We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nightmare at Eagle Mountin House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nightmare at Eagle Mountin House”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed one night in this hotel. Outdated and dirty. Dusty room. Live fly in the room. Refrigerator with food crumbles. Unironed bed sheets. Old and worn beds. You name it.
Mashpotato cuisine.
Best part is that my credit card was charged two times for the same dinner. Cheers!

Room Tip: No tip. Avoid this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vojingajic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EagleMountainHouse, General Manager at Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
I was disappointed to see your review on Trip Advisor. The staff and I strive to make sure that all of our guests enjoy their stay. Your statement about the food and your accommodations are not the ordinary review we receive. Since the date of your posting you now know that your credit card was charged correctly. I feel that your feelings about the credit card issue have influenced your comments.

Craig Boyer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    187
    99
    45
    29
See reviews for
177
253
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had such a fantastic time at a recent scrapbook weeked in November. The staff were extremely accommodating, the food was terrific and we loved the mountain views from the dining room. The location was perfect and the scrapping room huge. We all had our own tables and the whole group was so warm and friendly. An awesom retreat!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merrymemory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Eagle Mountain House with our sons for a long weekend ski trip with another family. The staff was incredibly warm, friendly and helpful. They bent over backwards to be sure we were comfortable and having a good time. The room and beds were comfortable, the food was great, and the skiing right out the front door was fabulous. The game room and hot tub area are certainly those of an old hotel, but we enjoyed both. I would highly recommend the Eagle Mountain House.

Room Tip: We stayed ont he second floor down a long hallway from the lobby stairs. It was very quiet and peace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristinB703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Our ski club has been going to EMH for many years. Now under new management, we wondered if the service, and accomodations would keep us coming back. The staff are still cheery, warm and helpful. There's still the huge buffet breakfast with eggs cooked to order. There are a few changes however. Our nightly social hour formerly held in the carriage house across the parking from the main building, is now in a family room in the main house reserved for our use. This change was much better and especially convenient as we don't have to carry our refreshment across the parking lot. There's still coffee and tea for early risers and now available in the afternoon as well. But I wish the addition of cookies in the evening would be available with the afternoon tea and coffee as well. Changes is good! We'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bicyclistken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Eagle Mountain House is located on the perfect spot in beautiful Jackson NH. The hotel is old and outdated but that’s part of the charm of this awesome hotel. If you’re looking for the quiet, fancy, upscale and updated hotel, this is not it. If you’re looking for old New England charm with lots of outdoor activities, good food and great service this is the place to be. Cross country skiing, snow shoeing and sledding are all right out the front door. While my wife and I do not have children it seemed very family friendly and every adult and child seemed to have a smile on their face (as well as ski goggle tan lines). The food from both the restaurant and pub was good and the atmosphere at the pub during happy hour was extremely fun and relaxing. The town of North Conway is close by with great shopping and restaurants. Black mountain is very close by for downhill skiing/ snowboarding. If you’re looking for larger mountains, Attitash and Wildcat are not too far. I would love to see this place during the summer or fall. We will diffidently be back to Eagle Mountain House and would recommend to anyone who enjoys the outdoors.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snwavem3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorham, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This place isn't just for families! We chose this place on a fluke for a long weekend "anti-cabin fever" getaway and hit the jack pot! It had a wonderful inviting feeling to it with lots of cozy reading and sitting rooms with old leather chairs and comfy couches in and off of the lobby. Everyone seemed genuinely happy to be there whether it was the clientele or the staff. Restaurant dinners were fresh and delicious with a decent wine selection and attentive staff. But, most importantly, the bar mixed a darn good drink (they even shared their personal stash of Girl Scout Cookies w/us)! Tons of places to cross country ski whether right out the door or within a very short drive. Good thing too because the wind was a howling and the down hill ski places were closed for a couple of days. Down hill at Wildcat was a red letter day on day three when the wind relented. What a WOW view of Mount Washington. If you are looking for sushi, snobbery and Starbucks, well, this isn't your place. If you are looking for warm, genuine, inviting with the right amount of history mixed in, then this is your home away. Women's sauna was great, but the hot tub needs a lot less chemicals - my only complaint.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camille A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, New Hampshire, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed at the end of the summer. It was one of the most memorable vacations we have taken. Everyone at the hotel was so friendly. We bought the food package with our stay and the food was just out of this world. Our room was clean and very comfortable. We plan on making this the place we stay when we visit Storyland again this year. It is awesome.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEJTMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
1.0 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
816 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
299 reviews
1.8 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#3 of 12 in Bartlett
487 reviews
6.4 mi away
Attitash Grand Summit Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club

Property: Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
Address: 179 Carter Notch Rd, Jackson, NH 03846-4220
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional New England lodging in the heart of the White Mountains since 1879. This Historic Hotel of America, listed on the National Trust for Historic Preservation, was restored as a historic country inn in 1986. Family friendly and uncrowded. An all-season destination surrounded by the nearly 800,000 acre White Mountain National Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club Hotel Jackson
Eagle Mountain House And Golf Club
Eagle Mountain Hotel
Eagle Mountain Resort
Eagle Mountain Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing