We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall fine - good breakfast - patchy service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We spent 2 nights at Eagle Mountain. Check in was fine, we thought the shabby chic look might have leant a bit too much to the shabby e.g. worn carpets but the overall ambience was good. We wanted a coffee in the afternoon of our first day (no facilities in room) and were served in a rude manner by the lady at the bar. The coffee was awful as well - the worst we had in our entire trip. Breakfast was good and the only other meal we had was fine and the waitress very helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: At the front of you can
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EagleMountainHouse, General Manager at Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Jim B,

I am sorry you were not happy with service you received at the bar and that has been dealt with. I do thank you for the high rating you gave to us and so glad you had dinner in the restauant and found the service better. At the Eagle Mountain House we strive to give the best customer service to our guest so I thank you for letting me know and hope that you will return again! I appreciate ALL feed back and can move my team forward through our guest reviews good or not so good.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
There are newer reviews for Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 577 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

A difficult hotel to give an overall rating to, some things were very good, others much less so.
Good points: the staff, unfailingly helpful and pleasant; the food; the bed; the bathroom; the location.
Less good: most of the room looked tired and the pipe work with the sprinkler system right above the bed was not an attractive vista and all the electrical items in the room seemed to run off two sockets connected by numerous multi way adapters and the safety of that worried me; the dining room staff in their efforts to be helpful did not seem to have a system which led to several of them trying to do the same thing at once; the elevator may be a historic monument, but it is also difficult to use. Trying to hold the spring loaded door open whilst moving luggage in or out requires strength and dexterity.
The good certainly outweighed the bad and if in the area again would probably return. There was something about the quirkiness of the place that grew on us.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abcoldgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EagleMountainHouse, General Manager at Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear abcoldgit,

Thank you for the high rating and pointing out all the good! The good being the service you received, the room, the comfortable bed, the view, the food is terrific and so on. The bad are all things that are fixable in the upcoming renovation! So with that being said once the renovation is complete there will be no bad! We are all excited for the Eagle Mountain House to get refreshed while keeping its historic charm! Look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed in this hotel as part of our tour of New England. We had to change rooms 3 times because they were so cold and we could not turn the air con off. In the evening we ate in the bar as people were not using the restaurant, the food was very good. Breakfast was slow but worth the wait. Bed was not comfortable. Need some new beds

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger and have more light
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retiredDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This place is a historical landmark. I believe it was est. in 1879. The elevator the first one they put in. You have to close the cage door and other door manually. There is a game room, sauna and exercise room in the basement. There is a golf course, swimming pool and tennis court. Would be a wonderful family vacation place. Lots if hiking and nature activities plus of course shopping in the area. The hotel is just beautiful. I am loving just relaxing in the room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smithy14975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

As you drive up to to Eagle Mountain House, past Jackson Falls, you couldn't ask for a more impressive sight. The white hotel with a huge front porch full of rocking chairs, looking out over the mountains, is truly lovely.
This old, historic hotel is full of character. If you are looking for modern and boutique, stay away.
Yes it is a little threadbare and quirky, but it is full of character. From the creaky old beds ( very comfortable though), to the ancient elevator, it is like something from The Waltons!
Dinner on the porch watching the sunset over the mountains is a must. Britney, our waitress was a pleasure.


Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Holidaymaker59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My wife and I come from Ontario, where beautiful, large, century resort hotels haven't existed for 60 years. We spent 6 wonderful, relaxing days at The Eagle Mountain House. The nostalgia factor alone would have been enough, but there was much more. The staff was the best we have encountered in 50 years of travelling. They were consistently cheerful, and very helpful, when we asked for it. It seemed that they shared our affection for the hotel. The food was very good, people were quiet at night, and the view from the hotel resembles any number of famous American landscapes. We intend to return, with our children and grandchildren. There are many interesting attractions in the area, and northern New Hampshire is an area where children appear to be treated with warmth and respect.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ARTONTARIO_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

it's easy to imagine that you have been transported a hundred years back in time while staying here. a truly nice place for a calm & soothing experience. my favorite detail would have to be the rocking chairs on the veranda...this is a great spot to take your fleece throw, glass of wine & a good book for a little winding down. another nice feature is being able to open the windows to let the clean new england air fill your room. just lovely! also, i must say that the housekeeping staff were so nice & made our room "like new" each day! the price is right as well...the eagle mountain house is an excellent value!

Room Tip: for a small fee, you can request a mini-fridge in your room
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tevagrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
1.0 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
834 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#3 of 12 in Bartlett
504 reviews
14.4 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club

Address: 179 Carter Notch Rd, Jackson, NH 03846-4220
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range: $92 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional New England lodging in the heart of the White Mountains since 1879. This Historic Hotel of America, listed on the National Trust for Historic Preservation, was restored as a historic country inn in 1986. Family friendly and uncrowded. An all-season destination surrounded by the nearly 800,000 acre White Mountain National Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club Hotel Jackson
Eagle Mountain House And Golf Club
Eagle Mountain Hotel
Eagle Mountain Resort
Eagle Mountain Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing