We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favorite places.”
Review of The Wentworth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wentworth
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
113 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“One of our favorite places.”
Reviewed February 25, 2008

We love the Wentworth. We have stayed here three times. It's a charming property with great detail. The rooms are spacious, decorated nicely and comfortable. I have read that the rooms in the main building are not as nice but we haven't seen them. Our room had a gas fireplace and a wooden hot tub on a semi private balcony. A wooden hot tub is rare. I haven't been able to find any other place in the White's that has them. Staff and clenliness get A's as well. We have gone back and we will go back.

  • Liked — Nicely decorated room with fireplce and wooden hot tub.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rtibbs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    167
    47
    27
    16
See reviews for
99
543
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2008

We stayed here for my cousins wedding and we were very impressed, we had one of the Arden rooms - Room 404, what a lovely sized room and a fabulous bathroom with whirlpool tub! The Wentworth is very charming, the staff were very helpful and the wedding went very smoothly. The setting is beautiful with just a short walk to Jackson Falls, a number of small shops are located nearby including a lovely local deli and shop which was handy to stock up on some snacks, it’s also not far to take a taxi ride to the nearby town of North Conway if you are looking for a night out. The location is ideal for exploring around the area. There is an outdoor pool area, which was a welcome break on the heat wave that they were having at the time. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2007

The Wentworth has a very loyal following bordering on cultish, but in a good way! We have visited this country inn three times and count us among those that think this is a special place. It is a FIND!

Our attraction was value, which for the Wentworth means that a package of room and meals is very inexpensive for what you get. Being an older property (~140 years), there is a wide variety of thoroughly updated rooms and suites, all very nice. There is nothing cookie-cutter about the Wentworth and the accomodations will please most discerning yet informal travelers. The dining room is of exceptional quality for the area and here's the key; pair your room with a meal plan in a package, do the math and you'll agree that you're getting a great value. Do NOT fear locking in your dining choice--you won't regret it. Nice warm, friendly bar also.

As a New Hampshire native, I have to step back from what I often overlook and also tell you that the Wentworth is quintessential New England charm. You even go through a covered bridge to get there--what more do you want? Jackson is a lovely location with many winter and summer recreational choices and tons of shopping nearby.

Pass up the sleeker and younger properties of North Conway and book the Wentworth.

  • Liked — Value (especially the food)
  • Disliked — Lack of some on-site amenities
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jpahter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
2,372 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 978 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2007

We had stayed in the Jackson are in 2006 thus we knew a little about the area and thought we knew about the hotels. This was a very disappointing expierence for us and I have to admit it's partially my fault. I reserved a standard room (first mistake) that came with breakfast and dinner. The room was in an adjacent building across the road from the main building. The room was in very bad need of mainteance and repairs. (Not complaining to managment was my second mistake). We went ahead and accepted a room that could not possibly qualify as a 3 star/diamond room. Closer to a 1-2 star/diamond. The bathroom was very much in need of repair and paint. At one time someone installed wallboard type tile around the bathtub and frankly they didn't do too a job. The wiring for the window air conditioner was plugged into an extension cord. Would never pass building code. There was wiring that ran under the carpet in the closet and then up the wall. Very dangerous in our judgement. The front door was badly in need of paint and refurbishing , as was the sitting porch. A good cleaning woudl ahev helped soem but thsat would not have helped the pooir maintaeance. Dinenr was good however we expeced a four star meal and dinenr was not close to being four star. I then remembered I was in jackson and not New York City, so perhaps it was a good meal. Please keep in mind , I take the responsibilty for not complaining to manangment. I feel there are many other rooms in this hotel that are very nice. The pictures on the web site look very good. I opted for a standard room. Take my advise and don't do that. Ask a few more questions than I did, complain if necessary and above all start with an upgrade over a standard room.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank texaswillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2007

Stayed at the Wentworth for 2 nights in room 401 in the Arden Building. Huge sleigh bed, fireplace and jacuzzi. Had dinner and breakfast both days and service was great and food was delicious. They even did is a packed lunch for our trip to the next hotel. It was really , really good and we didn't want to leave to go to our next hotel, (We were right, when we got there we were disappointed!!)
Don't know wha the standard rooms are like but would recommend paying the extra for the upgraded room.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wendyboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2007

My husband and I stayed at The Wentworth during the weekend of Oct. 12. It was fantastic. We stayed in Arden building room 411. The room was a little on the small side but it was fine for us. There was a fireplace in the bedroom and a very large jacuzzi in the bathroom. I think the bathroom was larger than the bedroom. One thing I thought was really nice is that they had three different kinds of bath salts by the jacuzzi along with candles. It really was a nice touch. The room was immaculately clean. If you don't like exercise, this room is not advisable because it was on the third floor up two flights of stairs. We didnt mind although after a beautiful and filling dinner the stairs get steeper!! Dinner was great. If you go on the package you get dinner and breakfast. You can pick any items from the menu starting with the appetizer, soup or salad, entree and ending with dessert. The menu is somewhat limited for entrees although there is a chicken, fish, and beef. The breakfast was great.

They also have a small lounge with a piano player. That was nice. We found the staff in the dining room to be a little overworked. The lounge staff was great. If you eat there be prepared for a long leisurely dinner. It took us about 1 1/2 to 2 hours to eat but we liked that. Also, if you eat in the restaurant people were dressed very nicely. A good portion of the men had on sport coats.

All in all, it was a great stay and convenient to North Conway. We loved it and would go back in a heartbeat.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Hods93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2007

I usually don’t mind a basic room but we found the room we had reserved in the main building to be extremely disappointing!! I would not recommend most of the rooms in the main building. The room we were first given was tiny with a tiny TV, holes in the ceiling where spiders looked like they would crawl out of, water stained walls and ceiling, an uncomfortable lumpy bed and tiny bathroom with tiny tub and no separate shower. Not at all what we expected or got the impression of from the photos on their web site. We decided to ask to see other rooms in the main building which were a little better but we finally decided to spend another $100 a night to have a room in one of the other buildings. It was well worth the money. The room was gorgeous with a comfortable, lush bed, big TV, huge whirlpool bath surrounded with mirrors, walk in shower, bath salts and bath robes, a fireplace, a nice sitting area in the room and a beautiful sitting area on a patio just outside our room surrounded with lovely flowers. If you’re going to stay here spend the additional $100 it’s more then worth it!! The restaurant was terrific and the service was exellent..

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank M118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
0.4 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
8.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
5.7 mi away
The Stonehurst Manor
The Stonehurst Manor
#4 of 25 in North Conway
1,250 reviews
14.9 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wentworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wentworth

Property: The Wentworth
Address: 1 Carter Notch Rd, PO Box M, Jackson, NH 03846-4208
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wentworth 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the majestic White Mountains of Jackson, New Hampshire, The Wentworth is a charming, 50-room inn within close proximity to cross country skiing, a stunning golf course and an abundance of year-round, outdoor activities. Surrounded by the beauty of nature, this picturesque inn in Jackson, NH, enjoys a unique position among New Hampshire hotels. Our idyllic setting provides a temporary escape from life’s everyday stresses and allows guests the freedom to reconnect, rediscover, and recharge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Wentworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wentworth Hotel Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing