We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst hotel I have stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
Reviewed November 10, 2012

this is a very old hotel but that is no excuse for the place to be dirty and run down. The reception area smells of damp dust and the carpets are sticky. The lift is archaic and worked only occasionally as people left the doors open. The cozy economy room has half the space taken up with a roof buttress so even at 5'8" i had to stoop to get into bed. The room is tired and depressing and hasn't been decorated in at least twenty years. A water pipe above our heads in bed kept us awake with running water all night. We tried to book out day after arrival but couldn't so they "upgraded" us to a junior suite - which was worse! Carpet stained, wallpaper peeling off with damp, bed falling to bits, ceiling plaster dripping off. The restaurant menu looked okay but the food was dreadful - so much so they took both mains off the bill as they were inedible. When we checked out early no one asked why or showed any interest at all. Booked through All OF America UK who told us no one else had ever complained. This is easily the worst hotel I have stayed at in over 50 years. There were people walking in and checking out before they checked in! There were several people checking out early. The corridors creak and smell of dust. Awful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mick s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EagleMountainHouse, General Manager at Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Mick s,

I am terribly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay, I wish that you had spoken up when this was happening it would have been a very easy fix. This is not the NORM for the Eagle Mountain House as anyone can see by our previous reviews. You even stated that no one has ever complained. Our hotel is clean, rooms are comfortable but most spacious and the food the Eagle Mountain House has a wonderful reputation, but if you did not enjoy it I am pleased that the staff took care of it for you. I sincerely hope that the next time you visit from the UK you have a better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (605)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 605 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was our second visit. (First time with the kids who loved it) It's like stepping back in time. It could have been 1930 and we totally enjoyed the experience again. We had dinner on the patio (great food and reasonable) and relaxed each morning and night on the porch on the rocking chairs with our beverages. Jackson is a fantastic little village with great dining options. Great place for a stroll. We'll go bakc again.

Rooms are very small (it's an old hotel) but in the character of the hotel. Beds are comfortable enough.

We had driven from Toronto and crossed at Cornwall. New York (nice), Vermont (nicer) and New Hampshire (nicest) are intertesing drives, winding roads but is recommended.

North Conway is close and if you like shopping it has lots of options. We got some great deals in that we were end of season. It is very busy but interesting.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanuckontheGo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EagleMountainHouse, General Manager at Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear CanuckontheGo56,
Thank you for staying a SECOND time that is the best review we could get!!!! You are right the food at the Eagle Mountain House is terrific and reasonably priced. Our Chef takes pride in every dish that leaves his kitchen and it shows. I appreciate you being a repeat guest and hope that the Eagle Mountain House will always be your Jackson New Hampshire favorite!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed here with friends while doing a road trip around New England. We had 2 nights in a 2 room suite. The hotel was charming. We were a little disappointed with the view in the first room we were offered and on requesting another room it was done without hesitation. The staff were all lovely, very welcoming and full of knowledge on the surrounding areas.

We had dinner in their restaurant on our first evening and the food was lovely. Tea and Coffee was available in the foyer throughout the day together with fresh cookies. To sit by the open fire and take drinks was lovely. There were lots of rocking chairs on the large verandah which had the weather have been a little warmer we would certainly of sat in and spent a few hours admiring the view.

Well worth a visit if you are in the Jackson area

Room Tip: Choose the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hazel911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EagleMountainHouse, General Manager at Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Hazel911,
I am so pleased that you stayed at the Eagle Mountain House with your friends! Jackson is a quaint little town and we sit at the top over looking the beautiful mountains! The Veranda is definitely the most popular spot in the hotel. I am sorry that it was not warm enough for you to enjoy but hope you come visit in the late spring or summer so you can sit in the over size rockers on the Veranda and relax with the fresh mountain air!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed two nights during the 2012 Fall Color Season. The first night was in a single room, and the second night was in a 2 room suite. The accomodations were comfortable, and the staff was very friendly. This is an old hotel, with an old fashioned elevator. The restaurant is very convenient, and the food is very good. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NPTk1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EagleMountainHouse, General Manager at Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear MPTK1000,

Thank you for the wonderful review I am so please you enjoyed your stay at the Eagle Mountain House! I will let the Chef know how much you enjoyed dining with us. We have a terrific menu with lots of choices sure to please every palate. We look forward to your return and thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I'd love to say so many lovely things about the Eagle House - but I can't. Not because it's awful - but because I have so little idea! The hotel is on high ground above the neat town of Jackson (replete with archetypal covered bridge) and in the heart of New Hampshire's White Mountains. What could possibly go wrong? The weather! Our stay was to be the highlight of our fly-drive trip to New England - but meteorological fate took a hand. Heavy rain and virtually nil visibility meant we could just about see the first tee on the golf course and not the distant (no doubt fantastic) views of the surrounding, tree-changing hills. Drat! I loved the reception area and the wrap-around stoop. Sit there, in rocking chairs, and there was nothing to see. Our room (facing AWAY from the mercifully non-existent view) had a separate sitting area. Lovely. One gripe: a request for a cup of afternoon tea led us to the bar where we paid $4.50 for 2 cups of brew in cardboard cups. Simply not good enough. Free internet (1 PC!) and free use of the hotel safe.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stourbridgeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EagleMountainHouse, General Manager at Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Stourbridgeman,

I am so sorry the rain took your view away and you didnt get to enjoy the beauty. The view from the Veranda is spectacular and especially this time of year with all our foliage colors. It was nice to hear you still enjoyed the Veranda and your room. We now have complimentary coffee and tea in the late afternoon for our guest to enjoy. Thank you for staying at the Eagle Mountain House and I hope your next visit will be dry!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Great location, great lobby, with fireplace and free coffee in the morning. We took our coffee on the porch where there are rocking chairs and a beautiful view. Breakfast was a menu not a buffet and quite expensive. We had dinner in the bar which was quite nice. Staff was helpful.
The hotel has a back entrance which is level with the lobby and the car park, while the front one has quite a few stairs to get to the porch and then to the lobby. We struggled with our suitcases up the steps, and only noticed the back entrance later on. We saw quite a few other guests struggling up the steps with luggage, which suggest a sign might be needed to point guests in the right direction. Having said that, beautiful hotel in a beautiful area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank szwalby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EagleMountainHouse, General Manager at Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear szwalby,

The Veranda is truly a magnificent spot at the Eagle Mountain House over looking the golf course and the beauty of the mountains! Our guest love the oversized rockers to sit and enjoy this relaxing atmosphere. In the summer and early fall we serve dinner on the Veranda every night so should you return then please be sure to make a reservation as it is the BEST spot in Jackson!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

An all wood hotel might not be a big selling point, but it is fully sprinklered, and loaded with charm from the wood newel post of the lobby stairs to the wide corridors that you could not possibly sneak down. We stayed on the top floor in a garret style room and found it charming. The breakfast was great and strongly suggest adding its cost to your room when booking.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelloJoeOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EagleMountainHouse, General Manager at Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear HELLOJOEONE,

The floor in the corridor does have a creak and I am confident that when our renovation is complete the creak will be gone. I would guess in New England most historic hotels are wooden but are well sprinkled. You are right the food in our restaurant is great , our breakfast package is a savings and you will never leave hungry! Thank you for taking your time to write a review! Hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.7 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
884 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
1 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
9.8 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,439 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#4 of 12 in Bartlett
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club

Address: 179 Carter Notch Rd, Jackson, NH 03846-4220
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range: $96 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional New England lodging in the heart of the White Mountains since 1879. This Historic Hotel of America, listed on the National Trust for Historic Preservation, was restored as a historic country inn in 1986. Family friendly and uncrowded. An all-season destination surrounded by the nearly 800,000 acre White Mountain National Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club Hotel Jackson
Eagle Mountain House And Golf Club
Eagle Mountain Hotel
Eagle Mountain Resort
Eagle Mountain Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing