We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So New England”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
Brownsdale, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“So New England”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This place is a historical landmark. I believe it was est. in 1879. The elevator the first one they put in. You have to close the cage door and other door manually. There is a game room, sauna and exercise room in the basement. There is a golf course, swimming pool and tennis court. Would be a wonderful family vacation place. Lots if hiking and nature activities plus of course shopping in the area. The hotel is just beautiful. I am loving just relaxing in the room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smithy14975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    185
    99
    45
    28
See reviews for
175
252
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

As you drive up to to Eagle Mountain House, past Jackson Falls, you couldn't ask for a more impressive sight. The white hotel with a huge front porch full of rocking chairs, looking out over the mountains, is truly lovely.
This old, historic hotel is full of character. If you are looking for modern and boutique, stay away.
Yes it is a little threadbare and quirky, but it is full of character. From the creaky old beds ( very comfortable though), to the ancient elevator, it is like something from The Waltons!
Dinner on the porch watching the sunset over the mountains is a must. Britney, our waitress was a pleasure.


Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Holidaymaker59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ONTARIO
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My wife and I come from Ontario, where beautiful, large, century resort hotels haven't existed for 60 years. We spent 6 wonderful, relaxing days at The Eagle Mountain House. The nostalgia factor alone would have been enough, but there was much more. The staff was the best we have encountered in 50 years of travelling. They were consistently cheerful, and very helpful, when we asked for it. It seemed that they shared our affection for the hotel. The food was very good, people were quiet at night, and the view from the hotel resembles any number of famous American landscapes. We intend to return, with our children and grandchildren. There are many interesting attractions in the area, and northern New Hampshire is an area where children appear to be treated with warmth and respect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ARTONTARIO_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern virginia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

it's easy to imagine that you have been transported a hundred years back in time while staying here. a truly nice place for a calm & soothing experience. my favorite detail would have to be the rocking chairs on the veranda...this is a great spot to take your fleece throw, glass of wine & a good book for a little winding down. another nice feature is being able to open the windows to let the clean new england air fill your room. just lovely! also, i must say that the housekeeping staff were so nice & made our room "like new" each day! the price is right as well...the eagle mountain house is an excellent value!

Room Tip: for a small fee, you can request a mini-fridge in your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tevagrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is a difficult review for me as a I have mixed emotions. Firstly the Staff are first class. We had a problem with our allocated room on arrival (room 120). It was not to a standard that I would have expected. Daisy, the reception manager moved us immediately to room 104, much better. BUT, generally interior fabric of the hotel is not good. I understand from the management, who have recently taken over the running of the hotel, that the property is undergoing refurbishment in the near future. The exterior of this lovely historic hotel is in good repair and similar work to the interior and bedrooms needs to be undertaken without delay. The hotel is in a fantastic location in the White Mountains. The Hotel is well known for its food. The area is breathtaking and awe inspiring and its a must for all visitors to drive the road between Conway and Lincoln. Just trust me and do it. If you are totally mad you can even drive to the peak of Mt Washington!!!! Go to the outlet shops at North Conway, just down the road.

I wish this lovely old Hotel all the best for the future and will cerainly return one day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Porscheboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The location is very good, nesteld in the mountains in a non commercial area. The room we had, 126, was facing the kitchen, so the room was kind of smelly whenever they were cooking... The hotel is nice but some renovation is very well needed. Also dusting doesn't seem to be one of their force... The room we had was spacious and bathroom also. Breakfast is 12$ and very average... We ate there one morning but went some place else the next one.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lady_Betsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EagleMountainHouse, General Manager at Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Lady_Betsie
Not all rooms face the mountains but when you come back to the eagle Mountain House please ask for a mountain view room. I was sorry to hear you found our breakfast "average" we receive so many compliments about our breakfast buffet with fresh fruit, omelets made to order, crispy bacon, sausage, cereals, I could go on. We are always open for suggestions from our guest and learn from all constructive critisim so thank you. Hope you visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conyngham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Our visit was only 3 nights. The decor of the inn was lovely; the breakfast was delicious and the location was perfect for us as we explored the beautiful mountain scenery. We also enjoyed a delicious dessert and coffee, out on the front porch. The only thing I would change is the pillow.. it was a bit too hard. Will definately go back when we have a chance. We'll bring our golf clubs, next time.

Room Tip: Stayed in third floor corner room in the back. It was a lovely room with couch and small fridge. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EagleMountainHouse, General Manager at Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Mary S,
Thank you for the great review we also look forward to your return! You are right the breakfast is delicious, the decor is charming and our rooms are clean and spacious. The view can not be beat as we sit atop of Jackson Village with breathtaking mountain views. We have comfortable rocking chairs that line the Veranda for our guest to relax and enjoy the fresh mountain air!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
1.0 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
814 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
293 reviews
1.8 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#3 of 12 in Bartlett
487 reviews
6.4 mi away
Attitash Grand Summit Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club

Property: Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
Address: 179 Carter Notch Rd, Jackson, NH 03846-4220
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional New England lodging in the heart of the White Mountains since 1879. This Historic Hotel of America, listed on the National Trust for Historic Preservation, was restored as a historic country inn in 1986. Family friendly and uncrowded. An all-season destination surrounded by the nearly 800,000 acre White Mountain National Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club Hotel Jackson
Eagle Mountain House And Golf Club
Eagle Mountain Hotel
Eagle Mountain Resort
Eagle Mountain Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing