We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and we will be back.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
Reviewed June 24, 2011

This is a lovely inn with a gorgeous wrap around balcony. This is one of Americas historic country inns. The hotel is filled with beautiful antique furniture. Our room was wonderful, very spacious with a four-poster bed and a sitting area for TV watching. The food was delicious and the service excellent. Free wireless high speed internet There is a 9 hole golf course beside it. We had a great time and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Mention that you are celebrating a special event.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wentworthlabs89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

452 - 458 of 596 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2011

This is a Grand old Hotel/Resort in the White Mountain's. The hotel is spotlessly clean and very well kept. The room we had was a top floor and a corner room. This historic old hotel does not have air conditioning but the room we had had 2 big window fans which did a good job of cooling the room down in unseasonably warm weather. Our room rate included a wonderfully prepared to order breakfast. The hotel owners have tried to maintain this Grand old hotel as it was back in 1915 as much as possible, with a few modern upgrades, bathroom's and wifi.

Room Tip: This is a wonderful historic old hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edsel13304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Ever since we first found the Eagle Mtn House online (over 10 years ago), we've been returning again & again. We first debated going there since it didn't have AC, but found when we got there it wasn't necessary due to its location and big box fans in each room. We love old historic places (esp in the White Mtns), and the Eagle fits the bill perfectly. The staff is always accommodating, and friendly. The rooms comfortable, the restaurants food always great.

Our last visit in February 2011 (XC ski weekend), we absentmindedly forgot our hydration backpacks in our room. I called the hotel to inquire about them, and the front desk staff (Greg?) found them and promptly Fedexed them back to me. That was fantastic, since I was leaving in just a few days for a ski trip to UT. Thanks so much!

We've been going there for well over 10 years, and hopefully will continue to do so for the next 10+. With the hotel up for sale, we only hope that new owners will improve what needs updating (new rugs, new bedding), but leave the historic features untouched (beautiful woodwork, old elevator, veranda, etc.).

Room Tip: Always request "quiet room, please"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SnoSearchT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

We were married at the Eagle Mtn House in Memorial Day weekend of 2010. We stayed twice at the hotel that spring. Once for the tasting and a second time for our wedding. The hotel's service was amazing. The wedding site pristine and Sandy the wedding planner took care of every detail. All we had to do on our wedding day was say our vows on the golf course, eat amazing food, and enjoy our day with our friends and family. There was no stress - everything was taken care of by the Sandy and her staff.

The reviews keep saying "faded glory," I would call it an authentic historical building. The rooms are not fancy, but are very comfortable and clean. The service is friendly and the food is the best in the area. Our family is still talking about how wonderful the entire weekend was.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pollarha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Stayed at the Eagle Mountain House on a Sunday night. I was taking my meals elsewhere, so all I needed was a quiet night's sleep.

At 3:30 AM, the fire alarm went off. When I went to the front desk, a fire-department person told me to return to my room, the issue was a defective fire alarm. The alarm went off for a second time at about 3:45. Noisy enough to wake the dead.

When I checked out in the morning, there was no mention of the incident, no apology, and certainly no rain check for a free night's stay -- then or in the future.

I can only conclude that early AM fire alarms are a common occurrence and the management thinks nothing of them. What other explanation?

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CheapPaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EagleMountainHouse, Front Office Manager at Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2011

Dear Valued Guest –

The fire alarm did indeed go off due to one defective device. The fire company quickly determined that there was no risk to our guests and therefore guests were able to return to their rooms. The 2nd alarm occurred while the security companies as part of standard protocol re checked all our systems to ensure that all other devices were in proper working order after the initial faulty alarm. We have regular tests of the system to ensure they are all in good repair and to my knowledge this is the first such incident with a faulty alarm.
The front desk agent who was on duty the following morning did apologize to guests who mentioned the alarm. She is an excellent agent and would call any perceived dissatisfaction to my attention; unfortunately, we underestimated the extent of your dissatisfaction, and can only apologize for not being more proactive in ensuring that you were satisfied with our response.

I will certainly discuss how all of us could have been more proactive with regards to this inconvenience experienced by our guests and in retrospect as the Front Office Manager – I should have taken the time to contact each guest involved to offer my apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2011

I have nothing bad to say about this wonderful old hotel and its staff. It has a real warm country feel to it and is very welcoming. We stayed for 2 nights as part of Citytours New England tour. Greg was so friendly and helpful,suggesting where we should visit and recommending places to eat (the hotel restaurant was closed) and all the other staff were great to. The room was lovely and homely with huge comfortable beds, clean with plenty of towels. At night when it was all lit up it looked beautiful and during the day the view was fantastic. i fully recommend a stay there and would love to return in the summer although it was lovely to stay in april as it was so quiet. It also has a good games room with pool and table tennis, lots of board games for the kids and a great hot tub!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank popeadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2011

My wife, 9 year old Golden Retriever and I stayed here over a weekend when the wood floors in our southern NH home were being refinished. We needed a place to go where we could take the dog - we couldn't live inside a paint can - so bugged out of dodge.

The Eagle Mountain house allowed us to bring our dog, yes even a Golden Retriever.

The building dates to late 1800s, 1879 I believe? So it dates back to the Rutherford B Hayes Administration. I'm not exactly sure how this works, but the hotel sells it's rooms somewhat like condominiums. The people who own the rooms, own the hotel. Lot's of owners. We spoke with one of the "owners" in the bar the first night we were there. He provided a bit of the history to us.

The hotel was originally a family residence, where the woman of the house was known as a great cook. She started operating the home as a guest house and due to the reputation of the food it became quite popular. Over the years the original 12 room house was expanded into what you see today. Supposedly there are two ghosts, one little girl and the lady in red. We didn't encounter either, however our Golden Retriever behaved a bit odd for her, not like she hasn't traveled to strange places with us before, but she could not get out of Eagle Mountain house fast enough. We wondered if she sensed something?

The "owner" also said that the hotel is up for sale. The current ownership model can't support the required upkeep. They need someone with deep pockets to revitalize the place.

The lobby, and massive front farmers porch are beautiful. It's pretty much exactly what you imagine for 1879 NH White Mountains lodge. It's located on a very quiet, what I would classify as a residential mountain road about a mile from Jackson Village, just past Jackson Falls. The view from the front porch is beautiful.

The staff went out of their way to helpful and friendly. We asked questions about the local area of our waitress at breakfast, she went out of her way to assist us with what we were looking for.

The bed was comfortable. Room was clean. The 123 year old floors creaked something wicked. The building has been retrofitted with things like indoor plumbing and fire sprinklers etc.. result is exposed pipes. The carpets are beautiful but terribly worn. It could really use a face lift.

If someone were to buy it, my recommendation would be tear part of it down. I highly doubt they every fill all those rooms. The location is fantastic, there is so much potential here.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank humin32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EagleMountainHouse, Front Office Manager at Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2011

Dear Guest -

Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review! We always appreciate it when someone takes the time to assess our facilities and service. We do have a limited number of PET friendly rooms so be sure to book well in advance. We began Pet Friendly last year and it is very popular. Based on projections for this summer season I think there will be many nights when Pet Rooms will be sold out. Our complete policy can be found on our website.

Again, thank you for taking time to provide feedback. It is reviewed and shared with all our staff.

Kindest Regards,
Eagle Mountain House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jackson
0.8 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
0.7 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
862 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
North Conway Grand Hotel
North Conway Grand Hotel
#8 of 25 in North Conway
1,429 reviews
9.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
0.3 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#4 of 12 in Bartlett
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club

Address: 179 Carter Notch Rd, Jackson, NH 03846-4220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range: $88 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional New England lodging in the heart of the White Mountains since 1879. This Historic Hotel of America, listed on the National Trust for Historic Preservation, was restored as a historic country inn in 1986. Family friendly and uncrowded. An all-season destination surrounded by the nearly 800,000 acre White Mountain National Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club Hotel Jackson
Eagle Mountain House And Golf Club
Eagle Mountain Hotel
Eagle Mountain Resort
Eagle Mountain Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing