to welcome you back soon to your favorite Fairlawn hot tub suite.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
164 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights and on the recommendation of friends upgraded to the Fairlawn rooms. We were not disappointed and had an amazing room complete with hot tub. We had dinner in the evening in the restaurant and the food was to die for it was truly amazing. The cozy atmosphere was helped by backlit menus a lovely touch.

We thought Jackson and the white mountains a lovely region and would definatly stay at the Wentworth again if visiting.

The only small point as far as we were concerned we did not think the breakfast was up to the same standard as the dinner the night before. We thought this a shame as it is the same kitchen but maybe a different chef. I note fro. Some of your other comments your breakfast has been praises but on our visit my husband couldn't eat his potatoes as they were cold and greasy.

Your breakfast waitress on on one of morning was most pleasant but in fact most of the staff we encountered were most pleasant.

We would recommend to our friends the Wentworth hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pickyAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you very much for your nice review of The Wentworth and for traveling such a long way to see us. We are so pleased to read that your enjoyed your stay and that you would recommend our hotel to others, this is indeed a great compliment. We appreciate also your feedback on our breakfast, while it is always nice to hear the good things, the feedback you provide on something you feel is not up to standard is an important way for us to improve our product and learn from your experience so thank you very much for this and we will review your comments with our breakfast Chef.
We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your trip and we hope that one day you will visit the White Mountains, Jackson Village and The Wentworth again.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Lyme, Connecticut
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We went for a wedding at the hotel and it was great. The wedding was fantastic and the rooms were great. Go for the deluxe suite for a in room hot tub, sound system, and fire place. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Hopeful to return in the future for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Definitely get a deluxe suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your nice review of The Wentworth and we were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and the wedding you attended. We hope also that you can return to visit us for a longer time.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

I have stayed at the Wentworth twice now and wouldn't stay anywhere else. Everytime I stay I feel pampered and cared for. The food is top notch which is a big deal for us an dthe rooms are always impecabley clean which is also a huge draw. Food, entertainment (piano player at bar) and clean room what more could you ask for. I never had to get in the car to go anywhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllieKoeppel, Owner at The Wentworth, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your nice review and for your second visit to The Wentworth. We do appreciate you taking the time to let the readers of Trip Advisor know of your experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Wentworth in the very near future.
Sincerely
Ellie Koeppel
Owner and Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
0.4 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
8.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
5.7 mi away
The Stonehurst Manor
The Stonehurst Manor
#4 of 24 in North Conway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
14.9 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wentworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wentworth

Property: The Wentworth
Address: 1 Carter Notch Rd, PO Box M, Jackson, NH 03846-4208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wentworth 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the majestic White Mountains of Jackson, New Hampshire, The Wentworth is a charming, 50-room inn within close proximity to cross country skiing, a stunning golf course and an abundance of year-round, outdoor activities. Surrounded by the beauty of nature, this picturesque inn in Jackson, NH, enjoys a unique position among New Hampshire hotels. Our idyllic setting provides a temporary escape from life’s everyday stresses and allows guests the freedom to reconnect, rediscover, and recharge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Wentworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wentworth Hotel Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing